Panel Forum: Candidates For Johnson County, Kansas Commission Chair

Aug 1, 2014

Up to Date's Brian Ellison with (clockwise from left) Ed Peterson, Ed Eilert and Patricia Lightner.
Credit Hannah Copeland / KCUR

Next week voters will cast their votes for Chair of the Johnson County Board of Commissioners— the highest elected office in the county. They’ll narrow the field from three candidates down to the two who will be on the November ballot. All three joined Friday's Up to Date for a candidate forum, their last before Tuesday’s election.


  • Ed Eilert has been the board chair since 2010, before that he was a commissioner and was mayor of Overland Park. 
  • Patricia Lightner works in the office of the Kansas Securities Commissioner; she served three terms in the Kansas House of Representatives.
  • Ed Peterson is another Johnson County Commissioner, has been since 2003, and was previously mayor of Fairway.