We all know that texting while driving often results in accidents, and a New Jersey court recently ruled that it's not only the driver who's responsible-- if you know someone's driving when you send a text, you might be held responsible if he or she gets into an accident.
Topkea, KS – Starting today, texting while driving is illegal in Kansas.
There will be a 6 month warning period before officers start issuing $60 fines.
Captain Art Wilburn with the Kansas Highway Patrol says the law will help improve safety on Kansas roads.
"Folks who are out there texting and driving, their attention is distracted from the roadway and their driving," says Wilburn. "It's not uncommon to see those people involved in accidents where they would run off the road or run into the back of another car."