KC School Board President Wins Write-In Re-Election

Apr 11, 2012

School Board President Airick Leonard West will retain his at-large seat on the Kansas City, Missouri school board, after running a write-in race against four other candidates.

The Kansas City Election Board certified results from the April 3 election at noon today.  It took a week to count the votes because three of four races were contested entirely by write-in candidates.

District parent Marisol Montero won in the 3rd Subdistrict, against incumbent Duane Kelly. Former principal Curtis Rogers  will represent the 5th Subdistrict.

In the only race that was on the ballot, John Hile defeated incumbent Arthur Benson for the 2nd Subdistrict seat.