Kansas City Police Department http://kcur.org en Police Training On How To Respond To Mental Health Situations http://kcur.org/post/police-training-how-respond-mental-health-situations <p>Police officers often respond to situations that involve people suffering from mental health problems.</p><p>Since they are called first for help, there is a growing effort to train the officers in how to handle the situations.</p><p>On today's <em>Central Standard</em>, we discuss how police training is changing in order to accommodate mental health crisis response techniques.</p><p><strong>Guests:</strong></p> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 21:01:00 +0000 Laura Spencer, Matthew Long-Middleton & Kate Baxendale 52773 at http://kcur.org Grand Jury Refuses To Indict Cop In Killing Of Kansas City Firefighter http://kcur.org/post/grand-jury-refuses-indict-cop-killing-kansas-city-firefighter <p></p><p>A &nbsp;Jackson County grand jury has declined to file charges against a&nbsp; Kansas City, Mo., police officer in the 2013 shooting death of a firefighter.</p><p>The criminal case is closed in the Dec. 1, 2013,&nbsp;death of Anthony Bruno.</p><p>Bruno and the policeman struggled during a brawl leading to the shooting on a downtown street.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">There had been a dispute over cab fare outside Bruno’s wedding reception party. The pair fought and struggled on the pavement as the officer tried to arrest Bruno.</span></p> Fri, 14 Feb 2014 23:04:59 +0000 Dan Verbeck 51303 at http://kcur.org Ground Broken On New Kansas City Crime Lab http://kcur.org/post/ground-broken-new-kansas-city-crime-lab <p></p><p>Ground has been ceremonially broken for the already-in-progress East Patrol Police station/crime lab construction in Kansas City, Mo.</p><p>Chrome plated shovels were planted in dirt but it was obvious heavy equipment had been working for weeks. About 80 houses were torn down for the 17-acre, $74 million project.</p><p></p><p>Nearly every speaker talked about those who gave up property, some unwillingly.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Though, there were no protestors visible at the gathering.</span></p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 21:53:34 +0000 Dan Verbeck 47102 at http://kcur.org Ground Broken On New Kansas City Crime Lab Inner Workings of KC NOVA Are Defined For City Leaders http://kcur.org/post/inner-workings-kc-nova-are-defined-city-leaders <p></p><p>The commander of Kansas City’s No Violence Alliance says&nbsp; university researchers have&nbsp; identified what he called a “social network of violence” and it’s starting to collect criminals or convince some of need to change. The murder rate is still expected to rise this year.</p><p></p> Wed, 28 Aug 2013 20:32:22 +0000 Dan Verbeck 42736 at http://kcur.org Inner Workings of KC NOVA Are Defined For City Leaders Security Questioned In Multi-Shooting Aftermath http://kcur.org/post/security-questioned-multi-shooting-aftermath <p>The amount of security has come into question surrounding a multiple shooting at a private dance Saturday night in Kansas City. Mon, 11 Mar 2013 23:17:52 +0000 Dan Verbeck 33317 at http://kcur.org Security Questioned In Multi-Shooting Aftermath Three Arrested After Teen Found Chained In Basement http://kcur.org/post/three-arrested-after-teen-found-chained-basement <p>There are no charges filed, but Kansas City Police have arrested three people connected to discovery last week of a teenager handcuffed in a Northland basement. Mon, 11 Feb 2013 22:52:12 +0000 Dan Verbeck 31817 at http://kcur.org Three Arrested After Teen Found Chained In Basement Women's Deaths Linked By Kansas City And Kearney, Mo. Detectives http://kcur.org/post/womens-deaths-linked-kansas-city-and-kearney-mo-detectives <p>The separate deaths of two women in Kansas City’s Northland, deaths originally thought accidental drug overdoses, are now thought to be homicides. Fri, 08 Feb 2013 22:43:20 +0000 Dan Verbeck 31705 at http://kcur.org Women's Deaths Linked By Kansas City And Kearney, Mo. Detectives Teenager Found Handcuffed In Basement Gets Foster Care Protection http://kcur.org/post/teenager-found-handcuffed-basement-gets-foster-care-protection <p>The Kansas City North prosecutor who will have to decide if there are criminal charges in the keeping of a teenage boy handcuffed in a basement, does not expect to see the case for several days. Thu, 07 Feb 2013 23:08:27 +0000 Dan Verbeck 31642 at http://kcur.org Book Explores Life And Legacy Of Pioneering Political Leader Leon Jordan http://kcur.org/post/book-explores-life-and-legacy-pioneering-political-leader-leon-jordan <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Three years ago, Kansas City police re-opened one of the most vexing cold cases in local history. It was the 1970 murder of politician and civil rights leader Leon Jordan. The case was re-opened after an investigation by Kansas City Star reporters Mike McGraw and Glenn Rice.&nbsp; McGraw told us what one of the original detectives told him about the 40-year-old case.</span></p> Tue, 15 Jan 2013 22:41:59 +0000 Sylvia Maria Gross & Susan B. Wilson 30460 at http://kcur.org Book Explores Life And Legacy Of Pioneering Political Leader Leon Jordan 90-Mile View: Nicole Wright http://kcur.org/post/90-mile-view-nicole-wright <P><STRONG>Nicole Wright</STRONG> returned from college wanting to make a difference in her home town of Kansas City, Missouri.&nbsp; Six years later, Officer Wright's beat is still the neighborhood where she was raised by her mother: 28th and Wabash, part of East Patrol. Wed, 12 Dec 2012 00:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Danie Alexander 28800 at http://kcur.org 90-Mile View: Nicole Wright Kansas City Police Stay Mum On Naming Most Dangerous Thugs http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-police-stay-mum-naming-most-dangerous-thugs <p>Kansas City Police will continue to offer few specifics about the new No Violence Alliance, NoVA.&nbsp;Critics who want to know more about how it will operate and who are the most violent criminals it will target will have to wait.</p><p> Thu, 14 Jun 2012 21:35:09 +0000 Dan Verbeck 19396 at http://kcur.org Kansas City Police Stay Mum On Naming Most Dangerous Thugs Change Cited As Burglary-Fighter Goes To Kansas City Council Vote http://kcur.org/post/change-cited-burglary-fighter-goes-kansas-city-council-vote <p>In the South part of Kansas City there have been more burglaries committed in daytime than in darker hours the first months of&nbsp; this year.&nbsp; Police are using those figures to argue for change in city ordinance. Thu, 24 May 2012 10:07:55 +0000 Dan Verbeck 18222 at http://kcur.org Change Cited As Burglary-Fighter Goes To Kansas City Council Vote December Event Termed New Link To Missing Baby http://kcur.org/post/december-event-termed-new-link-missing-baby <p>More than seven months after the puzzling disappearance of 10-month-old Lisa Irwin from her parents&rsquo; Kansas City home, her mother and father went on national television today purporting to have new evidence. Mon, 21 May 2012 22:38:30 +0000 Dan Verbeck 18065 at http://kcur.org December Event Termed New Link To Missing Baby Top of the Morning News: Tuesday, December 6, 2011 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-tuesday-december-6-2011 <p>A daily digest of headlines from KCUR.</p> <p>Mayor And School Board President: Let’s Talk<br /> The New Sound Of The KCPD<br /> Proposal Would Term Limit All Statewide Officeholders<br /> Kansas Lags in Covering Kids</p> Tue, 06 Dec 2011 12:38:47 +0000 Maria Carter 520 at http://kcur.org Top of the Morning News: Tuesday, December 6, 2011 Accolades for Police, Ambulance Tax Vote http://kcur.org/post/accolades-police-ambulance-tax-vote <p class="legacy-audio-url"> <div class="audio-container"> <div id="jp-interface-53bfb659530ef-" class="jp-interface"> <div id="post-audio-53bfb659530ef-" class="jp-player" jp-instance="53bfb659530ef-"></div> <div class="jp-controls column"> <div class="jp-progress"> <div class="jp-seek-bar"> <div class="jp-play-bar"></div> </div> </div><!-- end jp-progress --> </div><!-- end jp-controls --> <div class="playpause column"> <a href="http://stream.publicbroadcasting.net/production/mp3/kcur/local-kcur-933010.mp3" class="jp-play">Listen</a> <a class="jp-pause"></a> </div><!-- playpause --> <div class="jp-time-holder column"> <div class="jp-custom-current-time"></div> <div class="jp-custom-duration"></div> </div><!-- jp-time-holder --> <div id="slider"></div> </div><!-- .jp-interface --> </div><!-- container --> </p> <p>Kansas City, MO – Kansas City government snatched some relief from Tuesday's earnings tax repeal referendum. The Public Safety Sales Tax passed and was noted in Council Committees the day after.</p> Wed, 03 Nov 2010 22:53:40 +0000 Dan Verbeck 7257 at http://kcur.org Accolades for Police, Ambulance Tax Vote