Kansas City Art Institute http://kcur.org en Art Of The Car Concours: A Classic Car Lover's Dreamland http://kcur.org/post/art-car-concours-classic-car-lovers-dreamland <p></p><p></p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Hannah Copeland 57605 at http://kcur.org Art Of The Car Concours: A Classic Car Lover's Dreamland KCAI Fiber Department Showcases Student Work http://kcur.org/post/kcai-fiber-department-showcases-student-work <p>At the <a href="http://www.kcai.edu/">Kansas City Art Institute</a>, a sale and exhibition of student artwork at the end of each semester is a nearly 45-year tradition for the ceramics department; some of the other departments, such as painting, printmaking, and sculpture, have also opened their doors for the past 20 years. This weekend, the fiber department showcases student work in a new location called the Warehouse.&nbsp;</p><p><strong>Art in a gallery context</strong></p> Sat, 07 Dec 2013 03:13:33 +0000 Julie Denesha 47669 at http://kcur.org KCAI Fiber Department Showcases Student Work Artspace Exhibition Explores 'Performance Now' http://kcur.org/post/artspace-exhibition-explores-performance-now <p>A traveling exhibition at the H&amp;R Block Artspace, <em>Performance Now</em>, includes performance art from the last decade, with work by artists spanning generations, such as <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marina_Abramovi%C4%87">Marina Abramović</a>, Yael Bartana, and Clifford Owens.</p><p>There’s a 12-hour performance of a 3 ½ minute aria; a slightly-scripted soap opera filmed in Ikea stores; and a Claymation film about urban violence. There are also re-performances, or re-creations of famous works from the past.</p><p><strong>Performance art, then and now</strong></p> Thu, 05 Sep 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 43105 at http://kcur.org Artspace Exhibition Explores 'Performance Now' 'Seven' Questions for Artist Luis Camnitzer http://kcur.org/post/seven-questions-artist-luis-camnitzer <p></p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 16:21:56 +0000 Esther Honig 42257 at http://kcur.org 'Seven' Questions for Artist Luis Camnitzer Artistic Cars On Display At Kansas City Art Institute http://kcur.org/post/artistic-cars-display-kansas-city-art-institute <p>The Seventh Annual <strong>Art of the Car Concours</strong> showcases vintage and classic cars and gives visitors the chance to meet some of the men and women who raced them during the 1950s and ’60s.</p> Fri, 21 Jun 2013 15:36:44 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 38925 at http://kcur.org Artistic Cars On Display At Kansas City Art Institute Collaborating With The Xijing Men http://kcur.org/post/collaborating-xijing-men <p><a href="http://www.kcai.edu/">Kansas City Art Institute</a> students experienced cross-cultural communication through art during a Sunday workshop with visiting artists at the <a href="http://www.kcai.edu/artspace">H&amp;R Block Artspace</a>. As part of their 1o-day residency in Kansas City, the Xijing Men led the students through activities designed to inspire them to use their skills as budding artists. Tue, 29 Jan 2013 11:30:00 +0000 Julie Denesha & Laura Spencer 31047 at http://kcur.org Collaborating With The Xijing Men Donaldson House Slated For Demolition http://kcur.org/post/donaldson-house-slated-demolition <p>The historic Donaldson House in Kansas City, Mo. is slated for demolition on December 19. It's something that's been in the works for at least a decade. Wed, 12 Dec 2012 21:44:04 +0000 Laura Spencer 28908 at http://kcur.org Donaldson House Slated For Demolition Kemper ARTcast: Interview with Angela Dufresne http://kcur.org/post/kemper-artcast-interview-angela-dufresne <p>A 1991 graduate of the <a href="http://www.kcai.edu/">Kansas City Art Institute</a>, Angela Dufresne paints loose figurative works that evoke works by seminal artists of 19th-century Europe and America, such as Thomas Cole and Frederick Church as well as French painters Jean Corot and Gustave Courbet. Dufresne manipulates idyllic scenes to rewrite history in her works. Tue, 04 Dec 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Brock Masterson 28461 at http://kcur.org Kemper ARTcast: Interview with Angela Dufresne KCAI In Legal Wrangling Over Unpaid Pledge http://kcur.org/post/kcai-legal-wrangling-over-unpaid-pledge <p>The Kansas City Art Institute is <a href="http://www.kansascity.com/2012/11/25/3933325/art-institute-sues-over-donations.html#storylink=misearch">taking a southern California couple to court</a>. The issue is stirring up a lot of controversy and national -- and international -- attention. Thu, 29 Nov 2012 16:28:38 +0000 Laura Spencer 28283 at http://kcur.org KCAI In Legal Wrangling Over Unpaid Pledge Bronze Installation Inspired By Idea: 'Look Up, Look Down, Look All Around' http://kcur.org/post/bronze-installation-inspired-idea-look-look-down-look-all-around <p>At the new South Branch Library in the Argentine district in Kansas City, Kan., nine 700-lb. bronze panels flank the entrance, some with images of vertical stacks of library books. Tue, 20 Nov 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 27837 at http://kcur.org Bronze Installation Inspired By Idea: 'Look Up, Look Down, Look All Around' Area Nerds Unite: Nerd Nite KC Features Erin Dahl On The Topic Of Silk Worms http://kcur.org/post/area-nerds-unite-nerd-nite-kc-features-erin-dahl-topic-silk-worms <p><a href="http://kansascity.nerdnite.com/" target="_blank">Alison Heryer and Jason Kovac started hosting Nerd Nites in KC</a> this past April.&nbsp; Nerd Nites have been described a lot of ways, like where whiskey meets wisdom, and The Discovery Channel with beer.</p><p>They were first started in the Boston area in 2003 and have grown to be hosted all around the world.&nbsp; They even publish their own <strong><a href="http://nerdnite.com/" target="_blank">Nerd Nite Magazines</a></strong> which dives into a diverse array of nerdy topics.</p> Mon, 17 Sep 2012 20:30:05 +0000 Suzanne Hogan 24632 at http://kcur.org Area Nerds Unite: Nerd Nite KC Features Erin Dahl On The Topic Of Silk Worms Best & Worst All Nighters From The Art Institute http://kcur.org/post/best-worst-all-nighters-art-institute <p>Students often describe being up all night as “the all-nighter.”&nbsp; And who among us who’ve faced a deadline of any sort can’t relate to being awake until 5 a.m. doing something you intended to finish the day before.&nbsp; We stopped by the <a href="http://www.kcai.edu/">Kansas City Art Institute</a> for some stories from students who’ve been up all night creating art.</p> Tue, 28 Aug 2012 04:47:43 +0000 Tomeka Weatherspoon 23540 at http://kcur.org Best & Worst All Nighters From The Art Institute Jim Leedy: The Documentary http://kcur.org/post/jim-leedy-documentary <p>The Crossroads, a once blighted area in downtown Kansas City, is now a thriving arts district.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 24 Aug 2012 10:00:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 23256 at http://kcur.org Jim Leedy: The Documentary The Art Of The Automobile http://kcur.org/post/art-automobile <p>Each year the <a href="http://kcai.edu" target="_blank">Kansas City Art Institute</a> hosts&nbsp; the <strong>Art of the Cars Concours</strong>, a gathering of exotic vehicles whose purposes extend far beyond transportation. Fri, 22 Jun 2012 03:04:22 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 19810 at http://kcur.org The Art Of The Automobile Art Generates Controversy In Johnson County http://kcur.org/post/art-generates-controversy-johnson-county <p>Prompted by a recent visit to the <a href="http://www.opkansas.org/Things-to-See-And-Do/Overland-Park-Arboretum-And-Botanical-Gardens">Overland Park Arboretum and Botanical Gardens</a> with her family, an area resident has started circulating a petition to remove one of the sculptures. The work is called &quot;Accept or Reject&quot; (note: a brass plaque also lists the title as &quot;Choice&quot;) by sculptor 余畅 Yu Chang, <span class="st">an artist who also reportedly directs the<em> </em>Guangzhou<em> </em>Sculpture Academy. Overland Park officials say that, at this time, there are no plans to remove it from the Arboretum. </span> Thu, 24 May 2012 17:03:43 +0000 Laura Spencer 18245 at http://kcur.org Art Generates Controversy In Johnson County Andres Serrano at KCAI Commencement: 'Art is a mystery to most people' http://kcur.org/post/andres-serrano-kcai-commencement-art-mystery-most-people <p>This time of year marks a flurry of commencement speeches at academic institutions around the country. Wed, 16 May 2012 20:57:43 +0000 Laura Spencer 17788 at http://kcur.org Andres Serrano at KCAI Commencement: 'Art is a mystery to most people' Kemper ARTcast: Interview with the Artist Wilbur Niewald http://kcur.org/post/kemper-artcast-interview-artist-wilbur-niewald <p>Kansas City artist Wilbur Niewald has been associated with the Kansas City Art Institute for 76 years, and claims it has changed, &ldquo;but not as much as you would imagine&hellip;it&#39;s always been like an oasis.&rdquo;&nbsp; In this Kemper ARTcast, Dr. Jacqueline Chanda, recently inducted President of the Kansas City Art Institute, asks Niewald about the changes in his painting over his career in conjunction with the <em>Wilbur Niewald: The Studio Portrait</em>, now on view at Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art.</p><p> Fri, 20 Jan 2012 15:32:12 +0000 Drew Bolton 11158 at http://kcur.org Kemper ARTcast: Interview with the Artist Wilbur Niewald Top Of The Morning News: Friday, January 20, 2012 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-friday-january-20-2012 <p>A daily digest of headlines from KCUR.</p> <p>• Missouri House OKs Spending Limits<br /> • Charity Head Pleads Guilty To Fraud<br /> • Painting What He Sees</p> Fri, 20 Jan 2012 13:33:58 +0000 Maria Carter 11152 at http://kcur.org Wilbur Niewald: Painting What He Sees http://kcur.org/post/wilbur-niewald-painting-what-he-sees <p>Artist <a href="http://www.wilburniewald.com/">Wilbur Niewald</a>, professor emeritus of painting at the <a href="http://www.kcai.edu/">Kansas City Art Institute</a>, draws and paints from direct observation &ndash; what he sees around him.</p><p> Fri, 20 Jan 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 11093 at http://kcur.org Wilbur Niewald: Painting What He Sees Artist Wilbur Niewald Wins Guggenheim http://kcur.org/post/artist-wilbur-niewald-wins-guggenheim <p class="legacy-audio-url"> <div class="audio-container"> <div id="jp-interface-53ce3166cda4b-" class="jp-interface"> <div id="post-audio-53ce3166cda4b-" class="jp-player" jp-instance="53ce3166cda4b-"></div> <div class="jp-controls column"> <div class="jp-progress"> <div class="jp-seek-bar"> <div class="jp-play-bar"></div> </div> </div><!-- end jp-progress --> </div><!-- end jp-controls --> <div class="playpause column"> <a href="http://stream.publicbroadcasting.net/production/mp3/national/local-national-695717.mp3" class="jp-play">Listen</a> <a class="jp-pause"></a> </div><!-- playpause --> <div class="jp-time-holder column"> <div class="jp-custom-current-time"></div> <div class="jp-custom-duration"></div> </div><!-- jp-time-holder --> <div id="slider"></div> </div><!-- .jp-interface --> </div><!-- container --> </p> <p>Kansas City, Mo – Artist Wilbur Niewald, professor emeritus of painting at the Kansas City Art Institute, began his year-long<br /><a href="//www.gf.org/newfellow.html">Guggenheim</a> Fellowship on May 1.</p> Mon, 01 May 2006 13:20:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 882 at http://kcur.org Artist Wilbur Niewald Wins Guggenheim Remembering Kenneth R. Ferguson http://kcur.org/post/remembering-kenneth-r-ferguson <p>Kansas City, Missouri – One of Kansas City's most respected artists <a href="//www.garthclark.com/Artists/FergusonKen/artistbio_images.htm#">Ken Ferguson</a> passed away in December. In April, a memorial service was held in his honor.</p> Thu, 31 Mar 2005 16:33:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 707 at http://kcur.org Remembering Kenneth R. Ferguson