corn http://kcur.org en Soybean Acres Up, Corn Down In This Year's Planting http://kcur.org/post/soybean-acres-corn-down-years-planting <p>Farmers planted a record number of soybean acres this season. But corn is flat in several Midwestern states, while down slightly in others.</p><p>Those are some of the takeaways from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s report on planted grain acres for the season, which offers the first glimpse of production for 2014.</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 14:59:19 +0000 Amy Mayer 58534 at http://kcur.org Soybean Acres Up, Corn Down In This Year's Planting Is Corn Dust Killing Bees? http://kcur.org/post/corn-dust-killing-bees <p></p><p>Nathan Anderson stops his red pick-up truck alongside a cornfield on his farm near Cherokee, Iowa. The young farmer pulls on a heavy brown hoodie, thick, long, sturdy gloves and a beekeeper’s hat with a screened veil. He approaches a pair of hives sitting on the edge of a field recently planted with corn and adjusts a yellow plastic flap that traps some of the pollen the bees bring back to their hive.</p> Tue, 27 May 2014 12:49:32 +0000 Amy Mayer 56364 at http://kcur.org Is Corn Dust Killing Bees? Corn Farmers Fight Rootworm Resistance http://kcur.org/post/corn-farmers-fight-rootworm-resistance <p>After a long battle with corn rootworm, Midwest farmers thought they’d found relief in genetically modified seeds engineered to produce toxins deadly to the pest. But recent research confirms what farmers have been noticing for several years: the western corn rootworm has been evolving to outwit the technology.</p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 13:32:18 +0000 Amy Mayer 53791 at http://kcur.org Corn Farmers Fight Rootworm Resistance Governors To Visit Drought-Stricken Regions http://kcur.org/post/governors-visit-drought-stricken-regions <p>Both Missouri Governor Jay Nixon and Kansas Governor Sam Brownback embark on tours today of their states' most drought-affected regions. The USDA declared 82 Kansas counties federal disaster areas, while the entire state of Missouri — all 114 counties — meets disaster qualifications, based on losses of at least 30 percent of the estimated crop yield.</p> Tue, 17 Jul 2012 14:17:11 +0000 Emilie Mutert 21155 at http://kcur.org Governors To Visit Drought-Stricken Regions Top Of The Morning News: Monday, May 14, 2012 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-monday-may-14-2012 <p>Missouri and Kansas lawmakers wrap up their legislative sessions.&nbsp; Corn farmers are expecting record breaking crop.&nbsp; Missouri agriculture officials work to create a buzz about bees.&nbsp; It&rsquo;s a roundup of daily headlines from KCUR.</p><p> Mon, 14 May 2012 13:20:08 +0000 Maria Carter 17603 at http://kcur.org Surprise! Corn Stocks Are Up http://kcur.org/post/surprise-corn-stocks-are <p style="font-size: 1.2em; line-height: 1.7em; margin-top: 0px; margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 1.1em; margin-left: 0px; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, 'Times New Roman', serif; font-style: normal; font-variant: normal; font-weight: normal; letter-spacing: normal; orphans: 2; text-align: -webkit-auto; text-indent: 0px; text-transform: none; white-space: normal; widows: 2; word-spacing: 0px; -webkit-text-size-adjust: auto; -webkit-text-stroke-width: 0px; background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255); ">The U.S. Tue, 17 Jan 2012 18:59:15 +0000 Eric Durban 10940 at http://kcur.org Surprise! Corn Stocks Are Up