Kansas City Fire Department http://kcur.org en Contaminated Cash Sends Kansas City Federal Reserve Worker To Hospital http://kcur.org/post/contaminated-cash-sends-kansas-city-federal-reserve-worker-hospital <p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The physical handling of millions of dollars in old cash had resumed at mid-afternoon Thursday at Kansas City’s Federal Reserve Bank. Thu, 27 Jun 2013 21:02:22 +0000 Dan Verbeck 39260 at http://kcur.org Contaminated Cash Sends Kansas City Federal Reserve Worker To Hospital Man, Woman Vanish Into Missouri River Without A Trace http://kcur.org/post/man-woman-vanish-missouri-river-without-trace <p>The Missouri River swallowed up two people seen jumping from the Kit Bond Bridge at midday.</p><p>Traffic was stopped on the span that carries some 100,000 vehicles a day.</p><p>Police talked with at least one witness.</p><p>Visibility was obscured by snow squalls that whipped the river at the time.</p><p>KCUR’s Dan Verbeck gave a description from the site where the river search was launched and ended--“this is Riverfront Park, downstream from the Bond Bridge." &nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Thu, 21 Mar 2013 21:00:59 +0000 Dan Verbeck 33864 at http://kcur.org Man, Woman Vanish Into Missouri River Without A Trace Top Of The Morning News: March 14, 2013 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-march-14-2013 <p>The Kansas City Fire Department released a report on the explosion that happened at JJ's restaurant in February, and Missouri launched a new campaign to discourage meth "smurfing." These stories &amp; more from KCUR.</p><p><strong>Explosion Probe Incomplete</strong></p> Thu, 14 Mar 2013 14:52:50 +0000 Dan Verbeck 33470 at http://kcur.org Top Of The Morning News: March 14, 2013 Berardi Becomes Kansas City Fire Chief http://kcur.org/post/berardi-becomes-kansas-city-fire-chief <p>Twenty-six years after signing on as a Kansas City firefighter, Paul Berardi has become the chief of the department. Thu, 10 Jan 2013 23:11:51 +0000 Dan Verbeck 30244 at http://kcur.org Berardi Becomes Kansas City Fire Chief All-Star Ill-Weather Hovers Over Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/all-star-ill-weather-hovers-over-kansas-city <p>Mayor Sly James went to the Kansas City Emergency Operations Center for a briefing on readiness for the All-Star Game and most immediate interest shifted to the heat wave. Thu, 05 Jul 2012 22:45:34 +0000 Dan Verbeck 20564 at http://kcur.org All-Star Ill-Weather Hovers Over Kansas City Kansas City Council OKs Firefighter Contract http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-council-oks-firefighter-contract <p>The Kansas City Council has affirmed a three-year contract with Local 42 of the Firefighters Union. Accord came after weeks of negotiations.</p><p> Fri, 11 May 2012 10:23:16 +0000 Dan Verbeck 17478 at http://kcur.org Kansas City Council OKs Firefighter Contract Top Of The Morning News: Thursday, March 22, 2012 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-thursday-march-22-2012 <p>A daily digest of headlines from KCUR: KC Departments Cuts Still Being Debated &amp; Daytime Curfew On Hold.</p><p> Thu, 22 Mar 2012 14:25:45 +0000 Maria Carter 14647 at http://kcur.org Top Of The Morning News: Friday, March 2, 2012 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-friday-march-2-2012 <p>A daily digest of headlines form KCUR.</p> <p> New Report Cuts Risk Of NBAF<br /> School Board President Preps Others For Leadership<br /> Fire Chief Spells Out Effects Of Cuts<br /> “Hungry” At The Unicorn</p> Fri, 02 Mar 2012 13:32:23 +0000 Maria Carter 13518 at http://kcur.org Firefighter, Truck, Station Cuts Described http://kcur.org/post/firefighter-truck-station-cuts-described <p>The guesswork is over. Kansas City&rsquo;s fire chief has laid out which fire stations would have smaller staffs, fewer fire trucks and which will close as he faces orders to reduce the department budget by $7.6 million for 2013. Thu, 01 Mar 2012 23:16:47 +0000 Dan Verbeck 13495 at http://kcur.org Firefighter, Truck, Station Cuts Described Exit May Ease For KC Chief http://kcur.org/post/exit-may-ease-kc-chief <p>A financial deal is being worked out at city hall to allow Kansas City&rsquo;s fire chief to retire early and with benefits.</p><p> Wed, 29 Feb 2012 22:50:23 +0000 Dan Verbeck 13418 at http://kcur.org Exit May Ease For KC Chief KCMO City Council Reacts To Proposed City Budget http://kcur.org/post/kcmo-city-council-reacts-proposed-city-budget <p>Kansas City, Missouri City Manager Troy Schulte’s recently proposed budget recommendations for 2012 include a number of cuts, most notably a reduction of more than 100 positions in the fire department. On Wednesday, Fire Chief Smokey Dyer told the City Council’s public safety committee that the proposed cuts would violate national fire safety standards.</p> Fri, 20 Jan 2012 19:21:01 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 11127 at http://kcur.org KCMO City Council Reacts To Proposed City Budget How Many Firefighters Does It Take? Cut Plan Aired http://kcur.org/post/how-many-firefighters-does-it-take-cut-plan-aired <p>In a graphic verbal portrayal of a fire&nbsp; scene in the future, a Kansas City&nbsp; Council committee has heard one view of how proposed budget cuts could affect the Kansas City Fire Department.</p><p> Wed, 18 Jan 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Dan Verbeck 11046 at http://kcur.org How Many Firefighters Does It Take? Cut Plan Aired Firefighter Louie Martin Retires After 51 Years http://kcur.org/post/firefighter-louie-martin-retires-after-51-years-0 <p>In the early evening of December 29<sup>th</sup>, Louie &ldquo;Scooter&rdquo; Martin was working the final hours of his last shift before retiring. For most people, that would mean eating a big, sugary cake and hearing some words of tribute from the boss. But Martin spent his final working hours racing through midtown traffic toward one of the biggest fires in Westport history (at Westport Presbyterian Church). It was a fitting end to the career of one of the long-serving firefighters in Kansas City history. Sun, 15 Jan 2012 18:00:00 +0000 Alex Smith 10778 at http://kcur.org Firefighter Louie Martin Retires After 51 Years