unions http://kcur.org en SAG-AFTRA Closes Kansas City Office http://kcur.org/post/sag-aftra-closes-kansas-city-office <p>The labor union representing film, television and radio actors, announcers, and newscasters plans to close its Kansas City office. Thu, 09 May 2013 21:15:19 +0000 Laura Spencer 36478 at http://kcur.org SAG-AFTRA Closes Kansas City Office Is Anti-Union Rhetoric Full Of Myths? http://kcur.org/post/anti-union-rhetoric-full-myths <p><strong>Anti-union rhetoric </strong>has been trumpeting out of of recent debates in Wisconsin and Michigan, but<strong> one labor activist says much of it is a myth.</strong> Mon, 18 Mar 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Suzanne Hogan 33646 at http://kcur.org Is Anti-Union Rhetoric Full Of Myths? Right To Work Debated In Missouri http://kcur.org/post/right-work-debated-missouri <p>Supporters and opponents of legislation that would make Missouri a right-to-work state crowded into a hearing room Wednesday at the State Capitol.&nbsp;</p><p>The bill would forbid workers from being forced to join unions or pay union dues as a condition of employment.&nbsp;</p><p>Greg Hoberock, national chair of Associated Builders and Contractors, testified in favor of the measure.</p> Thu, 07 Feb 2013 16:05:08 +0000 Marshall Griffin 31607 at http://kcur.org Right To Work Debated In Missouri Union Paycheck Deduction Bill Headed to Full House http://kcur.org/post/union-paycheck-deduction-bill-headed-full-house <p>A Kansas House committee has passed a bill that would stop public unions from making automatic paycheck deductions used for political advocacy. Currently, union members can agree to deductions from their paychecks that are used for political purposes.</p><p>The bill &nbsp;brought up heated debate in the House Commerce Committee. Opponents of the bill say it takes away an option for public employees to make political contributions.</p><p>Annie&nbsp;Tietze is a Topeka Democrat.</p> Fri, 25 Jan 2013 15:07:01 +0000 Stephen Koranda 30927 at http://kcur.org Union Paycheck Deduction Bill Headed to Full House Union Numbers Drop In Missouri http://kcur.org/post/union-numbers-drop-missouri <p style="margin-left:.5in;">The <a href="http://www.bls.gov/">U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics</a> released <a href="http://www.bls.gov/news.release/union2.nr0.htm">union membership numbers</a> today. The percentage of Missouri workers who are members of a union dropped to less than nine percent in 2012, following two years of slight gains. Wed, 23 Jan 2013 22:58:14 +0000 Rachel Lippmann 30845 at http://kcur.org Campaign Accelerators Pressed In Missouri Senate Campaigns http://kcur.org/post/campaign-accelerators-pressed-missouri-senate-campaigns <p>Leading into weekend campaigning, supporters of the two leading candidates for the U.S. Senate race in Missouri show no sign of slackening efforts. Fri, 02 Nov 2012 21:48:49 +0000 Dan Verbeck 26997 at http://kcur.org Campaign Accelerators Pressed In Missouri Senate Campaigns Bankrupt American Airlines Spars With Unions http://kcur.org/post/bankrupt-american-airlines-spars-unions With US Airways breathing down its neck, making nice with its unions as well as its creditors, American Airlines came to New York City on Monday to ask a federal bankruptcy judge for relief. Mostly, American wants relief from its unions — 13,000 jobs would be eliminated under its reorganization proposal. American has been hemorrhaging money for years and wants to lower its costs to compete.<p>"The fact is that our labor costs are the highest in the industry," says American spokesman Bruce Hicks. Mon, 23 Apr 2012 21:39:00 +0000 Wade Goodwyn 16451 at http://kcur.org Bankrupt American Airlines Spars With Unions New Health Plan for Missouri Workers Upsets Union Leaders http://kcur.org/post/new-health-plan-missouri-workers-upsets-union-leaders <p>Jefferson City, MO – Union leaders in Missouri are not happy with a new health insurance plan for state employees. It replaces the current co-pay system with one that requires state workers to pay deductibles.</p> Fri, 27 Aug 2010 12:30:03 +0000 Marshall Griffin 7004 at http://kcur.org