bullying http://kcur.org en The Problem Of Adult Bullying http://kcur.org/post/problem-adult-bullying <p></p><p>In light of the recent NFL bullying scandal where Richie Incognito's inappropriate locker room&nbsp;behavior landed him in the national spotlight, we explore the reality of adult bullying.</p><p>We talk about how prevalent adult bullying is, as well as how important it is for managers and supervisors to enforce anti-bullying policies in their workplaces.&nbsp;</p><p><strong>Guests:</strong></p> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 17:11:40 +0000 Bill Anderson, Matthew Long-Middleton & Sydney Llewellyn 46725 at http://kcur.org The Connection Between Sexual Assault And Online Bullying http://kcur.org/post/connection-between-sexual-assault-and-online-bullying <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Sexual assault used to be such a taboo issue that it wasn’t even covered by the media. Those affected by sexual assault would often hide in shame, but as it has becomes more public, young people are flocking to their Facebook and Twitter accounts to call names and take sides. </span></p> Tue, 22 Oct 2013 15:00:00 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton & Ross Stinemetz 45803 at http://kcur.org The Connection Between Sexual Assault And Online Bullying KU Researchers Developing Model Anti-Bullying Policy http://kcur.org/post/ku-researchers-developing-model-anti-bullying-policy <p>Researchers at the University of Kansas have been hired by the State Department of Education to develop a model anti-bullying policy for use in schools statewide.</p><p>All Kansas schools must have an anti-bullying policy, but coming up with effective policies and practices to meet that requirement can get complicated. Researchers at the University of Kansas plan to launch a statewide series of meetings in October to present educators with a model policy to build their own programs around.</p> Mon, 19 Aug 2013 13:10:28 +0000 Bryan Thompson 42185 at http://kcur.org Bullying Ordinance Puts Onus On Parents http://kcur.org/post/bullying-ordinance-puts-onus-parents <p></p><p></p><p>A city council committee has endorsed an ordinance that would outlaw bullying throughout Kansas City, Missouri. As with the city's youth curfew, the onus falls on parents.</p><p>The 14 school districts in the city already have policies to protect students from being bullied, as is required by Missouri law.</p> Thu, 01 Aug 2013 04:38:49 +0000 Steve Bell 41207 at http://kcur.org Bullying Ordinance Puts Onus On Parents Parents, Teens, & Bullying http://kcur.org/post/parents-teens-bullying <p>It's become all too common: kids bullying other kids.</p> <p>Tuesday on Up to Date, Steve Kraske welcomes psychologist Wes Crenshaw, Ph.D. to discuss how parents can help their kids avoid bullying, distinguishing "mean kid" behavior from bullying, and how girls and boys differ in terms of bullying behavior.</p> Mon, 30 Apr 2012 22:35:55 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 16858 at http://kcur.org Parents, Teens, & Bullying Teen's Suicide Prompts Anti-Bullying Editorial http://kcur.org/post/teens-suicide-prompts-anti-bullying-editorial Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Yesterday, the Sioux City Journal in Iowa did something it had never done before. It devoted the entire front page of its Sunday paper to an editorial. The headline, "We Must Stop Bullying, It Starts Here and It Starts Now." That editorial came soon after a 14-year-old Iowa boy named Kenneth Weishuhn committed suicide. Mon, 23 Apr 2012 21:04:00 +0000 editor 16442 at http://kcur.org Children With Autism Are Often Targeted By Bullies http://kcur.org/post/children-autism-are-often-targeted-bullies Lots of kids get bullied. But kids with autism are especially vulnerable.<p>A new <a href="http://www.iancommunity.org/cs/ian_research_reports/ian_research_report_bullying">survey</a> by the Interactive Autism Network found that nearly two-thirds of children with autism spectrum disorders have been bullied at some point. Mon, 23 Apr 2012 07:39:00 +0000 Jon Hamilton 16389 at http://kcur.org Children With Autism Are Often Targeted By Bullies Top Of The Morning News: Friday, January 13, 2012 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-friday-january-13-2012 <p>A daily digest of headlines from KCUR.</p> <p>• Missouri Supreme Court Hears Redistricting Lawsuits<br /> • Brownback’s Budget Proposal Restores Some Arts Funding<br /> • New Play Tackles Bullying and Disability</p> Fri, 13 Jan 2012 13:46:39 +0000 Maria Carter 10747 at http://kcur.org Bullying And Disability Inform New Play For Young Audiences http://kcur.org/post/bullying-and-disability-inform-new-play-young-audiences <p>Schools across the country are grappling with how to address bullying, a problem that&#39;s provoked some teenagers to suicide.</p><p>Two area theaters for young audiences are staging plays about bullying this month, and in the case of a new play at <a href="http://www.tya.org/">Theatre for Young America</a>, specifically tackling bullying against the disabled with a disabled actor in its cast.</p><p><strong>Fresh Way of Addressing Bullying </strong></p> Fri, 13 Jan 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Steve Walker 10531 at http://kcur.org Bullying And Disability Inform New Play For Young Audiences