Department of Homeland Security http://kcur.org en NBAF May Get Boost As Government Report Says 'Sell Plum Island' http://kcur.org/post/nbaf-may-get-boost-government-report-says-sell-plum-island <p>It could be good news for supporters of the <a href="http://www.dhs.gov/files/labs/editorial_0762.shtm ">NBAF</a>, &nbsp;the top-level biosecurity lab proposed for Manhattan, Kan.</p><p> Sat, 21 Jul 2012 13:59:56 +0000 Laura Ziegler 21427 at http://kcur.org NBAF May Get Boost As Government Report Says 'Sell Plum Island' NBAF Closes In On Federal Funding http://kcur.org/post/nbaf-closes-federal-funding <p>The National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility (NBAF) got one step closer to Congressional funding yesterday. when the full House Appropriations Committee approved $75 million in the FY2013 budget put forward by the Department of Homeland Security subcommittee.</p> Thu, 17 May 2012 17:17:00 +0000 Laura Ziegler 17847 at http://kcur.org NBAF Closes In On Federal Funding Possible Funding Boost For Kan. Agro-Defense Facility http://kcur.org/post/possible-funding-boost-kan-agro-defense-facility <p>The troubled National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility in Manhattan, Kan., got a financial shot in the arm yesterday.</p><p> Thu, 10 May 2012 14:41:13 +0000 Laura Ziegler 17420 at http://kcur.org Possible Funding Boost For Kan. Agro-Defense Facility NBAF Feasibility Talks Continue http://kcur.org/post/nbaf-feasibility-talks-continue <p>The Department of Homeland Security continued the conversation about funding challenges before the House Appropriations Committee in Washington, D.C. this week. With less than half the money her committee had two years ago, O’Toole reiterated the department is faced with choosing NBAF or the continuation of mission-driven R&amp;D. She also said DHS was in the middle of construction plans for new headquarters, which needed funding as well.</p> Fri, 23 Mar 2012 20:32:25 +0000 Laura Ziegler 14747 at http://kcur.org Opponents Of High-Security Lab In Manhattan Gain Steam http://kcur.org/post/opponents-high-security-lab-manhattan-gain-steam <p>The facility’s budget cuts have buoyed opponents of the project, the cost of which is now expected to climb to over $1 billion. The Obama administration’s 2013 budget, released earlier this month, eliminated funding for the Department of Homeland Security’s National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility being built in Manhattan, Kan.</p> <p>NBAF, as it’s known, is a high-security lab designed to research foreign and zoonotic animal diseases.</p> Thu, 23 Feb 2012 15:50:59 +0000 Laura Ziegler 13028 at http://kcur.org Opponents Of High-Security Lab In Manhattan Gain Steam Committee Blasts Department Of Homeland Security Risk Assessment Report http://kcur.org/post/committee-blasts-department-homeland-security-risk-assessment-report <p>Kansas City, Missouri – A committee of the National Academy of Sciences released a report today that said the Department of Homeland Security's bio security lab in Manhattan , Kansas had a 70% chance releasing the highly contagious Foot and Mouth Disease over 50 years. The economic risk could be between 9 and 50 billion dollars, the report found.</p> Tue, 16 Nov 2010 00:08:22 +0000 Laura Ziegler 7291 at http://kcur.org GAO Report Raises Questions About NBAF In Kansas http://kcur.org/post/gao-report-raises-questions-about-nbaf-kansas <p>A report from the Government Accountability Office questions how the Department of Homeland Security determined the safety of six sites for a proposed animal disease research lab. Manhattan, Kan. was selected as the site for the National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility, or NBAF.</p> Mon, 27 Jul 2009 16:38:00 +0000 Stephen Koranda 5480 at http://kcur.org