basketball http://kcur.org en A Fan's Notes: None Of Our Business http://kcur.org/post/fans-notes-none-our-business <p></p><p></p> Thu, 22 May 2014 21:12:14 +0000 Victor Wishna & Danie Alexander 56154 at http://kcur.org A Fan's Notes: None Of Our Business KU Breaks Ground On New Center To House Naismith’s Rules Of Basketball http://kcur.org/post/ku-breaks-ground-new-center-house-naismith-s-rules-basketball <p>Construction begins Friday on the DeBruce Center, a three-story building that will house the original rules for basketball, typed up by the game’s inventor, James Naismith, in 1892.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;The </span>DeBruce<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Center will be connected to Allen </span>Fieldhouse&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">by a second-story walkway. </span></p> Fri, 02 May 2014 11:00:08 +0000 Sylvia Maria Gross 55099 at http://kcur.org KU Breaks Ground On New Center To House Naismith’s Rules Of Basketball Mizzou Basketball Coach Leaving For Tulsa http://kcur.org/post/mizzou-basketball-coach-leaving-tulsa <p></p><p><strong>Updated 2:29 p.m.</strong>:</p><p>The University of Tulsa officially tapped Frank Haith, men's basketball coach at the University of Missouri, as its new head basketball coach on Friday afternoon. <a href="http://www.tulsahurricane.com/sports/m-baskbl/spec-rel/041814aad.html">See the full announcement.</a></p><p><em>The original story begins here:&nbsp;</em></p><p>The University of Tulsa is expected to announce Friday that Frank Haith will be named as head basketball coach after three years at the University of Missouri.</p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 15:01:13 +0000 Greg Echlin 54384 at http://kcur.org Mizzou Basketball Coach Leaving For Tulsa A Look At The New KU Basketball Film, 'Jayhawkers' http://kcur.org/post/look-new-ku-basketball-film-jayhawkers <p>KU basketball had a different sort of atmosphere back in the 1950s. In addition to some Phog, one of the things that changed the weather there was a certain player called Wilt Chamberlain.</p><p>On Friday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we talk with local filmmaker Kevin Willmott about his newest movie, <em>Jayhawkers</em>, that takes a look at the Chamberlain era and how it changed KU forever.&nbsp;</p><p><strong>Guest:</strong></p> Fri, 08 Nov 2013 16:59:50 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 46531 at http://kcur.org A Look At The New KU Basketball Film, 'Jayhawkers' Matt Brown Fired As UMKC Men's Basketball Coach http://kcur.org/post/matt-brown-fired-umkc-mens-basketball-coach-0 <p>UMKC <a href="http://www.umkckangaroos.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_LANG=C&amp;ATCLID=206732274&amp;DB_OEM_ID=18300">announced today</a> the firing of Matt Brown, the head coach of the UMKC men's basketball program. Brown led the program for the past six seasons. Tue, 12 Mar 2013 21:50:32 +0000 Greg Echlin 33378 at http://kcur.org Matt Brown Fired As UMKC Men's Basketball Coach Big 12 Tournament Set http://kcur.org/post/big-12-tournament-set <p>The <a href="http://www.big12sports.com/">Big 12 </a>brackets are set for the men's tournament in Kansas City. Mon, 11 Mar 2013 14:06:32 +0000 Greg Echlin 33276 at http://kcur.org Big 12 Tournament Set Tournament Town http://kcur.org/post/tournament-town <p>Before March Madness infected the nation, Kansas City was patient zero.</p><p> Fri, 20 Apr 2012 14:33:04 +0000 Andrea Silenzi 16289 at http://kcur.org Tournament Town In Women's Title Game, Baylor Goes For History http://kcur.org/post/womens-title-game-baylor-goes-history <em>Kentucky is now in the record books as this year's NCAA Division I men's basketball champion after <a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/04/02/149887730/kentucky-defeats-kansas-in-ncaa-championship-game" target="_blank">its 67-59 win over Kansas last night</a>. Tue, 03 Apr 2012 12:05:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 15328 at http://kcur.org In Women's Title Game, Baylor Goes For History Naismith's Basketball Rules Bought for $4.3 Million by KU Grad http://kcur.org/post/naismiths-basketball-rules-bought-43-million-ku-grad <p>Kansas City, MO – Looks like the University of Kansas may become home to the original typewritten rules of basketball. The game was invented by James Naismith in Massachusetts in 1892, six years before he became a KU professor and basketball coach.</p> Fri, 10 Dec 2010 23:32:19 +0000 Sylvia Maria Gross 7356 at http://kcur.org Naismith's Basketball Rules Bought for $4.3 Million by KU Grad Original Rules of Basketball to be Auctioned Off http://kcur.org/post/original-rules-basketball-be-auctioned <p class="legacy-audio-url"> <div class="audio-container"> <div id="jp-interface-53d0a2e14d928-" class="jp-interface"> <div id="post-audio-53d0a2e14d928-" class="jp-player" jp-instance="53d0a2e14d928-"></div> <div class="jp-controls column"> <div class="jp-progress"> <div class="jp-seek-bar"> <div class="jp-play-bar"></div> </div> </div><!-- end jp-progress --> </div><!-- end jp-controls --> <div class="playpause column"> <a href="http://stream.publicbroadcasting.net/production/mp3/kcur/local-kcur-938616.mp3" class="jp-play">Listen</a> <a class="jp-pause"></a> </div><!-- playpause --> <div class="jp-time-holder column"> <div class="jp-custom-current-time"></div> <div class="jp-custom-duration"></div> </div><!-- jp-time-holder --> <div id="slider"></div> </div><!-- .jp-interface --> </div><!-- container --> </p> <p>Kansas City, MO – The two typewritten pages, penned by late KU professor and coach James Naismith, are set to be sold at Sotheby's December 10, 2010. KC Currents' Susan B. Wilson spoke to the inventor's grandson and the chairman of the Naismith Museum to get their thoughts on the auction.</p> Mon, 06 Dec 2010 23:31:01 +0000 Susan B. Wilson 7338 at http://kcur.org Original Rules of Basketball to be Auctioned Off