Missouri House http://kcur.org en Missouri And Kansas Lawmakers Tackle New Sessions http://kcur.org/post/missouri-and-kansas-lawmakers-tackle-new-sessions <p>When lawmakers go back to work in Kansas and Missouri, they’ll have some hot issues to keep them warm.</p><p>On Monday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, state lawmakers from both Kansas and Missouri join us to talk about those contentious topics. In Kansas, the buzz centers around school funding and how the state’s Supreme Court could change the budget for education.</p> Mon, 06 Jan 2014 18:56:18 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 49329 at http://kcur.org Missouri And Kansas Lawmakers Tackle New Sessions Lee's Summit Lawmaker Who Threatened Resignation Changes His Mind http://kcur.org/post/lees-summit-lawmaker-who-threatened-resignation-changes-his-mind <p>A Missouri lawmaker who threatened to resign unless one or both of his key bills survived the last day of the 2013 legislative session is staying put, even though both bills failed to make it out by Friday's deadline.</p> Wed, 22 May 2013 13:29:19 +0000 Marshall Griffin 37167 at http://kcur.org Lee's Summit Lawmaker Who Threatened Resignation Changes His Mind Common Core Standards Tested In Missouri http://kcur.org/post/common-core-standards-tested-missouri <p>The <a href="http://dese.mo.gov/">Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education</a> is moving forward with plans to fully implement new standards for math, English and language arts.&nbsp; Mon, 01 Apr 2013 21:28:38 +0000 Marshall Griffin 34417 at http://kcur.org Common Core Standards Tested In Missouri Missouri Legislative Session At The Half http://kcur.org/post/missouri-legislative-session-half <p>At approximately the half-way mark for its 2013 session, the Missouri General Assembly has in some ways performed as expected, but has also delivered some genuine surprises. Fri, 15 Mar 2013 14:37:13 +0000 Steve Bell & Marshall Griffin 33544 at http://kcur.org Missouri Legislative Session At The Half Mo. Gen. Assembly Sends Benevolent Tax Credits Bill To Gov. Nixon http://kcur.org/post/mo-gen-assembly-sends-benevolent-tax-credits-bill-gov-nixon <p>Two sets of tax credits were passed by Missouri lawmakers Wednesday and sent to <a href="http://gov.mo.gov/">Governor Jay Nixon</a> (D). Thu, 14 Mar 2013 14:40:28 +0000 Marshall Griffin 33467 at http://kcur.org Mo. Gen. Assembly Sends Benevolent Tax Credits Bill To Gov. Nixon 'Medical Conscience' Bill Receives 1st-Round Approval From Mo. House http://kcur.org/post/medical-conscience-bill-receives-1st-round-approval-mo-house <p>The <a href="http://house.mo.gov/">Missouri House</a> has given first-round approval to legislation that would allow medical workers to refuse to take part in procedures that violate their religious or ethical beliefs. Tue, 12 Mar 2013 12:57:08 +0000 Marshall Griffin 33331 at http://kcur.org Mo. State Rep. Wants To 'Eliminate' Daylight Savings Time By Adopting It Permanently http://kcur.org/post/mo-state-rep-wants-eliminate-daylight-savings-time-adopting-it-permanently <p>Legislation in the <a href="http://house.mo.gov/">Missouri House</a> would permanently adopt Daylight Saving Time as the new Standard Time, but only if 20 other states also agree to do so. Fri, 01 Mar 2013 22:37:00 +0000 Marshall Griffin 32822 at http://kcur.org Evolution Legislation Moves Through Missouri House http://kcur.org/post/evolution-legislation-moves-through-missouri-house <p>State and local-level school officials would be required to develop guidelines for teaching evolution under legislation making its way through the&nbsp;<a href="http://house.mo.gov/">Missouri House</a>. Thu, 21 Feb 2013 21:40:48 +0000 Marshall Griffin 32364 at http://kcur.org Evolution Legislation Moves Through Missouri House Mo. Lawmaker Wants To Lighten 1st-Time Marijuana Possession Sentences, Expunge Some Records http://kcur.org/post/mo-lawmaker-wants-lighten-1st-time-marijuana-possession-sentences-expunge-some-records <p>A St. Louis-area&nbsp;<a href="http://house.mo.gov/default.aspx">State House</a> member&nbsp;is proposing legislation that would lessen penalties for possession of small amounts of marijuana in Missouri, and would allow for some misdemeanor criminal records to be expunged. Fri, 01 Feb 2013 21:53:47 +0000 Marshall Griffin 31321 at http://kcur.org Smoking In Mo House: GOP, Yes; Dems, No http://kcur.org/post/smoking-mo-house-gop-yes-dems-no <p>Republican members of the Missouri House who smoke will still be able to, while Democrats won’t. That's the result of a new House rule adopted today. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 21:26:50 +0000 Marshall Griffin 30513 at http://kcur.org Smoking In Mo House: GOP, Yes; Dems, No Bill Would Require Election To Fill Vacancies http://kcur.org/post/bill-would-require-election-fill-vacancies <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A Missouri House committee has overwhelmingly passed legislation that would require special elections to fill vacancies in statewide offices.</span></p><p> Wed, 16 Jan 2013 15:53:01 +0000 Marshall Griffin 30486 at http://kcur.org State Legislators In Missouri Discuss Firearms In The Classroom http://kcur.org/post/state-legislators-missouri-discuss-firearms-classroom <p>Legislation pre-filed in the Missouri House would allow teachers to carry firearms in their classrooms. Wed, 19 Dec 2012 23:06:32 +0000 Marshall Griffin 29295 at http://kcur.org State Legislators In Missouri Discuss Firearms In The Classroom Former Missouri Legislator Is Indicted http://kcur.org/post/former-missouri-legislator-indicted <p>A former Kansas City area Missouri&nbsp; state legislator has been indicted by a federal grand jury, accused of cheating on disability benefits. Tue, 27 Nov 2012 22:26:24 +0000 Dan Verbeck 28193 at http://kcur.org Former Missouri Legislator Is Indicted Top Of The Morning News: Friday, March 30, 2012 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-friday-march-30-2012 <p>Kansas City council cuts the buget, the Missouri House passes a medical conscience bill, and a Missouri judge throws out a proposed voter ID amendment. It&rsquo;s a daily digest of headlines from KCUR.</p><p> Fri, 30 Mar 2012 13:19:33 +0000 Maria Carter 15152 at http://kcur.org Top Of The Morning News: Friday, March 9, 2012 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-friday-march-9-2012 <p>A daily digest of headlines from KCUR.</p> <p> UMKC Business School Breaks Ground<br /> Kansas Republicans Ready For Caucuses<br /> Missouri House Votes to Protect Gun Owners<br /> Workplace Discrimination Bill Heads To Governor Nixon<br /> Opera Explores Nixon’s Visit To China<br /> A Fan's Notes: The Madness of March</p> Fri, 09 Mar 2012 13:31:56 +0000 Maria Carter 13916 at http://kcur.org Top Of The Morning News: Friday, January 20, 2012 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-friday-january-20-2012 <p>A daily digest of headlines from KCUR.</p> <p>• Missouri House OKs Spending Limits<br /> • Charity Head Pleads Guilty To Fraud<br /> • Painting What He Sees</p> Fri, 20 Jan 2012 13:33:58 +0000 Maria Carter 11152 at http://kcur.org Smoking Still Allowed In Missouri House Capitol Offices http://kcur.org/post/smoking-still-allowed-missouri-house-capitol-offices <p>Jefferson City, MO – Though the recent trend in Missouri has been to go smoke free, the Missouri House voted Thursday to continue to allow smoking in members' offices in the Capitol building.</p> Sun, 16 Jan 2011 04:02:47 +0000 Marshall Griffin 7463 at http://kcur.org Missouri House OKs Measure Challenging Health Law http://kcur.org/post/missouri-house-oks-measure-challenging-health-law <p>Jefferson City, MO – The Missouri House has passed a resolution urging state officials to join a multi-state lawsuit challenging the federal health care overhaul and calling on Congress to repeal the law.</p> Wed, 12 Jan 2011 16:49:58 +0000 Marshall Griffin 7448 at http://kcur.org