Missouri http://kcur.org en Gov. Nixon Visits Flood-Ravaged South-Central Missouri http://kcur.org/post/gov-nixon-visits-flood-ravaged-south-central-missouri <p>Gov. Jay Nixon toured parts of flood-ravaged south-central Missouri Thursday following days of heavy rains, which damaged dozens of homes and killed a young boy and his mother.</p><p>The Governor praised the work of local organizations in their response efforts, including the Red Cross, whose Waynesville shelter housed 27 people Wednesday night. Nixon has called upon the Missouri National Guard for security and traffic control, as numerous streets have been closed, including sections of I-44 earlier this week.</p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 12:09:54 +0000 Scott Harvey 41684 at http://kcur.org Gov. Nixon Visits Flood-Ravaged South-Central Missouri Your Guide To Quirky Day Trips In Kansas And Missouri http://kcur.org/post/your-guide-quirky-day-trips-kansas-and-missouri <p style="margin-bottom: 15px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15.454545021057129px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 21.988636016845703px;">From the hair museum, to the bridge to nowhere and Big Brutus, there are some interesting&nbsp;and even bizarre things to see and do in Missouri and Kansas. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 27 Jun 2013 16:01:45 +0000 Bill Anderson & Ross Stinemetz 39229 at http://kcur.org Your Guide To Quirky Day Trips In Kansas And Missouri 'My Life, My Town': Madelyne And Landon Brand http://kcur.org/post/my-life-my-town-madelyne-and-landon-brand <p>More than a quarter of Missouri's population lives in rural areas. The series "<a href="http://www.mylifemytown.org/">My Life, My Town</a>" documents the lives of teenagers from small Missouri towns. These are the youth who make up the<em> </em>future of rural life -- IF they decide to stay. Tue, 02 Apr 2013 20:23:00 +0000 KBIA and Columbia Missourian 32921 at http://kcur.org 'My Life, My Town': Madelyne And Landon Brand KC State Of The City Speech Overshadowed By On-Stage Disruption http://kcur.org/post/kc-state-city-speech-overshadowed-stage-disruption <p>As Mayor Sly James delivered a predictable State of the City address at the Gem Theater Tuesday morning, Derron Black, 31, stormed the podium from backstage, pushed the mayor out of the way, and screamed obscenities into the microphone. Tue, 19 Mar 2013 18:57:46 +0000 Laura Ziegler 33731 at http://kcur.org KC State Of The City Speech Overshadowed By On-Stage Disruption 'My Life, My Town': Alaysha Jefferson http://kcur.org/post/my-life-my-town-alaysha-jefferson <p>More than a quarter of Missouri's population lives in rural areas. The series "<a href="http://www.mylifemytown.org/">My Life, My Town</a>" documents the lives of teenagers from small Missouri towns. These are the youth who make up the future of rural life -- IF they decide to stay. Tue, 19 Mar 2013 10:00:00 +0000 KBIA and Columbia Missourian 32920 at http://kcur.org 'My Life, My Town': Alaysha Jefferson Medicaid Expansion Foiled Again http://kcur.org/post/medicaid-expansion-foiled-again <p>It was not a good day for backers of Medicaid expansion, as the proposal suffered setbacks on both sides of the Missouri Capitol on Wednesday. Thu, 14 Mar 2013 14:47:17 +0000 Marshall Griffin 33468 at http://kcur.org Medicaid Expansion Foiled Again Tournament Play Starts For Area Teams http://kcur.org/post/tournament-play-starts-area-teams <p>Conference tournament basketball begins for the three area major schools today. Missouri plays in its first <a href="http://www.secdigitalnetwork.com/">Southeastern Conference</a> tournament game tonight in Nashville as the number-6 seed. &nbsp;In Kansas City at the <a href="http://www.big12sports.com/HomePage.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=10410&amp;KEY=">Big 12 tournament,</a> top-seeded Kansas plays this afternoon at 2, then K-State takes the&nbsp;floor tonight at 6. Thu, 14 Mar 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Greg Echlin 33423 at http://kcur.org Tournament Play Starts For Area Teams Abolishing Daylight Savings http://kcur.org/post/abolishing-daylight-savings <p>Saturday night, as our clocks sprung forward and we lost an hour of our day, one man in Missouri was hoping this would be the last Daylight Savings Time he went through. Representative <strong>Delus Johnson</strong> of St. Joseph, Mo. proposed a bill that would extend the Daylight Savings change all year long.</p><p> Tue, 12 Mar 2013 14:36:19 +0000 Brian Ellison, Matthew Long-Middleton & Claire McInerny 33339 at http://kcur.org Abolishing Daylight Savings Two Separate Mo. House Committees Reject Medicaid Expansion Efforts http://kcur.org/post/two-separate-mo-house-committees-reject-medicaid-expansion-efforts <p>Medicaid expansion is dead for now in the Missouri House.&nbsp; Two separate House committees voted down efforts on Monday to expand Medicaid to 259-thousand Missourians next year and 41,000 more in later years. Mon, 25 Feb 2013 22:56:20 +0000 Marshall Griffin 32553 at http://kcur.org Two Separate Mo. House Committees Reject Medicaid Expansion Efforts Proposed Higher Education Funding Formula Released Today http://kcur.org/post/proposed-higher-education-funding-formula-released-today <p>A joint House-Senate panel is recommending performance play a role in how much money Missouri’s colleges and universities get from the state each year.&nbsp; Mon, 04 Feb 2013 22:04:02 +0000 Marshall Griffin 31443 at http://kcur.org Nixon Delivers State Of The State http://kcur.org/post/nixon-delivers-state-state <p>Missouri Governor Jay Nixon pitched a nearly $26 billion budget to the state of Missouri during Monday’s State of the State Address.&nbsp; It includes spending increases for K-12 schools, higher education, and the proposed Medicaid expansion he’s been calling for since late November.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 29 Jan 2013 15:33:22 +0000 Marshall Griffin & Marshall 31097 at http://kcur.org Nixon Delivers State Of The State Report Suggests Missouri Missing Out On Internet Sales Tax Revenue http://kcur.org/post/report-suggests-missouri-missing-out-internet-sales-tax-revenue <p>It appears that Missouri has lost more than $2 billion in revenue over the past nine years because it does not collect sales taxes on purchases made over the Internet.&nbsp; Wed, 02 Jan 2013 22:24:22 +0000 Marshall Griffin 29857 at http://kcur.org Report Suggests Missouri Missing Out On Internet Sales Tax Revenue McCaskill Hopes For Compromise On 'Fiscal Cliff' http://kcur.org/post/mccaskill-hopes-compromise-fiscal-cliff <p>Missouri Senator Claire McCaskill, a Democrat, says that falling over the so-called fiscal cliff, the deep program cuts, and big tax increases set to hit January 1st wouldn’t be as dramatic as some people imagine. Mon, 31 Dec 2012 20:17:51 +0000 Frank Morris 29757 at http://kcur.org McCaskill Hopes For Compromise On 'Fiscal Cliff' Top Of The Morning News: December 20, 2012 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-december-20-2012 <p>The KC metro area experienced its first winter storm. Missouri Senators weighed in on legislation to curb gun violence. Kansas tied for last when it comes to public health preparedness. Those stories &amp; more from KCUR. Thu, 20 Dec 2012 12:30:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 29283 at http://kcur.org Top Of The Morning News: December 20, 2012 Rep. Cleaver On 'Plan B' And The Fiscal Cliff http://kcur.org/post/rep-cleaver-plan-b-and-fiscal-cliff <p>The U.S. House of Representatives is likely to vote Thursday on a proposal advanced by <a href="http://www.speaker.gov/">Speaker John Boehner</a> to avoid the "fiscal cliff."</p><p> Wed, 19 Dec 2012 22:55:53 +0000 Frank Morris 29290 at http://kcur.org Rep. Cleaver On 'Plan B' And The Fiscal Cliff Kansas Tied For Last In Health Emergency Preparedness http://kcur.org/post/kansas-ties-last-health-emergency-preparedness <p>A new report out this week finds that Kansas and Missouri are vulnerable in key areas when it comes to being prepared for a public health emergency, like a disease outbreak or natural disaster. Wed, 19 Dec 2012 22:20:01 +0000 Elana Gordon 29278 at http://kcur.org Kansas Tied For Last In Health Emergency Preparedness Missouri Senators Disagree About Gun Control http://kcur.org/post/missouri-senators-disagree-about-gun-control <p>After the tragedy in Connecticut,&nbsp;many are now looking to Congress and the President to enact legislation that will curb gun violence. But Missouri’s Senators don’t agree on what that response should be. Wed, 19 Dec 2012 22:14:49 +0000 Chris McDaniel 29288 at http://kcur.org Missouri Senators Disagree About Gun Control Unemployment In Missouri At Four-Year Low http://kcur.org/post/unemployment-missouri-four-year-low <p>Missouri’s unemployment rate is now at its lowest point in four years. </p> Tue, 18 Dec 2012 21:53:11 +0000 Marshall Griffin 29224 at http://kcur.org Unemployment In Missouri At Four-Year Low Blunt Says No To Gun Control, Blames Fed Health Programs http://kcur.org/post/blunt-says-no-gun-control-blames-fed-health-programs <p>U.S. Senator Roy Blunt says badly administered mental health programs should be fixed as a remedy, rather than blame guns, for violence like the Connecticut school killings. Mon, 17 Dec 2012 22:35:40 +0000 Dan Verbeck 29158 at http://kcur.org Blunt Says No To Gun Control, Blames Fed Health Programs Missouri Legislators Consider Higher Ed Overhaul http://kcur.org/post/missouri-legislators-consider-higher-ed-overhaul <p>A joint committee of Missouri House and Senate members is considering an overhaul of how the state’s colleges and universities are funded each year.&nbsp; Mon, 10 Dec 2012 22:56:07 +0000 Marshall Griffin 28811 at http://kcur.org Cigarette Tax Increase On The Table In Missouri http://kcur.org/post/cigarette-tax-increase-table-missouri <p>Despite being rejected by voters last month, there’s a new proposal to raise Missouri’s cigarette tax.</p><p> Fri, 07 Dec 2012 21:32:55 +0000 Marshall Griffin 28709 at http://kcur.org Cigarette Tax Increase On The Table In Missouri McCaskill On Winning The Election, Fiscal Cliff & Wartime Contracting http://kcur.org/post/mccaskill-winning-election-fiscal-cliff-wartime-contracting <p>When <strong>Sen. Claire McCaskill defeated Rep. Todd Akin</strong> a few weeks ago, everyone was surprised by the <strong>16-point margin</strong> of victory.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 20 Nov 2012 16:25:09 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 27878 at http://kcur.org McCaskill On Winning The Election, Fiscal Cliff & Wartime Contracting Trouble Brewing For King Of Beers http://kcur.org/post/trouble-brewing-king-beers <p>Once upon a time, <strong>Anheuser-Busch </strong>hopped on the throne as the<strong> king of beers</strong>. Then, <strong>the foam head started to collapse.</strong> Tue, 20 Nov 2012 15:32:21 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 27826 at http://kcur.org Trouble Brewing For King Of Beers Missouri Weighs In On Ballot Issues http://kcur.org/post/missouri-weighs-ballot-issues <p>Missouri voters considered four ballot measures this election.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 16:23:22 +0000 Maria Carter 27235 at http://kcur.org Missouri Weighs In On Ballot Issues Nixon Re-Elected, Defeats Spence http://kcur.org/post/nixon-re-elected-defeats-spence <p>In a state that went overwhelmingly for Mitt Romney, Democrat Jay Nixon was re-elected to a second term as governor of Missouri.&nbsp; Wed, 07 Nov 2012 14:55:11 +0000 Rachel Lippmann & Chris McDaniel 27228 at http://kcur.org Nixon Re-Elected, Defeats Spence Congressman Cleaver Stresses Urban-Rural Connection In Re-Election http://kcur.org/post/congressman-cleaver-stresses-urban-rural-connection-re-election <p>Missouri’s 5<sup>th</sup> District Congressman Emanuel Cleaver got 60 percent of the vote and an easy win over Republican opponent Jacob Turk.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 14:19:11 +0000 Dan Verbeck 27224 at http://kcur.org Congressman Cleaver Stresses Urban-Rural Connection In Re-Election The Political Pundits: 2012 Election Results http://kcur.org/post/political-pundits-2012-election-results <p>The votes are tallied; the results are in.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 07:19:03 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 27192 at http://kcur.org The Political Pundits: 2012 Election Results If You Haven't Voted Yet, Expect Lines http://kcur.org/post/if-you-havent-voted-yet-expect-lines <p>Voter turnout has been heavy in portions of Missouri Tuesday morning, according to the Secretary of State’s office.&nbsp; Tue, 06 Nov 2012 18:42:27 +0000 Marshall Griffin 27158 at http://kcur.org If You Haven't Voted Yet, Expect Lines Predicting Results In Missouri, Clay County As Bellwether http://kcur.org/post/predicting-results-missouri-clay-county-bellwether <p>It's Election Day, and the polls close at 7 p.m. in Kansas and in Missouri.</p><p> Tue, 06 Nov 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Steve Bell 27108 at http://kcur.org Predicting Results In Missouri, Clay County As Bellwether Libertarian VP Candidate Hopes For Five Percent http://kcur.org/post/libertarian-vp-candidate-hopes-five-percent <p>In Missouri the Libertarian Party has a full slate of candidates for statewide office.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 05 Nov 2012 15:59:12 +0000 Tim Lloyd 27070 at http://kcur.org Libertarian VP Candidate Hopes For Five Percent