snow http://kcur.org en The Coolest Things That Happened To You On A Kansas City Snow Day http://kcur.org/post/coolest-things-happened-you-kansas-city-snow-day <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Snow days in Kansas City mean sledding with the kids and game nights with friends.</span></p><p>But snow days also have brought once-in-a-lifetime experiences, like a first kiss or making a new set of friends on a stalled bus, according to feedback from our listeners this week.</p><p>Thousands of Kansas Citians found themselves at home this week during a snowstorm that dropped 10 or more inches across the metro area.</p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 22:04:21 +0000 Alyson Raletz 50901 at http://kcur.org The Coolest Things That Happened To You On A Kansas City Snow Day Encore Broadcast: The Children's Blizzard http://kcur.org/post/encore-broadcast-childrens-blizzard <p>January 12, 1888, began as an exceptionally warm winter day. Farmers were tending to their fields as boys and girls raced to school with no coats or gloves.&nbsp;</p><p>Mid-morning in the Dakotas and around afternoon dismissal in Nebraska, hurricane-force winds and torrential snow engulfed the plains. By midnight, wind-chills had plummeted to 40 below zero.</p><p>The next morning, up to 500 people lay dead on the prairie, many of them school children, who died while trying to find their way home.</p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 16:39:59 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 50818 at http://kcur.org Encore Broadcast: The Children's Blizzard No Business Like Snow Business http://kcur.org/post/no-business-snow-business <p>Forget the responsibilities a snow day brings for a moment and embrace your inner child.&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On Tuesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we want your suggestions for the best sledding hill in KC. Plus, we all grumble about shoveling snow, so what’s the best way to do it? We talk with an expert to get you some tips and <a href="http://thesweethome.com/reviews/best-snow-shovels/" target="_blank">recommend the best kind of shovel</a>.</span></p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 20:35:41 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 50752 at http://kcur.org No Business Like Snow Business The Top Sledding Hills In Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/top-sledding-hills-kansas-city <p>If you're itching to get out there today with your saucer or sled and cruise down some hills, we've got recommendations for the best sledding hill in the metro area.</p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 17:53:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff 50757 at http://kcur.org The Top Sledding Hills In Kansas City Tell KCUR: What's The Coolest Thing You've Ever Done On A Snow Day? http://kcur.org/post/tell-kcur-whats-coolest-thing-youve-ever-done-snow-day <p>Kansas Citians are pretty accustomed to snow days after the past 12 months.</p><p>A year ago, a winter storm clobbered Kansas City with 20.5 inches of snow.</p><p>The February snowfall, which <a href="http://www.crh.noaa.gov/eax/?n=kcwinterstats">made it into the record books at the National Weather Service</a>, &nbsp;preceded several other severe snow storms that hit Kansas City in 2013.</p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 12:23:32 +0000 Alyson Raletz 50719 at http://kcur.org Tell KCUR: What's The Coolest Thing You've Ever Done On A Snow Day? Heavy, Wet Snow Is Forecast For Kansas City Region Saturday Night Into Sunday http://kcur.org/post/heavy-wet-snow-forecast-kansas-city-region-saturday-night-sunday <p>At least four inches of springtime snow will punctuate the Kansas City area weekend. And eight inches of heavy snow will be common in some areas of the metro. Fri, 22 Mar 2013 22:05:15 +0000 Dan Verbeck 33937 at http://kcur.org Heavy, Wet Snow Is Forecast For Kansas City Region Saturday Night Into Sunday The Home: Roofs And Ice http://kcur.org/post/home-roofs-and-ice <p></p><p>With snow melting and refreezing now might be the time of year when your experiencing some of the more unpleasant and wet sides of home ownership.&nbsp; Donald Jonas joins us to help navigate what to do when we find leaks, and how to prevent them.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 05 Mar 2013 00:46:30 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton & Bill Anderson 32938 at http://kcur.org The Home: Roofs And Ice Preventing Roof Collapses http://kcur.org/post/preventing-roof-collapses <p>The heavy snow last week caused several roof collapses around the Kansas City area. And several more buildings were evacuated for fear of a collapse, including a <a href="http://www.kcur.org/post/roof-snow-pack-forces-macys-evacuation-close-overland-park" target="_blank">Macy’s in Overland Park</a>.&nbsp; KCUR’s Dan Verbeck sat down with Overland Park Code Administrator, Tim Ryan, to find out more about addressing and preventing roof collapses.</p><p> Mon, 04 Mar 2013 23:09:41 +0000 Dan Verbeck, Sylvia Maria Gross & Monica Sandreczki 32905 at http://kcur.org Power Outages Reduced From Kansas City Region Snow Storm http://kcur.org/post/power-outages-reduced-kansas-city-region-snow-storm <p>Kansas City area residents have fought their way out of a second major snowstorm in less than a week. Some areas got upwards of a foot of new snow. Wed, 27 Feb 2013 11:44:25 +0000 Dan Verbeck 32627 at http://kcur.org Power Outages Reduced From Kansas City Region Snow Storm Snow Falls... Again http://kcur.org/post/snow-falls-again <p>Central Standard brings a live update from those working on the front lines of the second major snow storm to hit the mid-west in under a week.&nbsp; Guests include <strong>Andy Bailey</strong> from the&nbsp; National Weather Service, <strong>Steve Porter </strong>from the Missouri Department of Transportation, <strong>Sean Demory</strong> from the Public Works Department of Kansas City Missouri and <strong>Captain Steve Young</strong> of the KCPD.<br>&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 27 Feb 2013 00:00:01 +0000 Bill Anderson & Matthew Long-Middleton 32656 at http://kcur.org Snow Falls... Again Power Loss Plagues Parts Of KC Region After 13-Inch Snowfall http://kcur.org/post/power-loss-plagues-parts-kc-region-after-13-inch-snowfall <p>This snowstorm brought the added burden of power outages, so wet and heavy it tore down trees and lines. There was a heavier snow on the south side of the metro. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 22:55:13 +0000 Dan Verbeck 32612 at http://kcur.org Power Loss Plagues Parts Of KC Region After 13-Inch Snowfall Snow Update: Power Still Out For Many http://kcur.org/post/snow-update-power-still-out-many <p>"Snowpocalypse 2" brought upwards of a foot of snow to some parts of the Kansas City metropolitan area. The storm shut down schools and businesses, and knocked out power to tens of thousands of residents. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 21:46:36 +0000 Elana Gordon, Sylvia Maria Gross, Dan Verbeck & Laura Spencer 32604 at http://kcur.org Snow Update: Power Still Out For Many Downed Limbs Pose Dangers http://kcur.org/post/downed-limbs-pose-dangers <p>The recent run of severe weather has resulted in extensive power outages and downed power lines throughout Kansas City, Mo. Tens of thousands throughout the metro are without power.</p><p>Because of the higher temps this storm (~ 33 degrees), the snow is very moist and heavy, resulting in accumulation on trees and power lines. This accumulation is causing trees and power lines to sag and is a greater risk of downed power lines.</p><p>KCP&amp;L has called in additional personnel and are progressing through restoration.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 15:26:23 +0000 Maria Carter 32580 at http://kcur.org Downed Limbs Pose Dangers Elections Still On: Hours Extended, Polling Places Changed http://kcur.org/post/elections-still-hours-extended-polling-places-changed <p><strong>Update Tuesday, 7:30 a.m. </strong>Due to the weather, polling places have been consolidated in both Wyandotte and Johnson Counties. Find polling places for <a href="http://www.wycokck.org/uploadedFiles/Departments/Election_Office/Election_-_Documents/WyCo_Primary_Election-Update_2013.pdf" target="_blank">Wyandotte&nbsp;County here</a> and <a href="http://www.jocoelection.org/" target="_blank">Johnson County here</a>.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 13:56:42 +0000 Emilie Mutert & Sylvia Maria Gross 32531 at http://kcur.org Elections Still On: Hours Extended, Polling Places Changed More Snow, Whiteout Conditions Expected Monday Night http://kcur.org/post/more-snow-whiteout-conditions-expected-monday-night <p>Some areas were reporting light snow and ice in the early hours of Monday evening. The storm is expected to continue through Tuesday afternoon.</p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 04:51:30 +0000 Emilie Mutert 32483 at http://kcur.org More Snow, Whiteout Conditions Expected Monday Night Snow Affects Elections, Area Recreation http://kcur.org/post/snow-affects-elections-area-recreation <p>Whether you're <strong>lining up to vote</strong> or <strong>hitting the slopes</strong>, the <strong>snow will affect your day</strong> Tuesday.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 32538 at http://kcur.org Snow Affects Elections, Area Recreation Record Snow And More Possibly On The Way http://kcur.org/post/record-snow-and-more-possibly-way <p>This snowstorm was a record-breaker, dumping the most snow Kansas City has ever seen on a February 21<sup>st</sup>.&nbsp; Kansas City got 9.2 inches at KCI, but some towns in the area saw even more snow than that.</p><p>Belton and Leawood both got 11.5 inches; Roeland Park totaled 12 inches, and Overland Park received the most, some 13 and a half inches.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 22 Feb 2013 15:56:44 +0000 Dan Verbeck 32393 at http://kcur.org Record Snow And More Possibly On The Way Snow Snarls Traffic, More Snow Expected http://kcur.org/post/snow-snarls-traffic-more-snow-expected <p>It was a bad day to try to get around in Kansas City. <a href="http://www.flykci.com/">KCI</a> essentially closed at mid-morning with about 300 flights cancelled. Although flights are expected to resume later tonight, more cancellations are all but certain tomorrow morning. Driving was terrible, too. Fri, 22 Feb 2013 00:56:26 +0000 Frank Morris & Dan Verbeck 32375 at http://kcur.org Snow Snarls Traffic, More Snow Expected Snow Day: A Reporter's Notebook http://kcur.org/post/snow-day-reporters-notebook <p>A day of municipal mayhem is winding to a close.</p><p>The <em>Kansas City Star</em>’s <a href="http://www.kansascity.com/2013/02/21/4078837/snow-total-could-end-up-being.html" target="_blank">Eric Adler writes</a> that the whiteout of February 21, 2013 is a “100-year storm,” according to the record books.&nbsp;</p><p>Many officials and citizens would probably agree.</p><p>The morning started with a snow dump. Some areas got several inches in several hours, according to the National Weather Service.</p> Fri, 22 Feb 2013 00:28:20 +0000 Laura Ziegler 32372 at http://kcur.org Snow Day: A Reporter's Notebook Snow Day! An Update From Kansas City Officials http://kcur.org/post/snow-day-update-kansas-city-officials <p>You know it's bad when the host of <em>Up to Date</em> needs a push into the parking lot at KCUR.</p><p> Thu, 21 Feb 2013 19:41:05 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 32354 at http://kcur.org Snow Day! An Update From Kansas City Officials Balmy Turns Brutal In Kansas City Weather http://kcur.org/post/balmy-turns-brutal-kansas-city-weather <p>Kansas City began Tuesday with a temperature of 68 degrees.&nbsp; Most indicators point to overnight snow in the Kansas City region. Tue, 29 Jan 2013 23:07:21 +0000 Dan Verbeck 31141 at http://kcur.org Balmy Turns Brutal In Kansas City Weather Gusting Winds Cause Difficulties For Drivers http://kcur.org/post/gusting-winds-cause-difficulties-drivers <p>Wind speed was one of the chief concerns Thursday morning as the first real snow of the season pummeled parts of the region. Thu, 20 Dec 2012 15:35:09 +0000 Dan Verbeck 29317 at http://kcur.org Gusting Winds Cause Difficulties For Drivers KCMO Snow Plow Crews At The Ready http://kcur.org/post/kcmo-snow-plow-crews-ready <p>The Kansas City metropolitan area started gearing up yesterday for the season's first winter storm. One to three inches of snow was forecast for the area overnight.</p><p> Thu, 20 Dec 2012 15:25:29 +0000 Laura Spencer 29316 at http://kcur.org KCMO Snow Plow Crews At The Ready School Closings, Road Info: The First Winter Storm Of The Season http://kcur.org/post/school-closings-road-info-first-winter-storm-season <p>The Kansas City metro area experienced its first winter storm overnight Wednesday. Strong winds contributed to whiteout conditions for the morning rush hour. Dozens of <strong><a href="http://www.kmbc.com/weather/closings/-/11665728/-/format/rsss_2.0/-/d7n91l/-/index.html">schools are closed Thursday</a></strong> including Blue Valley, Kansas City, Kan., Kansas City Public Schools, Lawrence, and Shawnee Mission.</p><p> Wed, 19 Dec 2012 17:40:51 +0000 Emilie Mutert & Laura Spencer 29215 at http://kcur.org School Closings, Road Info: The First Winter Storm Of The Season KC Parks Warn Of Fallout From Budget Cuts http://kcur.org/post/kc-parks-warn-fallout-budget-cuts <p>A storm warning has been sent to Kansas City by a city department that performs much of the snow plowing during and after major winter storms. Thu, 23 Feb 2012 23:07:58 +0000 Dan Verbeck 13070 at http://kcur.org KC Parks Warn Of Fallout From Budget Cuts Local Businesses Try "Snow Day Marketing" http://kcur.org/post/local-businesses-try-snow-day-marketing <p class="legacy-audio-url"> <div class="audio-container"> <div id="jp-interface-53d630eaca485-" class="jp-interface"> <div id="post-audio-53d630eaca485-" class="jp-player" jp-instance="53d630eaca485-"></div> <div class="jp-controls column"> <div class="jp-progress"> <div class="jp-seek-bar"> <div class="jp-play-bar"></div> </div> </div><!-- end jp-progress --> </div><!-- end jp-controls --> <div class="playpause column"> <a href="http://stream.publicbroadcasting.net/production/mp3/kcur/local-kcur-947494.mp3" class="jp-play">Listen</a> <a class="jp-pause"></a> </div><!-- playpause --> <div class="jp-time-holder column"> <div class="jp-custom-current-time"></div> <div class="jp-custom-duration"></div> </div><!-- jp-time-holder --> <div id="slider"></div> </div><!-- .jp-interface --> </div><!-- container --> </p> <p>KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Some local businesses and organizations are trying to benefit from the inclement weather.</p> Mon, 24 Jan 2011 20:53:22 +0000 Sylvia Maria Gross 7489 at http://kcur.org Local Businesses Try "Snow Day Marketing" Restaurants Try "Snow Day" Deals http://kcur.org/post/restaurants-try-snow-day-deals <p class="legacy-audio-url"> <div class="audio-container"> <div id="jp-interface-53d661a2e8303-" class="jp-interface"> <div id="post-audio-53d661a2e8303-" class="jp-player" jp-instance="53d661a2e8303-"></div> <div class="jp-controls column"> <div class="jp-progress"> <div class="jp-seek-bar"> <div class="jp-play-bar"></div> </div> </div><!-- end jp-progress --> </div><!-- end jp-controls --> <div class="playpause column"> <a href="http://stream.publicbroadcasting.net/production/mp3/kcur/local-kcur-946896.mp3" class="jp-play">Listen</a> <a class="jp-pause"></a> </div><!-- playpause --> <div class="jp-time-holder column"> <div class="jp-custom-current-time"></div> <div class="jp-custom-duration"></div> </div><!-- jp-time-holder --> <div id="slider"></div> </div><!-- .jp-interface --> </div><!-- container --> </p> <p>KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Snow days can either be a bane or a boon to business. Some local restaurants tried to drum up customers today by offering special "snow day" deals.</p> Thu, 20 Jan 2011 23:30:02 +0000 Sylvia Maria Gross 7479 at http://kcur.org Restaurants Try "Snow Day" Deals