environment http://kcur.org en Mending Environmental Wounds In The Ozarks http://kcur.org/post/mending-environmental-wounds-ozarks <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Lake of the Ozarks has been one of Missouri’s top vacation spots for decades, but now, it’s a lake in danger of being “loved to death.” Today, the lake faces pressures from unregulated development, inadequate sewage management and a poor water quality image.</span></p><p>On Wednesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we talk with a journalist about how the Lake has gotten to this point and who is trying to reverse the decline to protect it for future generations.</p><p><strong>Guest:</strong></p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 15:03:17 +0000 Steve Kraske, Beth Lipoff & Scott Ross 57513 at http://kcur.org Mending Environmental Wounds In The Ozarks The Impact Of EPA's Emissions Standards On Missouri And Kansas http://kcur.org/post/impact-epas-emissions-standards-missouri-and-kansas <p></p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 20:22:45 +0000 Steve Kraske & Danie Alexander 56898 at http://kcur.org The Impact Of EPA's Emissions Standards On Missouri And Kansas Covering Climate Change As Heat Turns Up http://kcur.org/post/covering-climate-change-heat-turns <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">When you write about climate change, you have to be able to take the heat from all sides— those who deny what scientists are saying and those who think you’re giving too many concessions to that group.&nbsp;</span></p><p>On&nbsp;<a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we speak with a&nbsp;<em>New York Times </em>reporter&nbsp;about his coverage of the environment.</p><p><strong>Guest:</strong></p><ul><li><strong>Justin Gillis</strong>, <em>New York Times</em> reporter</li></ul> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 18:34:59 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 46772 at http://kcur.org Covering Climate Change As Heat Turns Up New Clean Water Rules Protect More Streams And Lakes In Missouri http://kcur.org/post/new-clean-water-rules-protect-more-streams-and-lakes-missouri <p>The&nbsp;Missouri Clean Water Commission has approved a sweeping regulatory overhaul of the state's water quality standards.</p><p>In a vote held Wednesday, the governor-appointed seven-person panel unanimously approved&nbsp;<a href="http://www.dnr.mo.gov/env/wpp/rules/wpp-rule-dev.htm">revised regulations</a>&nbsp;that greatly expand the number of protected water bodies in the state. An additional 2,100 lakes and 90,000 miles of rivers and streams will gain protection under the law, including specific limits on bacteria and other pollutants.</p> Thu, 07 Nov 2013 14:24:36 +0000 Véronique LaCapra & Marshall Griffin 46459 at http://kcur.org New Clean Water Rules Protect More Streams And Lakes In Missouri Nature In The City: Autumn Is Here http://kcur.org/post/nature-city-autumn-here <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">It&#39;s starting to actually feel&nbsp;like fall. Daylight is slipping away sooner, mornings are brisk and nights are chilly. As the temperature starts to cool, leaves start to slowly change to those beautiful warm colors of yellow, orange and red and will soon fall to the ground. Critters scamper about preparing for who knows what kind of winter.&nbsp;From bird migrations, strange insects, frog populations and more, autumn is certainly making her place in Kansas City.&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 14 Oct 2013 22:33:39 +0000 Suzanne Hogan, Matthew Long-Middleton & Sydney Llewellyn 45184 at http://kcur.org Nature In The City: Autumn Is Here Saving The Environment With Policy And Protest http://kcur.org/post/saving-environment-policy-and-protest <p></p><p>If commitment was all it took to reverse global warming and stop pollution of of land, air and water, then <strong>Robert F. Kennedy, Jr</strong>. and <strong>Bill McKibben</strong> would be considered environmental superheroes.</p><p></p> Sun, 22 Sep 2013 15:07:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Danie Alexander 43969 at http://kcur.org Saving The Environment With Policy And Protest City Lights Vs. The Night Sky http://kcur.org/post/city-lights-vs-night-sky <p>Ever look up in the sky and wondered why you can’t always see the stars?</p><p> Mon, 22 Jul 2013 15:36:47 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Randy Mason 40622 at http://kcur.org City Lights Vs. The Night Sky Oil And America's Foreign Relations http://kcur.org/post/oil-and-americas-foreign-relations <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span>America has had a long and complicated history with foreign oil, with a specific impact on our political relationships abroad.</p><p></p><p>Tuesday on&nbsp;<em>Up To Date</em>, we're&nbsp;joined by <strong>Jay Hakes</strong> to discuss the role that oil has played in our foreign relations.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">He’s an energy analyst and director of the Carter Presidential Library and Museum and the author of a book about what freedom from foreign oil can do for our country.&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 15 Jul 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Sangeeta Shastry 40248 at http://kcur.org Oil And America's Foreign Relations Iola Site Among Nine Added To Superfund List http://kcur.org/post/iola-site-among-nine-added-superfund-list <p>The Superfund National Priorities List now includes nine new sites-one of them where a smelter used to operate on the east side of Iola.</p><p>The EPA says the soil on hundreds of residential and commercial properties in and around Iola is contaminated with lead, arsenic, cadmium and zinc. EPA Region 7 spokeswoman Dianna Whitaker says the biggest concern is lead.</p><p>“Children can get into that lead—especially young children," she says. "They put their hands in their mouths, and then they can be exposed and absorb lead, and lead is very dangerous for young children."</p> Wed, 22 May 2013 13:13:37 +0000 Bryan Thompson 37166 at http://kcur.org New Houses Shrinking By Request http://kcur.org/post/new-houses-shrinking-request <p>As the economy drags, <strong>the size of homes is diminishing</strong>… and it’s <strong>by consumer demand</strong>. Tue, 19 Mar 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Suzanne Hogan 33718 at http://kcur.org New Houses Shrinking By Request Fixing The Food Waste Problem http://kcur.org/post/fixing-food-waste-problem <p>Your mother said the leftovers you threw out in your house could <strong>feed a small country</strong>… but was she really close to the truth? Tue, 05 Mar 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 32896 at http://kcur.org Fixing The Food Waste Problem Green Technology: Helpful Or Hurtful? http://kcur.org/post/green-technology-helpful-or-hurtful <p>Will the latest hybrid car or light bulb really <strong>make a difference when it comes to climate change</strong>?</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 22:03:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 27243 at http://kcur.org Green Technology: Helpful Or Hurtful? Building A Sustainable Community http://kcur.org/post/building-sustainable-community <p>It's a lesson in energy conservation and resource sustainability for anyone and everyone.</p><p>First up on Wednesday’s <em><a href="http://kcur.org/programs/central-standard" target="_blank">Central Standard</a>,</em> we'll discuss some local efforts to help the environment. Plus, hear some tips and tricks for incorporating green habits into our daily lives. Wed, 10 Oct 2012 14:12:20 +0000 Tomeka Weatherspoon & Jabulani Leffall 25737 at http://kcur.org Building A Sustainable Community It's Official: UMKC Is 'Cool School' http://kcur.org/post/its-official-umkc-cool-school <p>As thousands of students make their way through an academic day at the University of Missouri - Kansas City, a dedicated group steadfastly works to make environmental improvements to the campus.&nbsp; Wed, 29 Aug 2012 01:36:02 +0000 Brian Ellison & Danie Alexander 23610 at http://kcur.org It's Official: UMKC Is 'Cool School' Nature In The City: Drought Edition http://kcur.org/post/nature-city-drought-edition <p>This summer's drought is affecting everyone: from farmers to daily commuters to animals. Especially animals.</p> <p>On this Wednesday's Central Standard, it's another edition of Nature in the City with Larry Rizzo, natural history biologist, and Joe Werner, biologist and urban ecologist.</p> Tue, 31 Jul 2012 18:32:06 +0000 Tomeka Weatherspoon, Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 21938 at http://kcur.org Nature In The City: Drought Edition Endangered Beetles Hit the Dirt http://kcur.org/post/endangered-beetles-hit-dirt <p>For the first time ever, an endangered species has been released back into Missouri prairies. The American Burying Beetle may be back on its way to thriving, though in this beetle&#39;s world, thriving means living underground and feasting on meatballs.&nbsp;<span style="font-size:10.0pt;font-family:&quot;Arial&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;"> </span></p><p> Wed, 27 Jun 2012 19:26:59 +0000 Charlie Upchurch 20105 at http://kcur.org Endangered Beetles Hit the Dirt Nature in the City: Summer Birds, Hiking http://kcur.org/post/nature-city-summer-birds-hiking <p>In Kansas City, we humans have adapted to our hot summer days with central air, <a href="http://www.tivolikc.com/" target="_blank">trips to the movies </a>and <a href="http://thejoneskc.com/" target="_blank">Jones Pool</a>... but how do wild animals do it?</p><p> Wed, 06 Jun 2012 18:58:18 +0000 Charlie Upchurch, Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 18939 at http://kcur.org Nature in the City: Summer Birds, Hiking Nature in the City: Songbirds, Spring Peepers & Wildflowers http://kcur.org/post/nature-city-songbirds-spring-peepers-wildflowers <p>On this Thursday&#39;s <a href="http://kcur.org/program/centralstandard"><em><strong>Central Standard</strong></em></a>, we take a look at <a href="http://kcur.org/topic/nature-city"><strong>Nature in the City</strong></a> in it&#39;s most colorful season.</p><p> Thu, 22 Mar 2012 18:08:09 +0000 Charlie Upchurch, Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 14591 at http://kcur.org Nature in the City: Songbirds, Spring Peepers & Wildflowers Alternative Energy Sources http://kcur.org/post/alternative-energy-sources <p>In his State of the Union speech, President Obama said &quot;nowhere is the promise of innovation greater than in American-made energy.&quot; But how close are we to large-scale use of alternative energy sources?&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 07 Feb 2012 15:57:08 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 12077 at http://kcur.org Alternative Energy Sources 2012: A Clean Environment? http://kcur.org/post/2012-clean-environment <p>Perhaps your <strong>New Years&#39; resolutions</strong> include weight loss, more exercise, and being more organized.&nbsp; Do they happen to include &quot;reduce, reuse, and recycle?&quot;&nbsp; How about &quot;I will drive less&quot; or &quot;I vow to take public transportation more often?&quot; Tue, 03 Jan 2012 22:39:38 +0000 Brian Ellison, Stephen Steigman & Danie Alexander 10128 at http://kcur.org 2012: A Clean Environment? Road Builders Accused of Polluting http://kcur.org/post/road-builders-accused-polluting <p>Kansas City, KS – The Environmental Protection Agency accuses MoDOT of failing to protect streams along two highway construction jobs. Inspectors allegedly found sediment was allowed to seep into a half dozen creeks and unnamed tributaries in Camden and Wayne Counties in central Missouri.</p> Thu, 02 Sep 2010 22:58:16 +0000 Dan Verbeck 7027 at http://kcur.org