Cyprus Avenue http://kcur.org en The Beatles' 12 Greatest Hits http://kcur.org/post/beatles-12-greatest-hits <p></p><p>Last week’s Grammy Awards featured a reunion of Sir Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr.&nbsp; The former Beatles received a lifetime achievement award …and&nbsp; on this edition of Cyprus Avenue an encore of the Beatles’ 12 greatest hits.&nbsp;</p><p><strong>Playlist</strong>:</p> Sat, 01 Feb 2014 19:00:00 +0000 Ron Jones 50511 at http://kcur.org The Beatles' 12 Greatest Hits Ballads by Rockers, Vol. 2 (35th Anniversary Edition) http://kcur.org/post/ballads-rockers-vol-2-35th-anniversary-edition <p>As we get closer to the 35th Anniversary of Cyprus Avenue, we revisit the first-ever musical concept featured on the show: &nbsp;<strong>Ballads by Rockers</strong>.</p><p> Sun, 11 Aug 2013 01:18:29 +0000 Laurie Arbore 41761 at http://kcur.org Ballads by Rockers, Vol. 2 (35th Anniversary Edition) Marty Stuart, Redux: Encore http://kcur.org/post/marty-stuart-redux-encore <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">On July&nbsp;19, Cyprus Avenue brings Marty Stuart back in concert for&nbsp;</span><strong><em style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;">Cyprus Avenue Live&nbsp;</em></strong><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">at The Folly Theater. &nbsp;This week on the program, an encore presentation of our spotlight on Marty and his extremely multi-faceted music.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Sun, 14 Jul 2013 01:00:00 +0000 Laurie Arbore 39811 at http://kcur.org Marty Stuart, Redux: Encore Jimmy and Bob http://kcur.org/post/jimmy-and-bob <p>This week on Cyprus Avenue… It’s a celebration of reggae, as we explore newly-released music of <strong>Jimmy Cliff</strong> and the late <strong>Bob Marley</strong>.&nbsp;</p><p> Sun, 07 Jul 2013 01:00:00 +0000 Laurie Arbore 39447 at http://kcur.org Jimmy and Bob Rhythm to the Rhythms, Vol. III: 2003-2004 http://kcur.org/post/rhythm-rhythms-vol-iii-2003-2004 <p>As Cyprus Avenue gets closer to its 35th anniversary, we continue our "Rhythm to the Rhythms" series -- this time looking back at some noteworthy music featured on the show in 2003 and 2004.</p><p> Sun, 30 Jun 2013 01:12:04 +0000 Laurie Arbore 39360 at http://kcur.org Rhythm to the Rhythms, Vol. III: 2003-2004 Marty Stuart -- Redux http://kcur.org/post/marty-stuart-redux <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">On July&nbsp;19, Cyprus Avenue will feature Marty Stuart at The Folly Theater in&nbsp;</span><em style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;">Cyprus Avenue Live. &nbsp;</em><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">This week on the program, we feature examples of his multi-faceted music.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Sun, 23 Jun 2013 01:39:54 +0000 Laurie Arbore 38985 at http://kcur.org Marty Stuart -- Redux The Soul of Rock and Roll: Roy Orbison, Part 2 http://kcur.org/post/soul-rock-and-roll-roy-orbison-part-2 <p>This week on Cyprus Avenue, the second part of our celebration of Roy Orbison's&nbsp;iconic music career.</p><p> Mon, 17 Jun 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Laurie Arbore 38624 at http://kcur.org The Soul of Rock and Roll: Roy Orbison, Part 2 John Fogerty: Wrote A Song For Everyone http://kcur.org/post/john-fogerty-wrote-song-everyone <p>An exploration of John Fogerty's new album, <em>Wrote A Song For Everyone,</em> which features rearranged classics, new music and a who's-who of guest artists.</p><p> Mon, 10 Jun 2013 04:59:55 +0000 Laurie Arbore 38224 at http://kcur.org John Fogerty: Wrote A Song For Everyone Richard Thompson At The Folly http://kcur.org/post/richard-thompson-folly-0 <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">On June 6, Cyprus Avenue will feature Richard Thompson at The Folly Theater in&nbsp;</span><em style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;">Cyprus Avenue Live. &nbsp;</em><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">This week on the program, we look at Thompson's storied recording career. &nbsp;(This edition of Cyprus Avenue aired on June 1, 2013.)</span></p><p> Thu, 06 Jun 2013 15:31:00 +0000 Laurie Arbore 38012 at http://kcur.org Richard Thompson At The Folly The Soul of Rock and Roll: Roy Orbison http://kcur.org/post/soul-rock-and-roll-roy-orbison <p>A journey through just some of the music from icon Roy Orbison's vast recording career. &nbsp;(This edition of Cyprus&nbsp;Avenue aired on May 25, 2013.)</p><p> Thu, 06 Jun 2013 15:28:00 +0000 Laurie Arbore 38011 at http://kcur.org The Soul of Rock and Roll: Roy Orbison Here Come The Women http://kcur.org/post/here-come-women <p>A celebration of great music from some amazing women on the scene. (This edition of Cyprus Avenue aired on May 18, 2013.)</p><p> Thu, 06 Jun 2013 15:25:00 +0000 Laurie Arbore 38010 at http://kcur.org Here Come The Women How Many Roads: Black America Sings Dylan http://kcur.org/post/how-many-roads-black-america-sings-dylan <p>Soul and R&amp;B interpretations of classic Bob Dylan songs this week on Cyprus Avenue. Sun, 12 May 2013 18:15:11 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 36606 at http://kcur.org How Many Roads: Black America Sings Dylan Willie, Jake, & Steve http://kcur.org/post/willie-jake-steve <p>New music from Willie Nelson, Steve Earle, and Jake Bugg this week on Cyprus Avenue. Sat, 04 May 2013 18:50:08 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 36203 at http://kcur.org Willie, Jake, & Steve Richard Thompson @ The Folly http://kcur.org/post/richard-thompson-folly <p>On June 6 Cypress Avenue will feature Richard Thompson at the Folly Theater in <em>Cypress Avenue Live.&nbsp;</em>This week on program, we look at Thompson's storied recording career. Sun, 28 Apr 2013 21:24:23 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 35847 at http://kcur.org Richard Thompson @ The Folly Atlantic Records: 1959-1975 http://kcur.org/post/atlantic-records-1959-1975 <p>A look at the legacy of Atlantic Records, and the lesser-known artists the studio produced, this week on Cyprus Avenue. Sat, 13 Apr 2013 18:15:36 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 35047 at http://kcur.org Atlantic Records: 1959-1975 Rhythm To The Rhythms 2001-2002 http://kcur.org/post/rhythm-rhythms-2001-2002 <p>The second installment in a series looking back at the arc of popular music since the year 2000. Fri, 12 Apr 2013 20:31:41 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 34962 at http://kcur.org Rhythm To The Rhythms 2001-2002 Jimi Hendrix: People, Hell, & Angels http://kcur.org/post/jimi-hendrix-people-hell-angels <p>A look at new and previously unreleased material Hendrix produced before his untimely death. Sun, 24 Mar 2013 19:54:02 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 33977 at http://kcur.org Jimi Hendrix: People, Hell, & Angels Boz Scaggs: Memphis http://kcur.org/post/boz-scaggs-memphis <p>New and classic music from Boz this week on Cyprus Avenue. Sat, 16 Mar 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 33980 at http://kcur.org Boz Scaggs: Memphis Rhythm To The Rhythms 2000 http://kcur.org/post/rhythm-rhythms-2000 <p>A new series focusing on the arc of popular music since the year 2000. Sun, 10 Mar 2013 21:29:53 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 33215 at http://kcur.org Rhythm To The Rhythms 2000 Survey http://kcur.org/post/survey-1 <p>New music from Terry Allen, Tom Jans, and duo Buddy Miller &amp; Jim Lauderdale. Sat, 02 Mar 2013 22:46:57 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 32857 at http://kcur.org Survey Aaron Neville: My True Story http://kcur.org/post/aaron-neville-my-true-story <p>This week on Cyprus Avenue, an exploration of Aaron Neville's new release <em>My True Story</em> - an album of early rock 'n roll and doo-wop covers. Sun, 24 Feb 2013 19:32:55 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 32484 at http://kcur.org Aaron Neville: My True Story Townes Van Zandt: Sunshine Boy http://kcur.org/post/townes-van-zandt-sunshine-boy <p>An exploration of the new release <em>Sunshine Boy</em>, which contains unreleased and demo tracks from the height of Townes Van Zandt's recording career. Sun, 17 Feb 2013 21:55:34 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 32121 at http://kcur.org Townes Van Zandt: Sunshine Boy New Blues http://kcur.org/post/new-blues <p>Traditional blues music has influenced generations of musicians, but is it still alive in this modern era?&nbsp; On this week's Cyprus Avenue, we explore new releases from Ben Harper/Charlie Musselwhite and Gary Clark Jr. that keep the blues tradition going strong. Sun, 10 Feb 2013 21:10:04 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 31747 at http://kcur.org New Blues Survey http://kcur.org/post/survey-0 <p>A survey of Bill Shapiro's favorite new releases. Sun, 03 Feb 2013 19:00:00 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 31381 at http://kcur.org Survey The Beatles: Their 12 Greatest Songs http://kcur.org/post/beatles-their-12-greatest-songs <p><a href="http://www.rollingstone.com/music/lists/100-greatest-beatles-songs-20110919" target="_blank"><em>Rolling Stone</em></a> has compiled a list of The Beatles' 100 greatest songs.&nbsp;</p><p> Sat, 19 Jan 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 30506 at http://kcur.org The Beatles: Their 12 Greatest Songs Dan Penn: The Sound Of Muscle Shoals http://kcur.org/post/dan-penn-sound-muscle-shoals <p>This week on Cyprus Avenue, a look at the career of a man who was once described as the "secret hero" of 1960's R&amp;B music. Sat, 12 Jan 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 30283 at http://kcur.org Dan Penn: The Sound Of Muscle Shoals 2012: The Year They All Came Back http://kcur.org/post/2012-year-they-all-came-back <p>The year 2012 brought new releases by some of the biggest names in popular music.&nbsp; Bill Shapiro shares some highlights. Fri, 11 Jan 2013 18:18:08 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 30066 at http://kcur.org 2012: The Year They All Came Back Annual New Years Concert http://kcur.org/post/annual-new-years-concert <p>Bill Shapiro brings you the annual end-of-the-year "ultimate concert experience." Mon, 31 Dec 2012 21:02:01 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 29554 at http://kcur.org Annual New Years Concert Annual Holiday Show http://kcur.org/post/annual-holiday-show <p>It's that time of year again. Sun, 23 Dec 2012 20:17:59 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 29442 at http://kcur.org Annual Holiday Show Art Garfunkel: The Singer http://kcur.org/post/art-garfunkel-singer <p>This week on Cyprus Avenue, a retrospective look at the solo and collaborative work of Art Garfunkel.&nbsp; Sat, 01 Dec 2012 23:37:51 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 28925 at http://kcur.org Art Garfunkel: The Singer