Republicans http://kcur.org en The History of Recent Political Conventions http://kcur.org/post/history-recent-political-conventions <p>Kansas City is getting the once-over this week from members of the Republican National Committee, who are in town to see whether we have what it takes to host the party’s 2016 national convention.</p><p>The last convention here came in 1976, and it was a hummer: A candidate named Ronald Reagan was taking on the incumbent president, Gerald Ford, and the battle went down to convention week.</p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 21:59:22 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton 56966 at http://kcur.org The History of Recent Political Conventions Moderate Kansas Republicans Suffer Identity Crisis http://kcur.org/post/moderate-kansas-republicans-suffer-identity-crisis <p>Some might say the big news in Johnson County elections happened during the primaries, when conservative Republicans beat moderates in four out of five races for state Senate.</p><p> Mon, 05 Nov 2012 20:26:01 +0000 Laura Ziegler 27096 at http://kcur.org Moderate Kansas Republicans Suffer Identity Crisis Obama: GOP Budget 'Makes Contract With America Look Like The New Deal' http://kcur.org/post/obama-gop-budget-makes-contract-america-look-new-deal Renewing his push against "trickle-down economics" that he says has failed the nation in the past, President Obama just said the <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2012/03/29/149632898/house-passes-2013-budget-that-includes-private-option-for-medicare" target="_blank">Republican budget plan passed by the House last week</a> is so conservative and so focused on cutting taxes for the rich that it makes the GOP's mid-1990s Contract With America "look like the New Deal."<p>You would think, the president also told news editors holding a conference in Washington, D.C., that Republicans wou Tue, 03 Apr 2012 17:07:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 15349 at http://kcur.org Missouri Caucuses Muddy The Waters http://kcur.org/post/missouri-caucuses-muddy-waters <p style="margin-left: 1in;">The path Missouri Republicans have taken in choosing a presidential nominee has been as twisty as an Ozark mountain road. The caucus phase starts in the Ozark foothills of southwest Missouri. Fri, 16 Mar 2012 15:23:54 +0000 Frank Morris 14327 at http://kcur.org Missouri Caucuses Muddy The Waters 'Fascist Slide' For US: Ron Paul In KC http://kcur.org/post/fascist-slide-us-ron-paul-kc <p>Republican Presidential candidate Ron Paul told a Kansas City audience of some 1500, the nation is sliding into what he called a &ldquo;fascist system.&rdquo;</p><p> Sun, 19 Feb 2012 06:40:03 +0000 Dan Verbeck 12787 at http://kcur.org 'Fascist Slide' For US: Ron Paul In KC Preview: Missouri Legislative Session http://kcur.org/post/preview-missouri-legislative-session <p>Missouri lawmakers return to Jefferson City on Wednesday for the start of this year&rsquo;s legislative session. 2011 was marked by House and Senate Republicans fighting with each other over tax credits and redistricting, while still managing to take pot shots at Democratic Governor Jay Nixon&rsquo;s handling of the state budget.</p> Tue, 03 Jan 2012 21:26:59 +0000 Marshall Griffin 10120 at http://kcur.org Political Pundits: Predictions About The Republican Presidential Pack http://kcur.org/post/political-pundits-predictions-about-republican-presidential-pack <p>The weather may be frosty, but the <b>search for a Republican presidential nominee</b> is anything but.&nbsp; We&#39;re only weeks away from the Iowa caucuses, yet<b> no one person</b> is leading the pack.<br /> Fri, 09 Dec 2011 00:05:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Stephen Steigman 8635 at http://kcur.org Political Pundits: Predictions About The Republican Presidential Pack Blunt beats Purgason, prepares to battle Carnahan http://kcur.org/post/blunt-beats-purgason-prepares-battle-carnahan <p>Roy Blunt, a congressman from southwest Missouri, won a nine-way Republican Senate primary over tea party contender Chuck Purgason. Blunt had 71 percent of the vote to Purgason's 13 percent.</p> Wed, 04 Aug 2010 11:41:20 +0000 KCUR 6914 at http://kcur.org