Black history http://kcur.org en From Slavery To Higher Ed http://kcur.org/post/slavery-higher-ed <p>He had his portrait painted by artist Charles Willson Peale, and he was a literate man—in short, Yarrow Mamout was unusual for an 18th-century slave in America.</p><p>On Friday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we look at his legacy over six generations and how his family moved from a life of slavery to producing a Harvard graduate in 1927.</p><p><strong>Guest:&nbsp;</strong></p> Fri, 31 Jan 2014 20:27:19 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 50570 at http://kcur.org From Slavery To Higher Ed Kansas Agency Encourages A New Black Friday Tradition http://kcur.org/post/kansas-agency-encourages-new-black-friday-tradition <p>A Kansas agency is urging black families talk to sit down and interview their family members on Friday. The Kansas African American Affairs Commission is calling the oral history project called “<a href="http://www.kaaac.ks.gov/ks-black-history/a-new-black-friday-project-2013">New Black Friday</a>.”</p> Fri, 29 Nov 2013 13:46:15 +0000 Maria Carter 47437 at http://kcur.org New Book Explores Stories Of 'Extraordinary Black Missourians' http://kcur.org/post/new-book-explores-stories-extraordinary-black-missourians <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Written histories of Missouri (and arguably, all states) often overlook the contributions of African Americans, but a new book by St. Louis-based authors John and Sylvia Wright attempts to fill in the gaps.</span></p> Mon, 22 Jul 2013 21:42:40 +0000 Susan B. Wilson 40619 at http://kcur.org Looking Back At The March On Washington http://kcur.org/post/looking-back-march-washington <p>One of the most <strong>iconic moments </strong>of the Civil Rights Movement was Martin Luther King, Jr.’s <strong>“I Have a Dream” speech</strong>, which took place during the <strong>1963 March on Washington. </strong></p><p></p><p> Thu, 28 Feb 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 32526 at http://kcur.org Looking Back At The March On Washington African-American Read In http://kcur.org/post/african-american-read <p>As part of Black History Month activities, UMKC is hosting an <a href="http://info.umkc.edu/umatters/2013/02/12/umkc-african-american-read-in-feb-20-and-feb-28/">African-American Read In</a> Feb. 20 and 28. Employees of the UMKC library and the public will read aloud from some of their favorite African-American literature and writing.</p><p> Tue, 19 Feb 2013 15:33:45 +0000 Brian Ellison, Matthew Long-Middleton & Claire McInerny 32186 at http://kcur.org African-American Read In Panther Baby: A Life Of Rebellion And Reinvention http://kcur.org/post/panther-baby-life-rebellion-and-reinvention <p><strong>*** This is an extended encore presentation of a show originally aired October 1st, 2012 ***</strong></p><p>They warned him, “Once you get in, there’s no getting out.”</p><p>Journey with us on Monday’s <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/central-standard" target="_blank"><em>Central Standard</em></a> for a discussion with former Black Panther <a href="http://arts.columbia.edu/film/jamal-joseph" target="_blank"><strong>Jamal Joseph.</strong></a> We're stepping back in time to the late 1960s and early 1970s, and looking through the eyes of one of the youngest Black Power leaders in New York. Mon, 31 Dec 2012 18:53:48 +0000 Tomeka Weatherspoon, Jabulani Leffall & Matthew Long-Middleton 25261 at http://kcur.org Panther Baby: A Life Of Rebellion And Reinvention Presidential Policies and Black Entrepreneurship http://kcur.org/post/presidential-policies-and-black-entrepreneurship <p>An American president once said that black power is the power that people should have over their own destinies, the power that comes from participation in the political and economic process of society. That president? Richard Nixon.</p><p> Mon, 30 Apr 2012 19:06:57 +0000 Charlie Upchurch, Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 16838 at http://kcur.org Presidential Policies and Black Entrepreneurship The Traveling Trunk Of African American & Latino Inventors http://kcur.org/post/traveling-trunk-african-american-latino-inventors <p>If you&#39;re a young black or latino student plotting your future, do you look up to athletes or entrepreneurs? Entertainers or innovators? Wed, 18 Apr 2012 19:39:26 +0000 Charlie Upchurch, Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 16180 at http://kcur.org The Traveling Trunk Of African American & Latino Inventors The Formation Of Freedom Inc. http://kcur.org/post/formation-freedom-inc <p>While sitting in the UMKC course &ldquo;The Kansas City Black Experience,&rdquo; <strong>Emiel Cleaver</strong> decided to write a paper on KC&#39;s first black political group,<strong> Freedom Inc</strong>.</p><p> Tue, 21 Feb 2012 19:26:00 +0000 Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 12893 at http://kcur.org The Formation Of Freedom Inc. Should Black History Month Exist? http://kcur.org/post/should-black-history-month-exist <p>On this Wednesday's Central Standard, a look at a documentary that argues that Black History is American History. We speak with documentary director Shukree Tilghman, who visited cities across the country with one message: End Black History Month.</p> Wed, 08 Feb 2012 19:36:57 +0000 Andrea Silenzi, Jabulani Leffall & Charlie Upchurch 12156 at http://kcur.org Should Black History Month Exist? Preserving The History Of Black Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/preserving-history-black-kansas-city <p><a href="http://www.blackarchives.org/">The Black Archives of Mid-America</a> recently completed renovations on a new exhibit and archive space and also welcomed a new executive director, Doretha Williams. Williams has a doctorate from the University of Kansas in American Studies and hopes to bring the community back to the archives.</p><p> Tue, 17 Jan 2012 22:56:00 +0000 Susan B. Wilson 10964 at http://kcur.org Preserving The History Of Black Kansas City