animals http://kcur.org en The Weekend To-Do List: April 4-6, 2014 http://kcur.org/post/weekend-do-list-april-4-6-2014 <p></p><p>Wash away the recent rainy weather with Brian McTavish's Weekend To-Do List for April 4-6.</p><p></p><p><a href="http://www.middleofthemapfest.com/"><b>Ink's Middle of the Map Fest </b></a>Music festival with more that 120 bands at six venues.&nbsp; Thursday, Friday, Saturday. Gary Numan performs at 11 p.m. Thursday at Ernie Biggs Piano Bar. Country Club Plaza and Westport area. Tickets: $55 three-day-pass</p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 17:37:23 +0000 Steve Kraske, Brian McTavish & Cody Newill 53641 at http://kcur.org The Weekend To-Do List: April 4-6, 2014 Veterinary Advice For Dealing With Badly Behaved Animals http://kcur.org/post/veterinary-advice-dealing-badly-behaved-animals <p>Fido’s making strange sounds, and Fluffy’s decided to carve your couch into a masterpiece with her claws. If all your solutions so far seem to be barking up the wrong tree, we’ve got another option for you.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In the first part of Tuesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, animal behavior expert and veterinarian <strong>Wayne </strong></span><strong>Hunthausen</strong><span style="line-height: 1.5;"><strong> </strong>joins us to answer your questions about pet behavior.</span></p> Mon, 04 Nov 2013 21:22:12 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 46288 at http://kcur.org Veterinary Advice For Dealing With Badly Behaved Animals Annual Zoo Conference Decends On KC, Examines New Challenges http://kcur.org/post/annual-zoo-conference-decends-kc-examines-new-challenges <p>Lions, tigers and (panda) bears, oh my! Two thousand zoo and aquarium professionals are in Kansas City this week for the annual convention of the Association of Zoos and Aquariums.&nbsp;</p><p>In the first part of Tuesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we take a look at the challenges zoos face these days and how that's been affecting attendance. We also discuss what zoos are hoping their visitors get out of the experience.&nbsp;</p><p><strong>Guests:&nbsp;</strong></p> Tue, 10 Sep 2013 15:19:04 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 43393 at http://kcur.org Annual Zoo Conference Decends On KC, Examines New Challenges Adopting A Furry Friend http://kcur.org/post/adopting-furry-friend <p></p><p>Buying a cat or dog from a store isn’t your only option—pet adoption is growing more popular. However, taking in a rescue animal does present challenges.&nbsp;</p><p> Sun, 07 Jul 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 39649 at http://kcur.org Adopting A Furry Friend The State Of Feral Hogs In Missouri http://kcur.org/post/state-feral-hogs-missouri <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">They spread disease and pollute the land. They devour birds and baby fauns. They have sharp teeth, weigh 300 pounds, and are now in 38 states across the US. It sounds like the stuff of nightmares, but the wild pig is real and they cause damage to farms and rural communities throughout America.</span></p><p> Thu, 13 Jun 2013 14:20:55 +0000 Brian Ellison, Matthew Long-Middleton & Ross Stinemetz 38436 at http://kcur.org The State Of Feral Hogs In Missouri Stretching Your Palate http://kcur.org/post/stretching-your-palate <p>Chances are you have eaten at his restaurant, taken in a show at his venue, or even met the dude.&nbsp; But did you know about his plan to curb regional invasive species by cooking and eating them?</p><p></p><p> Tue, 08 Jan 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30060 at http://kcur.org Stretching Your Palate Area Nerds Unite: Nerd Nite KC Features Cryptozoology http://kcur.org/post/area-nerds-unite-nerd-nite-kc-features-cryptozoology <p>For the past couple months we’ve been bringing you clips of presentations from Nerd Nites, which happen in Kansas City, Lawrence and all around the world.</p><p> Sun, 11 Nov 2012 22:24:00 +0000 Suzanne Hogan 26957 at http://kcur.org Area Nerds Unite: Nerd Nite KC Features Cryptozoology Rats! What Will KCMO Do About The Sewers? http://kcur.org/post/rats-what-will-kcmo-do-about-sewers <p>What's&nbsp;<strong>the most common rat in Kansas City</strong>&nbsp;these days? Tipping the scales at 10-17 ounces and a nasty little 7-10-inch body, it's <strong>the Norway rat</strong>. Thu, 01 Nov 2012 15:04:49 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 26898 at http://kcur.org Rats! What Will KCMO Do About The Sewers? How Animals Help Heal http://kcur.org/post/how-animals-help-heal <p>In 2007, <strong>Dale Smith</strong> was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer of the head and neck. Throughout his treatment, his pet dog Keegan, normally an energetic border collie, lay patiently by his side, waiting for Dale to get better.</p><p> Mon, 14 May 2012 18:16:52 +0000 Andrea Silenzi, Jabulani Leffall & Charlie Upchurch 17631 at http://kcur.org How Animals Help Heal Warm Weather & Your Pet, & A PET Scanner For Your...Pet. http://kcur.org/post/warm-weather-your-pet-pet-scanner-yourpet <p>An uncharacteristically mild winter has led to an unusually warm spring.&nbsp; You probably packed up your winter coat early and started wearing sandals sometime last month.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 10 Apr 2012 15:30:32 +0000 Stephen Steigman, Steve Kraske & Kathleen Pointer 15743 at http://kcur.org Warm Weather & Your Pet, & A PET Scanner For Your...Pet.