Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art http://kcur.org en The Awkward Business of Surveilling The Nelson Shuttlecocks http://kcur.org/post/awkward-business-surveilling-nelson-shuttlecocks <p>Kansas City residents have been known to, as Michael Cross likes to say, “cuddle,” on the grounds of the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art.</p><p>What many of these lovers may not realize, is that there are always guards monitoring the museum and the lawn, both on foot and via video cameras.</p><p>Michael Cross, manager of security facilities and visitor services for the Nelson-Atkins, has been keeping an eye on the grounds for seven years.</p><p>“As long as nobody’s interfering with the artwork we try to leave people alone,” Cross says.</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:45:58 +0000 Matt Hodapp & Sylvia Maria Gross 57915 at http://kcur.org The Awkward Business of Surveilling The Nelson Shuttlecocks Slideshow: Artist Robert Morris Tours New 'Glass Labyrinth' In Sculpture Park http://kcur.org/post/slideshow-artist-robert-morris-tours-new-glass-labyrinth-sculpture-park <p>Robins hopped on the manicured lawn at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art on Wednesday as New York-based artist Robert Morris and a small entourage previewed his new work, "Glass Labyrinth." The 7-foot-tall triangular sculpture consists of one-inch thick glass plate walls topped with bronze.</p> Thu, 22 May 2014 18:05:37 +0000 Julie Denesha 56136 at http://kcur.org Slideshow: Artist Robert Morris Tours New 'Glass Labyrinth' In Sculpture Park Unearthed Treasure: The Ethics And Aesthetics Of Displaying Tomb Relics http://kcur.org/post/unearthed-treasure-ethics-and-aesthetics-displaying-tomb-relics <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Two museum exhibitions currently in Kansas City are using tomb relics to bring ancient times and faraway places to life. &nbsp;These artifacts have survived journeys of thousands of miles and thousands of years.</span></p> Tue, 13 May 2014 15:05:44 +0000 Gina Kaufmann & Matthew Long-Middleton 55835 at http://kcur.org New Nelson-Atkins Exhibit Brings Saudi Prince To Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/new-nelson-atkins-exhibit-brings-saudi-prince-kansas-city <p></p><p>There are more than 200 works in the traveling exhibition, <em>Roads of Arabia: Archaeology and History of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, </em>from the fourth millennium B.C. to the 1930s.</p><p>The exhibit, now at the <a href="http://www.nelson-atkins.org/art/exhibitions/roads-of-arabia.cfm">Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art</a>&nbsp;in Kansas City, Mo., features prehistoric tools and figures sculpted by early inhabitants, as well as ceramic vessels, jewelry, coins, tombstones and sculptures — ranging in size from small to monumental.</p> Thu, 24 Apr 2014 13:07:37 +0000 Laura Spencer 54646 at http://kcur.org New Nelson-Atkins Exhibit Brings Saudi Prince To Kansas City The Nelson-Atkins' Art Conservator On What It's Like To Restore An El Greco http://kcur.org/post/nelson-atkins-art-conservator-what-its-restore-el-greco <p>Imagine spending a year – or more – restoring an artwork, trying to bring back the touch, or the brushstroke, of a master. That’s what Scott Heffley, senior conservator of paintings at the <a href="http://nelson-atkins.org/">Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art</a>, has been doing with an El Greco painting (ca. 1580-1585) called <em>The Penitent Magdalene</em>.&nbsp;</p><p><strong>Art and science do mix</strong></p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 12:43:44 +0000 Laura Spencer & Julie Denesha 52091 at http://kcur.org The Nelson-Atkins' Art Conservator On What It's Like To Restore An El Greco An Engaging Sculpture Taking Shape At The Nelson-Atkins http://kcur.org/post/engaging-sculpture-taking-shape-nelson-atkins <p>If you’ve walked or driven by the <a href="http://www.nelson-atkins.org/">Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art</a> recently you’ve probably noticed a flurry of activity on the southeast corner of the grassy lawn. Work is underway to ready the site for the installation of a new sculpture, <em>Glass Labyrinth</em>, a triangular-shaped, glass-walled labyrinth designed by artist <a href="http://www.artnet.com/artists/robert-morris/">Robert Morris</a>, a native of Kansas City, Mo.</p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 15:51:39 +0000 Laura Spencer 52581 at http://kcur.org An Engaging Sculpture Taking Shape At The Nelson-Atkins U.S. Sen. Blunt Travels Missouri Touting Legacy Of Monuments Men http://kcur.org/post/us-sen-blunt-travels-missouri-touting-legacy-monuments-men <p>During World War II, nearly 350 men and women, known as the Monuments Men, worked to protect and restore millions of cultural artifacts. This group of art curators and historians recovered sculptures and paintings looted by the Nazis, from artists such as Claude Monet, Pablo Picasso, and Leonardo da Vinci.</p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 13:16:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 51581 at http://kcur.org U.S. Sen. Blunt Travels Missouri Touting Legacy Of Monuments Men Saving Art From War: The Monuments Men http://kcur.org/post/saving-art-war-monuments-men <p>They were a group of soldiers with something in common — a knowledge of art and how to preserve it.</p><p>On Monday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we talk about <a href="http://www.monumentsmen.com" target="_blank">the Monuments Men</a>, a special division from the Allied forces during World War II who braved the battlefields to save priceless art and architecture from the ravages of war.</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 16:32:24 +0000 Steve Kraske, Beth Lipoff & Laura Spencer 50573 at http://kcur.org Saving Art From War: The Monuments Men The Story Behind The Pictures Of Picasso At The Nelson-Atkins http://kcur.org/post/story-behind-pictures-picasso-nelson-atkins <p>In October 2013, photographer <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Douglas_Duncan">David Douglas Duncan</a>, a native of Kansas City, Mo., donated 161 photographs to the <a href="http://www.nelson-atkins.org/">Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. </a>Some of these photographs document the Korean War, but most were taken over nearly two decades at the home of artist Pablo Picasso.</p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 15:00:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 45599 at http://kcur.org The Story Behind The Pictures Of Picasso At The Nelson-Atkins An Impressionist Journey Through France http://kcur.org/post/impressionist-journey-through-france <p></p><p>A new exhibition, <em>Impressionist France: Visions of Nation from Le Gray to Monet</em>,<em> </em>at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art examines the relationship between landscape and national identity. There are more than 100 paintings and photographs, from 1850 to 1880, including works by artists such as Manet, Monet and Le Gray, as well as artists well-known at the time but not today.</p><p><strong>Photographers and painters construct &quot;an idea of nation&quot;</strong></p> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 45330 at http://kcur.org An Impressionist Journey Through France Portraiture, In The Gallery And Online http://kcur.org/post/portraiture-gallery-and-online <p></p><p>How do you define portraiture today?</p><p>It’s a question posed by the exhibition<em> </em><a href="http://www.nelson-atkins.org/art/exhibitions/about-face.cfm"><em>About Face: Contemporary Portraiture</em><em> </em></a>at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art – and one explored by the nearly 40 photographers whose images are on display on the gallery walls. An online exhibition <a href="http://flakphoto.com/exhibition/making-pictures-of-people#main"><em>Making Pictures of People</em></a>, keeps the conversation going outside the museum walls.</p> Thu, 12 Sep 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 43478 at http://kcur.org Portraiture, In The Gallery And Online Philip Heying, Taking Portraits On Sept. 11 http://kcur.org/post/philip-heying-taking-portraits-sept-11 <p>There are probably certain images that come to mind when you remember the September 11th terrorist attacks: the approaching plane, the two towers of the World Trade Center in flames, clouds of smoke, and people walking en masse across the Brooklyn Bridge.</p><p>Photographer <a href="http://www.philipheying.com/">Philip Heying</a> is now based in Lawrence, Kan., and works as an adjunct instructor in the photography department at Johnson Community College.</p> Wed, 11 Sep 2013 18:54:58 +0000 Laura Spencer 43470 at http://kcur.org Philip Heying, Taking Portraits On Sept. 11 New Islamic Art Exhibit At The Nelson http://kcur.org/post/new-islamic-art-exhibit-nelson <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">When we hear about the Middle East and the cradle of Islam, many&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">will no doubt think of news or politics-- about a war &nbsp;in Syria or&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">civil unrest in Egypt. But that would be only a partial picture.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">There are major cultural and artistic elements that have been created within the region.</span></p> Thu, 29 Aug 2013 17:37:01 +0000 Brian Ellison, Matthew Long-Middleton & Ross Stinemetz 42799 at http://kcur.org New Islamic Art Exhibit At The Nelson The Tempestuous Relationship Between Frida Kahlo And Diego Rivera http://kcur.org/post/tempestuous-relationship-between-frida-kahlo-and-diego-rivera <p></p> Mon, 15 Jul 2013 16:36:17 +0000 Sylvia Maria Gross 40210 at http://kcur.org The Tempestuous Relationship Between Frida Kahlo And Diego Rivera [VIDEO] Voices From Frida Kahlo And Diego Rivera Opening Reception http://kcur.org/post/video-voices-frida-kahlo-and-diego-rivera-opening-reception <p>The <a href="http://www.nelson-atkins.org/">Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art </a>celebrated the opening of "Frida Kahlo, Diego Rivera and Masterpieces of Modern Mexico from the Jacques and Natasha Gelman Collection" on May 31, 2013, with an opening reception for museum members.</p><p>The exhibition showcases more than 100 paintings, sculptures, photographs and drawings collected by the Gelmans in their adopted homeland of Mexico.</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WrcrLOyVpbI</p><p><strong>Interview Highlights </strong></p><p><strong>On a raw depiction of life</strong></p> Sat, 01 Jun 2013 17:02:28 +0000 Julie Denesha 37768 at http://kcur.org [VIDEO] Voices From Frida Kahlo And Diego Rivera Opening Reception A Passionate And Prolific Relationship: Frida Kahlo & Diego Rivera http://kcur.org/post/passionate-and-prolific-relationship-frida-kahlo-diego-rivera <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">They’ve been immortalized in museums, history books and on film. Their rocky marriage and ties to Communism made for fascinating lives. Fri, 31 May 2013 13:56:29 +0000 Steve Kraske, Kaitlin Brennan & Sangeeta Shastry 37649 at http://kcur.org A Passionate And Prolific Relationship: Frida Kahlo & Diego Rivera Board Leadership Change For The Kansas City Symphony http://kcur.org/post/board-leadership-change-kansas-city-symphony <p>After nearly 20 years as the chairwoman of the Kansas City Symphony's board, arts patron Shirley Helzberg is stepping down. Bill Lyons, civic leader and former CEO of American Century Companies, Inc., succeeds Helzberg on July 1. Tue, 21 May 2013 17:48:33 +0000 Laura Spencer 37113 at http://kcur.org Board Leadership Change For The Kansas City Symphony New President And CEO For The National World War I Museum http://kcur.org/post/new-president-and-ceo-national-world-war-i-museum <p>The <a href="http://theworldwar.org/">National World War I Museum</a> at Liberty Memorial on Monday announced Matthew C. Naylor, PhD, a native of Australia, as its new President and CEO. Mon, 13 May 2013 22:58:14 +0000 Laura Spencer 36683 at http://kcur.org New President And CEO For The National World War I Museum A Puppet Festival Of Colossal Proportions http://kcur.org/post/puppet-festival-colossal-proportions <p>This Sunday, the lawn of <a href="http://www.nelson-atkins.org">The Nelson Atkins Museum of Art</a> will be transformed into the main stage for the larger-than-life puppets of <a href="http://www.stonelionpuppets.org/">StoneLion</a>'s puppet pageant "Mother’s Day for Mother Earth."&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0px; line-height: normal; font-family: Helvetica; "> Fri, 10 May 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Julie Denesha 36177 at http://kcur.org A Puppet Festival Of Colossal Proportions Kemper Founders Step Down From Museum Board http://kcur.org/post/kemper-founders-step-down-museum-board <p>The founders of the <a href="http://www.kemperart.org/">Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art</a> are stepping down from museum leadership. Wed, 01 May 2013 22:27:21 +0000 Laura Spencer 36033 at http://kcur.org Kemper Founders Step Down From Museum Board The Nelson's Kansas City Sculpture Park Renamed For Donald Hall http://kcur.org/post/nelsons-kansas-city-sculpture-park-renamed-donald-hall <p>The <a href="http://www.nelson-atkins.org/art/KCSP/Interactive/index.cfm">Kansas City Sculpture Park</a>, the more than two dozen sculptures outside the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, opened in 1989. In honor of the park’s 25<sup>th</sup> anniversary in 2014, the museum will change the park’s name to reflect its roots. Wed, 10 Apr 2013 20:49:23 +0000 Laura Spencer 34866 at http://kcur.org The Nelson's Kansas City Sculpture Park Renamed For Donald Hall An Art & Theater Fusion http://kcur.org/post/art-theater-fusion <p></p><div><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Take a stroll through an art gallery, and you just might find yourself humming a </span>Sondheim<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> tune.</span></div><div> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 34238 at http://kcur.org An Art & Theater Fusion Inventing A World With A Pinhole Camera http://kcur.org/post/inventing-world-pinhole-camera <p>A <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pinhole_camera">pinhole camera</a> is a simple tool – and it can be constructed with basic materials. You could even <a href="http://www.diyphotography.net/23-pinhole-cameras-that-you-can-build-at-home">make one at home</a> with your child on a snow day. All you need is cardboard, tape, and aluminum foil. But, it’s the eye behind the camera that draws a line between child’s play and the potential for photography.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 27 Feb 2013 20:02:22 +0000 Laura Spencer & Matthew Long-Middleton 32658 at http://kcur.org Inventing A World With A Pinhole Camera A Journey Through Chinese Landscapes http://kcur.org/post/journey-through-chinese-landscapes <p>Nature has provided a source of inspiration for Chinese poets and painters for thousands of years. An exhibition at the <a href="http://www.nelson-atkins.org/">Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art</a> juxtaposes the old with the new - showcasing some of the museum’s collection of Song Dynasty paintings, as well as a monumental landscape by a contemporary Chinese artist. Thu, 14 Feb 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 31924 at http://kcur.org A Journey Through Chinese Landscapes Civic Leader Adele Hall Dies At 81 http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-civic-leader-adele-hall-dies-81 <p><a href="http://memorial.hallmark.com/adele-hall">Adele Hall</a>, civic leader and wife of Hallmark Cards chairman Donald J. Hall for nearly 60 years, has died. She was 81. Mon, 28 Jan 2013 23:30:17 +0000 Laura Spencer 31081 at http://kcur.org Civic Leader Adele Hall Dies At 81 Terry Evans: Revealing The Secrets Of The Prairie http://kcur.org/post/terry-evans-revealing-secrets-prairie <p>It’s fitting that the first career retrospective for photographer Terry Evans takes place in her hometown of Kansas City, Mo., at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, a place where she took art classes as a child. Fri, 16 Nov 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 27655 at http://kcur.org Terry Evans: Revealing The Secrets Of The Prairie Work-In-Progress Inspired By Art At The Nelson http://kcur.org/post/work-progress-inspired-art-nelson <p>This season, the <a href="http://www.kcsymphony.org/">Kansas City Symphony</a> focuses on the theme of “Symphonic Pictures," exploring the intersection between art and music.</p><p> Fri, 28 Sep 2012 10:00:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 25205 at http://kcur.org Work-In-Progress Inspired By Art At The Nelson Adult Studio Art Classes / ACT, SAT Prep http://kcur.org/post/adult-studio-art-classes-act-sat-prep <p>During the first half of Wednesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/central-standard" target="_blank"><em>Central Standard</em></a>, a discussion about broadening artistic learning opportunities for adults.</p><p>Then later in the hour, since it's that time of year for students... we'll talk about preparing for the ACT and SAT. Hear about a program aiming to level the playing field with college prep services for local low-income and underprivileged students. Wed, 26 Sep 2012 15:16:08 +0000 Tomeka Weatherspoon, Maria Carter, Danie Alexander & Jabulani Leffall 25099 at http://kcur.org Adult Studio Art Classes / ACT, SAT Prep Citywide Picnic Celebration http://kcur.org/post/citywide-picnic-celebration <p>When was the last time you packed a basket and headed outside to dine with the ants and the cicadas? On this Thursday&#39;s <em><a href="http://kcur.org/programs/centralstandard">Central Standard</a>,</em> join us for a picnic. Thu, 12 Jul 2012 14:31:55 +0000 Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 20890 at http://kcur.org Citywide Picnic Celebration Art Historian Discusses One Of The Oldest Fountains In America http://kcur.org/post/art-historian-discusses-one-oldest-fountains-america <p>Curator <strong>Robert Cohen</strong> talks about the Roman fountain in the Rozzelle Court Restaurant at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. Thu, 03 May 2012 12:52:46 +0000 Tomeka Weatherspoon 17033 at http://kcur.org Art Historian Discusses One Of The Oldest Fountains In America