airport http://kcur.org en Bomb Hoax Shuts Down City Hall, Airport Hearing http://kcur.org/post/bomb-hoax-shuts-down-city-hall-airport-hearing <p></p><p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in">A public hearing on future terminal plans at KCI Airport was among the city business interrupted Tuesday by a bomb threat that shut down City Hall for more than five hours.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;Only four members of the public had a chance to speak to the Airport Terminal Advisory Group when a telephone bomb threat prompted the evacuation of the building.</p> Wed, 04 Dec 2013 13:15:17 +0000 Steve Bell 47777 at http://kcur.org Bomb Hoax Shuts Down City Hall, Airport Hearing United Terminal Change At KCI Delayed http://kcur.org/post/united-terminal-change-kci-delayed <p>United Airlines and Air Canada were supposed to move Wednesday night from Terminal A to Terminal C at Kansas City International Airport, but those plans got delayed.&nbsp;</p><p>KCI spokesman Joe McBride says technical issues were to blame.</p><p>“As they were getting into the eleventh hour of the move, the computer technology was not all coming on line,” said McBride. “So it looked like the airline was not going to have the ability to check people in be it at the ticket counter or the kiosk.”</p><p>McBride says he expects the terminal change will take place early next week.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 31 Oct 2013 13:47:23 +0000 Maria Carter 46089 at http://kcur.org Fresh Petition Attempt To Save Current KCI http://kcur.org/post/fresh-petition-attempt-save-current-kci <p>An ad hoc group trying to preserve the current building layout at KCI Airport is trying another tack to halt major changes at the complex. Thu, 16 May 2013 21:51:00 +0000 Dan Verbeck 36895 at http://kcur.org Fresh Petition Attempt To Save Current KCI Council Endorses Airport Plan http://kcur.org/post/council-endorses-airport-plan <p style="margin-bottom: 0in">The Kansas City city council has voted to move ahead with laying plans for a single-terminal concept for KCI Airport.&nbsp; though, that it doesn't guarantee that a new terminal will be built.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"> Fri, 12 Apr 2013 07:46:32 +0000 Steve Bell 34966 at http://kcur.org Council Endorses Airport Plan Snow Day! An Update From Kansas City Officials http://kcur.org/post/snow-day-update-kansas-city-officials <p>You know it's bad when the host of <em>Up to Date</em> needs a push into the parking lot at KCUR.</p><p> Thu, 21 Feb 2013 19:41:05 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 32354 at http://kcur.org Snow Day! An Update From Kansas City Officials School Closings, Road Info: The First Winter Storm Of The Season http://kcur.org/post/school-closings-road-info-first-winter-storm-season <p>The Kansas City metro area experienced its first winter storm overnight Wednesday. Strong winds contributed to whiteout conditions for the morning rush hour. Dozens of <strong><a href="http://www.kmbc.com/weather/closings/-/11665728/-/format/rsss_2.0/-/d7n91l/-/index.html">schools are closed Thursday</a></strong> including Blue Valley, Kansas City, Kan., Kansas City Public Schools, Lawrence, and Shawnee Mission.</p><p> Wed, 19 Dec 2012 17:40:51 +0000 Emilie Mutert & Laura Spencer 29215 at http://kcur.org School Closings, Road Info: The First Winter Storm Of The Season Consolidating Air Traffic At KCI http://kcur.org/post/consolidating-air-traffic-kci <p>A new plan has surfaced in the continuing discussion about <strong>how KCI's terminals should be modified</strong>.</p><p> Sun, 21 Oct 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 26277 at http://kcur.org Consolidating Air Traffic At KCI Kansas City International Airport Eyes Replacement Terminal http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-international-airport-eyes-replacement-terminal <p>Just three years ago the Kansas City Missouri City Council voted down a<strong> single-terminal plan</strong> for <a href="http://flykci.com">Kansas City International Airport</a>. &nbsp;Now it has approved a $4.4 million study to determine how to build and pay for the very same thing.&nbsp;Why the change of heart and how is one terminal better than three?</p><div> Wed, 30 Nov 2011 22:36:59 +0000 Stephen Steigman 185 at http://kcur.org Kansas City International Airport Eyes Replacement Terminal