Kansas school finance http://kcur.org en Kansas Lawmakers Study Education Spending http://kcur.org/post/kansas-lawmakers-study-education-spending <p>Kansas spends more money on education that any other item in the state budget, and education funding will likely be the dominant issue when lawmakers convene the legislative session in January.</p><p>A state court has already ordered lawmakers to spend more on education. And soon, the Kansas Supreme Court will issue its own ruling on a lawsuit that claims the state has been shortchanging public schools. All of this led lawmakers to spend two days last week studying up on school funding.</p><p><strong>The formula</strong></p> Tue, 12 Nov 2013 14:01:47 +0000 Stephen Koranda 46692 at http://kcur.org Testimony Wraps Up In Kansas School Finance Trial http://kcur.org/post/testimony-wraps-kansas-school-finance-trial <p>Testimony in the Kansas school finance trial will draw to a close today as lawyers in the case call their final witnesses.</p><p> Thu, 28 Jun 2012 12:16:02 +0000 Maria Carter 20156 at http://kcur.org Testimony Wraps Up In Kansas School Finance Trial Kansas Senate Leader Testifies In School Finance Case http://kcur.org/post/kansas-senate-leader-testifies-school-finance-case <p>The trial in the ongoing school finance lawsuit is continuing this week, with a leading member of the Kansas Senate testifying on behalf of the plaintiffs.</p><p> Tue, 26 Jun 2012 13:30:49 +0000 Peter Hancock, Kansas Education Policy Report 20010 at http://kcur.org Kansas Senate Leader Testifies In School Finance Case Some Kansas School Districts On The Brink http://kcur.org/post/some-kansas-school-districts-brink <p>A top official at the Kansas State Department of Education says recent budget cuts have pushed some school districts to the brink of insolvency.<br /> Wed, 20 Jun 2012 13:22:08 +0000 Peter Hancock, Kansas Education Policy Report 19703 at http://kcur.org Some Kansas School Districts On The Brink Top Of The Morning News: Tuesday, June 19, 2012 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-tuesday-june-19-2012 <p>The Kansas school finance trial enters its third week. A plan to replace Medicaid in Kansas drew criticism at its first public hearing.&nbsp; It&rsquo;s a double dose of Shakespeare in Kansas City.&nbsp; That &amp; more news from KCUR.</p><p> Tue, 19 Jun 2012 14:06:20 +0000 Maria Carter 19631 at http://kcur.org Top Of The Morning News: Tuesday, June 19, 2012 Kansas School Finance Trial Continues http://kcur.org/post/kansas-school-finance-trial-continues <p>The trial resumes today in the school finance lawsuit where 54 school districts are claiming the state of Kansas is under-funding public education.</p><p> Tue, 19 Jun 2012 13:28:23 +0000 Peter Hancock, Kansas Education Policy Report 19627 at http://kcur.org Kansas School Finance Trial Continues Witness Says Kansas Schools Underfunded http://kcur.org/post/witness-says-kansas-schools-underfunded <p>An expert witness in the ongoing school finance trial says Kansas is under-funding public schools by thousands of dollars per pupil each year.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 12 Jun 2012 13:09:50 +0000 Peter Hancock, Kansas Education Policy Report 19232 at http://kcur.org Witness Says Kansas Schools Underfunded Pencils, Papers, Shoes: What Factors Into The Kansas School Finance Formula? http://kcur.org/post/pencils-papers-shoes-what-factors-kansas-school-finance-formula <p>Judges in the Kansas school finance lawsuit are being asked to decide how much responsibility the state has in making sure all children have the same chance at a quality education.</p><p> Thu, 07 Jun 2012 16:35:21 +0000 Peter Hancock, Kansas Education Policy Report 19003 at http://kcur.org Pencils, Papers, Shoes: What Factors Into The Kansas School Finance Formula? Educators Pore Over New School Funding Formula http://kcur.org/post/educators-pore-over-new-school-funding-formula <p>Kansas school districts are digesting a sweeping school finance plan proposed today by Governor Sam Brownback.<br /><br />He promises no district will lose state funds via the proposal, which is designed to give local boards a freer hand in spending. It would also allow districts to raise property taxes.<br /><br />The property tax cap, set by state law, would be removed under the Brownback plan, which would go into effect in July 2013. President of the Shawnee Mission School Board Craig Denny was struck by that and another provision.</p> Thu, 15 Dec 2011 00:02:13 +0000 Dan Verbeck 9025 at http://kcur.org Educators Pore Over New School Funding Formula