natural gas http://kcur.org en Kansas City Buses Will Say Goodbye To Diesel http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-buses-will-say-goodbye-diesel <p>The Kansas City Area Transportation Authority , or ATA, is phasing itself out of the diesel bus business. Fri, 26 Apr 2013 22:05:08 +0000 Dan Verbeck 35775 at http://kcur.org Kansas City Buses Will Say Goodbye To Diesel Blame Elusive In Plaza Blast http://kcur.org/post/blame-elusive-plaza-blast <p style="margin-left:.5in;">Workers using heavy equipment to install fiber-optic cable hit a gas main hours before the blast.&nbsp;&nbsp; According to <a href="http://www.bizjournals.com/kansascity/news/2013/02/20/missouri-gas-energy-releases-another.html" target="_blank">the <em>Kansas City Business Journal</em></a>, gas company workers showed up about 20 minutes later.</p><p style="margin-left:.5in;">They were still on site later when firefighters responded to the leak, about 45 minutes before the explosion.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 20 Feb 2013 20:46:10 +0000 Frank Morris 32279 at http://kcur.org Blame Elusive In Plaza Blast Body Found In Rubble At JJ's http://kcur.org/post/body-found-rubble-jjs <p>At a press conference this morning, officials say they found a body in the rubble of the site of former JJ's restaurant on the Country Club Plaza. No positive identification has been made yet. Wed, 20 Feb 2013 16:44:41 +0000 Maria Carter, Laura Spencer & Elana Gordon 32259 at http://kcur.org Body Found In Rubble At JJ's Search Continues For Missing JJ's Employee http://kcur.org/post/search-continues-missing-jjs-employee <p>One person still remains unaccounted for after last night's fire and explosion at JJ's restaurant on the Country Club Plaza. Wed, 20 Feb 2013 16:04:52 +0000 Maria Carter 32256 at http://kcur.org Search Continues For Missing JJ's Employee Explosion At JJ's Thundered Through Plaza http://kcur.org/post/explosion-jjs-thundered-through-plaza <p>At least one explosion thundered through the west edge of the County Club Plaza district&nbsp; just after 6 p.m. Tuesday, sending more than a dozen people to hospitals. Some are critically injured. There was ample evidence pointing to natural gas as cause. Wed, 20 Feb 2013 15:42:43 +0000 Dan Verbeck 32254 at http://kcur.org Explosion At JJ's Thundered Through Plaza Fire Hits Plaza Business http://kcur.org/post/fire-hits-plaza-business <p>A fire caused by an apparent gas explosion near JJ's Restaurant on the Country Club Plaza has sent at least 14 people to area hospitals with injuries, some of them critical. The fire started around 6:00 Tuesday evening.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>Update 7:07 PM.&nbsp; Residents from a nearby apartment building were evacuated.&nbsp; Some are reporting that there was a strong smell of gas earlier in the afternoon. One resident of the nearby building also told reporters someone was operating a backhoe in the area earlier in the afternoon.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 20 Feb 2013 01:05:39 +0000 Frank Morris, Steve Bell, Elana Gordon & Emilie Mutert 32230 at http://kcur.org Fire Hits Plaza Business