pets http://kcur.org en What To Do If Your Pet Gets Hurt http://kcur.org/post/what-do-if-your-pet-gets-hurt <p></p><p>When you burn your finger or get a gash on your leg, you know what to do—or at least where the first aid kit is. But what do you do if your pet gets injured?</p><p>On Tuesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/program/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, veterinarian Wayne Hunthausen joins us to talk about first aid for your pets. We also take a look at what bandage you should use when Fido gets a cut and what to do when you can’t get Fluffy to the vet after an injury.</p><p><strong>Guest:</strong></p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 58869 at http://kcur.org What To Do If Your Pet Gets Hurt Talking Teeth, Pet-Style http://kcur.org/post/talking-teeth-pet-style <p></p><p>Cavity-free, pearly-white teeth have long been a status symbol—but how important is it to make sure your pet’s choppers are as pristine as yours?</p><p>On Monday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we’ll talk with &nbsp;Wayne Hunthausen, DVM and veterinarian Scott MacGee who specializes in pet dentistry. We’ll find out just what’s normal for your pet's teeth and, as always, take questions about your companion animal's health and habits.</p><p><strong>Guests:</strong></p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 54049 at http://kcur.org Talking Teeth, Pet-Style Veterinary Advice For Dealing With Badly Behaved Animals http://kcur.org/post/veterinary-advice-dealing-badly-behaved-animals <p>Fido’s making strange sounds, and Fluffy’s decided to carve your couch into a masterpiece with her claws. If all your solutions so far seem to be barking up the wrong tree, we’ve got another option for you.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In the first part of Tuesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, animal behavior expert and veterinarian <strong>Wayne </strong></span><strong>Hunthausen</strong><span style="line-height: 1.5;"><strong> </strong>joins us to answer your questions about pet behavior.</span></p> Mon, 04 Nov 2013 21:22:12 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 46288 at http://kcur.org Veterinary Advice For Dealing With Badly Behaved Animals Adopting A Furry Friend http://kcur.org/post/adopting-furry-friend <p></p><p>Buying a cat or dog from a store isn’t your only option—pet adoption is growing more popular. However, taking in a rescue animal does present challenges.&nbsp;</p><p> Sun, 07 Jul 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 39649 at http://kcur.org Adopting A Furry Friend Getting Comfort From Animals http://kcur.org/post/getting-comfort-animals <p>Your pet always seems to <strong>know when you’re upset</strong>, and maybe you’ve noticed that <strong>cuddling with Fido or Fluffy makes you feel calmer</strong>.&nbsp;</p><p> Sun, 02 Jun 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 37702 at http://kcur.org Getting Comfort From Animals And The Most Popular Cat Name In Kansas Is... Kitty http://kcur.org/post/and-most-popular-cat-name-kansas-kitty <p>Kansans are rather unoriginal when it comes to naming their cats, the most popular name for felines in the state is Kitty.</p><p>Missourians&nbsp;are slightly more creative, and prideful. According to <a href="http://www.stateofpethealth.com/Content/pdf/Banfield-State-of-Pet-Health-Report_2013.pdf">a report out Wednesday</a> the most popular name for cats in the Show-Me state is Tiger.</p><p>The most popular name for dogs in both states is Bella, which is the most popular dog name in the country. Bella is most likely a Labrador&nbsp;Retriever or Chihuahua.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 09 May 2013 16:59:17 +0000 Briana O'Higgins 36456 at http://kcur.org And The Most Popular Cat Name In Kansas Is... Kitty Dressed-Up Doggies & Costumed Kitties http://kcur.org/post/dressed-doggies-costumed-kitties <p>It may be cute, but is it safe to dress up your dog and bring him on your trick or treating adventure?</p> <p>Wednesday on Up to Date, our resident veterinarian Dr. Wayne Hunthausen is back to talk about how you can keep your pet safe from Halloween hazards and healthy during the chilly winter months.</p> Tue, 23 Oct 2012 22:20:16 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Beth Lipoff 26429 at http://kcur.org Dressed-Up Doggies & Costumed Kitties How Animals Help Heal http://kcur.org/post/how-animals-help-heal <p>In 2007, <strong>Dale Smith</strong> was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer of the head and neck. Throughout his treatment, his pet dog Keegan, normally an energetic border collie, lay patiently by his side, waiting for Dale to get better.</p><p> Mon, 14 May 2012 18:16:52 +0000 Andrea Silenzi, Jabulani Leffall & Charlie Upchurch 17631 at http://kcur.org How Animals Help Heal Warm Weather & Your Pet, & A PET Scanner For Your...Pet. http://kcur.org/post/warm-weather-your-pet-pet-scanner-yourpet <p>An uncharacteristically mild winter has led to an unusually warm spring.&nbsp; You probably packed up your winter coat early and started wearing sandals sometime last month.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 10 Apr 2012 15:30:32 +0000 Stephen Steigman, Steve Kraske & Kathleen Pointer 15743 at http://kcur.org Warm Weather & Your Pet, & A PET Scanner For Your...Pet. Holiday Stress And Your Pets http://kcur.org/post/holiday-stress-and-your-pets <p>Let’s face it, the holidays are stressful, between decorating the house, putting up the tree, throwing a party and out-of-town guests. It’s enough to push even the most well-behaved pet over the edge.</p> Tue, 13 Dec 2011 00:00:00 +0000 Danie Alexander & Steve Kraske 8840 at http://kcur.org Holiday Stress And Your Pets Fourth Of July A Scary Time For Pets http://kcur.org/post/fourth-july-scary-time-pets <p>Salina, KS – Fireworks make the 4th of July a favorite holiday for many people. But as Kansas Public Radio's Bryan Thompson explains, it's not so popular with pets.</p> Fri, 02 Jul 2010 13:23:20 +0000 Bryan Thompson 6782 at http://kcur.org Fourth Of July A Scary Time For Pets