NFL http://kcur.org en Reid Will Be New Chiefs' Coach http://kcur.org/post/reid-will-be-new-chiefs-coach <p>Andy Reid and the Kansas City Chiefs have a contract agreement, according to several media reports. Fri, 04 Jan 2013 16:45:54 +0000 Maria Carter 29945 at http://kcur.org Reid Will Be New Chiefs' Coach Players React To Crennel Ouster As KC Chiefs' Coach http://kcur.org/post/players-react-crennel-ouster-kc-chiefs-coach <p>One week short of a year from being hired as the Kansas City Chiefs head coach, Romeo Crennel today learned he’d been fired. Mon, 31 Dec 2012 22:31:49 +0000 Dan Verbeck 29766 at http://kcur.org Players React To Crennel Ouster As KC Chiefs' Coach Crennel Out, No Word About Pioli http://kcur.org/post/crennel-out-no-word-about-pioli <p>The Kansas City Chiefs announced today that Romeo Crennel, the team's 12th coach, has been "relieved of his duties as head coach" after a 2-14 season. This record matches the team's worst in its 53-year history. Mon, 31 Dec 2012 16:30:26 +0000 Laura Spencer 29740 at http://kcur.org Crennel Out, No Word About Pioli Fans React To Chiefs Tragedy http://kcur.org/post/fans-react-chiefs-tragedy <div class="card-content"><div class="field field-name-body field-type-text-with-summary field-label-hidden "><div class="field-items"><div class="field-item even"><p>The <a href="http://www.kcchiefs.com/">Kansas City Chiefs</a> broke their eight-game losing streak yesterday, beating the Carolina Panthers&nbsp; 27-21. The win comes in the wake of Chiefs linebacker, Jovan Belcher's death. Mon, 03 Dec 2012 15:14:04 +0000 Elana Gordon 28433 at http://kcur.org Fans React To Chiefs Tragedy Chiefs Linebacker Kills Girlfriend, Self http://kcur.org/post/chiefs-linebacker-kills-girlfriend-self <p>Chiefs linebacker Jovan Belcher shot his girlfriend multiple times around 8 a.m. Saturday, drove to the team's training facility, thanked coaches for supporting him, walked away and shot himself in the head, police said.</p><p> Sat, 01 Dec 2012 21:30:09 +0000 Laura Ziegler 28401 at http://kcur.org Chiefs Linebacker Kills Girlfriend, Self Cassel Out, Quinn In As Chiefs Quarterback http://kcur.org/post/cassel-out-quinn-chiefs-quarterback <p>Matt Cassel is out and Brady Quinn is in as starting quarterback for the Kansas City Chiefs. Coach Romeo Crennel made the announcement on Monday.</p><p>Crennel emphasized that he is not blaming Cassel for the team's failures, but says no other changes would have had as broad an impact. He said he made the change that would change the dynamic of the team the most.</p> Mon, 22 Oct 2012 23:39:43 +0000 Steve Bell 26405 at http://kcur.org Cassel Out, Quinn In As Chiefs Quarterback Despite Concussion, Cassel Not Ruled Out Of Play...Yet http://kcur.org/post/despite-concussion-cassel-not-ruled-out-playyet <p><a href="http://www.kcchiefs.com/">Kansas City Chiefs</a> head football coach Romeo Crennel confirmed today that quarterback <a href="http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/Matt-Cassel/5fbc174a-bfb6-45f9-9559-0bb09433efd4">Matt Cassel</a> has a concussion as the result of play in Sunday's loss to the Baltimore Ravens. &nbsp; Mon, 08 Oct 2012 21:59:45 +0000 Greg Echlin 25695 at http://kcur.org Despite Concussion, Cassel Not Ruled Out Of Play...Yet After Uproar, No Signal That NFL Refs Will Be Back Soon http://kcur.org/post/after-uproar-no-signal-nfl-refs-will-be-back-soon Though the nation's football fans β€” <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=161759930" target="_blank">from President Obama and Republican presidential nominee Mitt Romney</a> to the average couch quarterback β€” are begging the two sides to settle their contract dispute so that regular NFL referees can come back to work, there seems to be no clear reason to think that's going to happen in time for this week's games.<p><em>Pardon the Interruption</em> co-host Tony Kornheiser <a href="http://espn.go.com/espnradio/play?id=8425808" target="_blank">is convinced</a> that Monday Wed, 26 Sep 2012 12:43:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 25090 at http://kcur.org After Uproar, No Signal That NFL Refs Will Be Back Soon Haley Out, Effective Immediately http://kcur.org/post/haley-out-effective-immediately <p>The 37-10 blowout loss on Sunday to the New York Jets sealed Todd Haley's fate with the Kansas City Chiefs. Late Monday morning, they announced that Haley was out.</p> Tue, 13 Dec 2011 02:51:47 +0000 Greg Echlin 8867 at http://kcur.org Haley Out, Effective Immediately Kansas City Chiefs Fire Todd Haley http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-chiefs-fire-todd-haley <p>Todd Haley, whose record as head coach with the Kansas City Chiefs was 19-27, has been fired, the team announced today. The decision comes a day after the team&#39;s fifth loss in six games: a 37-10 loss to the New York Jets. The Chiefs <a href="http://www.kcchiefs.com/media-center/videos/Coaching-Change-Press-Conference/b0483e6b-2d3e-4abb-9460-3fbbbaae1523">held a news conference</a> at 2 p.m.</p><p><a href="http://content.usatoday.com/communities/thehuddle/post/2011/12/todd-haley-fired-kansas-city-chiefs/1">USA TODAY</a> reports:</p> Mon, 12 Dec 2011 16:52:19 +0000 Emilie Mutert & Laura Spencer 8832 at http://kcur.org Kansas City Chiefs Fire Todd Haley Tribute Paid to Sports Announcer Bill Grigsby http://kcur.org/post/tribute-paid-sports-announcer-bill-grigsby <p class="legacy-audio-url"> <div class="audio-container"> <div id="jp-interface-53d1088f8f6c5-" class="jp-interface"> <div id="post-audio-53d1088f8f6c5-" class="jp-player" jp-instance="53d1088f8f6c5-"></div> <div class="jp-controls column"> <div class="jp-progress"> <div class="jp-seek-bar"> <div class="jp-play-bar"></div> </div> </div><!-- end jp-progress --> </div><!-- end jp-controls --> <div class="playpause column"> <a href="http://stream.publicbroadcasting.net/production/mp3/kcur/local-kcur-926008.mp3" class="jp-play">Listen</a> <a class="jp-pause"></a> </div><!-- playpause --> <div class="jp-time-holder column"> <div class="jp-custom-current-time"></div> <div class="jp-custom-duration"></div> </div><!-- jp-time-holder --> <div id="slider"></div> </div><!-- .jp-interface --> </div><!-- container --> </p> <p>Kansas City, MO – After a victory over the San Francisco 49ers at Arrowhead Stadium, the Kansas City Chiefs are 3-0 this season. The final score was 31-10. Before the game, the Chiefs paid tribute to Bill Grigsby, who retired this year after 62 years in broadcasting. KCUR's Greg Echlin has more.</p> Mon, 27 Sep 2010 19:48:06 +0000 Greg Echlin 7094 at http://kcur.org