winter storm http://kcur.org en Majority Of Kansas City Water Pipes Withstand Sub-Zero Temps http://kcur.org/post/majority-kansas-city-water-pipes-withstand-sub-zero-temps <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Despite some of coldest weather in years, the Kansas City Water Services Department has not been inundated with service calls for frozen pipes or lines. Though, t</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">roubleshooters await a second full night of sub-zero temperatures.</span></p><p>Almost 100 calls have come from customers who say their water taps deliver nothing, but Jennifer Kincaid of the city’s Water Services wants people to stay aware the danger to pipes remains through Monday night. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 06 Jan 2014 22:29:22 +0000 Dan Verbeck 49346 at http://kcur.org Including Power Utilities In Command Center Boosted Snowstorm Fight-ability http://kcur.org/post/including-power-utilities-command-center-boosted-snowstorm-fight-ability <p>Some of the first aftermath data from two major and back-to-back winter snow storms is filtering out of Kansas City city&nbsp;hall.&nbsp; Adding two agencies to the Emergency Operations Center was counted as a positive to the Public Safety and Emergency Services Committee of the Council.</p><p></p><p></p><p>Those private or quasi-private operations served public transit and distribution of electrical power.</p><p>The Ops nerve center stayed open 24 hours in the storm of February 21, another 30 hours during&nbsp; last week’s heavy, wet snow.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 06 Mar 2013 23:26:32 +0000 Dan Verbeck 33077 at http://kcur.org Including Power Utilities In Command Center Boosted Snowstorm Fight-ability Preventing Roof Collapses http://kcur.org/post/preventing-roof-collapses <p>The heavy snow last week caused several roof collapses around the Kansas City area. And several more buildings were evacuated for fear of a collapse, including a <a href="http://www.kcur.org/post/roof-snow-pack-forces-macys-evacuation-close-overland-park" target="_blank">Macy’s in Overland Park</a>.&nbsp; KCUR’s Dan Verbeck sat down with Overland Park Code Administrator, Tim Ryan, to find out more about addressing and preventing roof collapses.</p><p> Mon, 04 Mar 2013 23:09:41 +0000 Dan Verbeck, Sylvia Maria Gross & Monica Sandreczki 32905 at http://kcur.org Drought-Stricken Plains Farmers 'Giddy' Over Heavy Snow http://kcur.org/post/drought-stricken-plains-farmers-giddy-over-heavy-snow Two rapid-fire snowstorms <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/02/22/172680402/storm-buries-kansas-missouri-as-it-heads-east" target="_blank">belted Kansas</a> with more than 2 feet of snow this week. Fri, 01 Mar 2013 21:42:00 +0000 Frank Morris 32819 at http://kcur.org Drought-Stricken Plains Farmers 'Giddy' Over Heavy Snow Roof Snow Pack Forces Macy's Evacuation, Close In Overland Park http://kcur.org/post/roof-snow-pack-forces-macys-evacuation-close-overland-park <p>Macy’s store at Metcalf South Shopping Center will stay closed for repair after emergency evacuation today. Wed, 27 Feb 2013 22:59:23 +0000 Dan Verbeck 32685 at http://kcur.org Roof Snow Pack Forces Macy's Evacuation, Close In Overland Park Power Outages Reduced From Kansas City Region Snow Storm http://kcur.org/post/power-outages-reduced-kansas-city-region-snow-storm <p>Kansas City area residents have fought their way out of a second major snowstorm in less than a week. Some areas got upwards of a foot of new snow. Wed, 27 Feb 2013 11:44:25 +0000 Dan Verbeck 32627 at http://kcur.org Power Outages Reduced From Kansas City Region Snow Storm Power Loss Plagues Parts Of KC Region After 13-Inch Snowfall http://kcur.org/post/power-loss-plagues-parts-kc-region-after-13-inch-snowfall <p>This snowstorm brought the added burden of power outages, so wet and heavy it tore down trees and lines. There was a heavier snow on the south side of the metro. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 22:55:13 +0000 Dan Verbeck 32612 at http://kcur.org Power Loss Plagues Parts Of KC Region After 13-Inch Snowfall Snow Update: Power Still Out For Many http://kcur.org/post/snow-update-power-still-out-many <p>"Snowpocalypse 2" brought upwards of a foot of snow to some parts of the Kansas City metropolitan area. The storm shut down schools and businesses, and knocked out power to tens of thousands of residents. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 21:46:36 +0000 Elana Gordon, Sylvia Maria Gross, Dan Verbeck & Laura Spencer 32604 at http://kcur.org Snow Update: Power Still Out For Many Downed Limbs Pose Dangers http://kcur.org/post/downed-limbs-pose-dangers <p>The recent run of severe weather has resulted in extensive power outages and downed power lines throughout Kansas City, Mo. Tens of thousands throughout the metro are without power.</p><p>Because of the higher temps this storm (~ 33 degrees), the snow is very moist and heavy, resulting in accumulation on trees and power lines. This accumulation is causing trees and power lines to sag and is a greater risk of downed power lines.</p><p>KCP&amp;L has called in additional personnel and are progressing through restoration.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 15:26:23 +0000 Maria Carter 32580 at http://kcur.org Downed Limbs Pose Dangers Power Outages Add To Winter Storm Suffering http://kcur.org/post/power-outages-add-winter-storm-suffering <p>An onslaught of winds and continued heavy snowfall&nbsp; are dropping power lines indiscriminately around the Kansas City metro region. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 14:10:17 +0000 Dan Verbeck 32578 at http://kcur.org Power Outages Add To Winter Storm Suffering Elections Still On: Hours Extended, Polling Places Changed http://kcur.org/post/elections-still-hours-extended-polling-places-changed <p><strong>Update Tuesday, 7:30 a.m. </strong>Due to the weather, polling places have been consolidated in both Wyandotte and Johnson Counties. Find polling places for <a href="http://www.wycokck.org/uploadedFiles/Departments/Election_Office/Election_-_Documents/WyCo_Primary_Election-Update_2013.pdf" target="_blank">Wyandotte&nbsp;County here</a> and <a href="http://www.jocoelection.org/" target="_blank">Johnson County here</a>.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 13:56:42 +0000 Emilie Mutert & Sylvia Maria Gross 32531 at http://kcur.org Elections Still On: Hours Extended, Polling Places Changed Wet Snow, Winds Lash Kansas City Region http://kcur.org/post/wet-snow-winds-lash-kansas-city-region <p>A heavy, wet snow continues falling over metro Kansas City with steady winds strong enough to threaten power outages. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 12:29:31 +0000 Dan Verbeck 32570 at http://kcur.org Wet Snow, Winds Lash Kansas City Region More Snow, Whiteout Conditions Expected Monday Night http://kcur.org/post/more-snow-whiteout-conditions-expected-monday-night <p>Some areas were reporting light snow and ice in the early hours of Monday evening. The storm is expected to continue through Tuesday afternoon.</p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 04:51:30 +0000 Emilie Mutert 32483 at http://kcur.org More Snow, Whiteout Conditions Expected Monday Night Snow Affects Elections, Area Recreation http://kcur.org/post/snow-affects-elections-area-recreation <p>Whether you're <strong>lining up to vote</strong> or <strong>hitting the slopes</strong>, the <strong>snow will affect your day</strong> Tuesday.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 32538 at http://kcur.org Snow Affects Elections, Area Recreation Kansas Governor Discourages Travel During Winter Storm http://kcur.org/post/kansas-governor-discourages-travel-during-winter-storm <p>Governor Sam Brownback and state officials are urging Kansans to prepare for the storm that’s sweeping across the state. Brownback says the winter weather has already caused one fatality in Kansas. Mon, 25 Feb 2013 23:06:03 +0000 Stephen Koranda 32554 at http://kcur.org Kansas Governor Discourages Travel During Winter Storm Snow Snarls Traffic, More Snow Expected http://kcur.org/post/snow-snarls-traffic-more-snow-expected <p>It was a bad day to try to get around in Kansas City. <a href="http://www.flykci.com/">KCI</a> essentially closed at mid-morning with about 300 flights cancelled. Although flights are expected to resume later tonight, more cancellations are all but certain tomorrow morning. Driving was terrible, too. Fri, 22 Feb 2013 00:56:26 +0000 Frank Morris & Dan Verbeck 32375 at http://kcur.org Snow Snarls Traffic, More Snow Expected Snow Day: A Reporter's Notebook http://kcur.org/post/snow-day-reporters-notebook <p>A day of municipal mayhem is winding to a close.</p><p>The <em>Kansas City Star</em>’s <a href="http://www.kansascity.com/2013/02/21/4078837/snow-total-could-end-up-being.html" target="_blank">Eric Adler writes</a> that the whiteout of February 21, 2013 is a “100-year storm,” according to the record books.&nbsp;</p><p>Many officials and citizens would probably agree.</p><p>The morning started with a snow dump. Some areas got several inches in several hours, according to the National Weather Service.</p> Fri, 22 Feb 2013 00:28:20 +0000 Laura Ziegler 32372 at http://kcur.org Snow Day: A Reporter's Notebook Determining Cause Of Explosion Expected To Take Time http://kcur.org/post/determining-cause-explosion-expected-take-time <p>Police say investigation of the fire that gutted a Plaza restaurant that killed one person and injured 15 others will take a bit longer than some expected. Fri, 22 Feb 2013 00:11:36 +0000 Steve Bell 32373 at http://kcur.org Determining Cause Of Explosion Expected To Take Time Major Winter Storm Hits KC Area With Up To 12 Inches Snow http://kcur.org/post/major-winter-storm-hits-kc-area-12-inches-snow <p><strong>Update Thursday 5:00 p.m. </strong>KCI&nbsp;remains closed, but officials report that first flights in and out are expected for 7 a.m. Friday. However, they are working to reopen the airport this evening.</p> Thu, 21 Feb 2013 23:09:32 +0000 Dan Verbeck & Emilie Mutert 32228 at http://kcur.org Major Winter Storm Hits KC Area With Up To 12 Inches Snow Snow Day! An Update From Kansas City Officials http://kcur.org/post/snow-day-update-kansas-city-officials <p>You know it's bad when the host of <em>Up to Date</em> needs a push into the parking lot at KCUR.</p><p> Thu, 21 Feb 2013 19:41:05 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 32354 at http://kcur.org Snow Day! An Update From Kansas City Officials Kansas City Declares State Of Emergency http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-declares-state-emergency <p>Kansas City Mayor Sly James has declared a state of emergency in response to the snow storm.&nbsp;</p><p>The city says crews are responding to the snow and reports 250 snow plows are running, but residents are being asked to stay off the streets and park cars in driveways or garages.</p><p>Phase I and II of the City’s Snow Ordinance are in place.&nbsp; Vehicles parked on snow routes may be ticketed or towed.&nbsp; Cars and trucks that get stuck on major roadways without snow tires or&nbsp; chains can also be ticketed.</p> Thu, 21 Feb 2013 16:21:48 +0000 Maria Carter 32334 at http://kcur.org Kansas City Declares State Of Emergency Snow Storm 2013 In Pictures http://kcur.org/post/snow-storm-2013-pictures <p>The snow that fell on the Kansas City area Thursday morning is expected to fade Thursday afternoon. A winter storm warning is still in effect. Meanwhile, the storm has <a href="http://www.kmbc.com/news/kansas-city/Snow-brings-much-of-KC-area-to-standstill/-/11664182/19013844/-/ixjekd/-/index.html" target="_blank">brought much of the metro area to a standstill</a>.</p><p>Above, check out pictures from around the area as Kansas City digs out from the snow storm.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 21 Feb 2013 15:59:27 +0000 Maria Carter 32331 at http://kcur.org Snow Storm 2013 In Pictures Biggest Snow In Two Years Starts In Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/biggest-snow-two-years-starts-kansas-city <p>The Kansas City region's largest winter storm in the last two years has tracked its way up from the desert southwest.<br><br>This storm system is brimming with moisture and packs enough content to&nbsp;keep highway crews and people shoveling sidewalks busy for much of the day.</p><p>At the National Weather Service office in Pleasant Hill, meteorologist Julie Leflan estimates up to 12 inches of snow on the northwest side of the metro, as much as 9 in the southeast suburbs. She says it’s good enough for recent record books.</p> Thu, 21 Feb 2013 13:31:31 +0000 Dan Verbeck 32320 at http://kcur.org Biggest Snow In Two Years Starts In Kansas City The 'Swinging' Sounds Of The Drums In A Pipe Band http://kcur.org/post/swinging-sounds-drums-pipe-band <p>Bagpipers and drummers from across North America and the U.K. hope to stay on the beat and in tune this week in Kansas City while competing in the annual Winter Storm piping and drumming contest. Wed, 09 Jan 2013 23:30:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 30174 at http://kcur.org The 'Swinging' Sounds Of The Drums In A Pipe Band Snow To Continue Through Tuesday Morning http://kcur.org/post/snow-continue-through-tuesday-morning <p>A winter weather advisory is in effect for the Kansas City area until 6 a.m. Tuesday.</p><p> Mon, 31 Dec 2012 18:06:34 +0000 Emilie Mutert 29746 at http://kcur.org Snow To Continue Through Tuesday Morning Top Of The Morning News: December 20, 2012 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-december-20-2012 <p>The KC metro area experienced its first winter storm. Missouri Senators weighed in on legislation to curb gun violence. Kansas tied for last when it comes to public health preparedness. Those stories &amp; more from KCUR. Thu, 20 Dec 2012 12:30:00 +0000 Laura Spencer 29283 at http://kcur.org Top Of The Morning News: December 20, 2012 School Closings, Road Info: The First Winter Storm Of The Season http://kcur.org/post/school-closings-road-info-first-winter-storm-season <p>The Kansas City metro area experienced its first winter storm overnight Wednesday. Strong winds contributed to whiteout conditions for the morning rush hour. Dozens of <strong><a href="http://www.kmbc.com/weather/closings/-/11665728/-/format/rsss_2.0/-/d7n91l/-/index.html">schools are closed Thursday</a></strong> including Blue Valley, Kansas City, Kan., Kansas City Public Schools, Lawrence, and Shawnee Mission.</p><p> Wed, 19 Dec 2012 17:40:51 +0000 Emilie Mutert & Laura Spencer 29215 at http://kcur.org School Closings, Road Info: The First Winter Storm Of The Season