Missouri General Assembly http://kcur.org en Missouri's General Assembly Faces Governor Nixon's Vetoes http://kcur.org/post/missouris-general-assembly-faces-governor-nixons-vetoes <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Two bills recently vetoed by Governor Nixon are on the table for the Missouri General Assembly. Republicans are seeking to overthrow the governor's vetoes&nbsp;on two separate bills dealing with tax cuts and gun control.</span></p> Thu, 12 Sep 2013 17:46:42 +0000 Brian Ellison, Matthew Long-Middleton & Sydney Llewellyn 43490 at http://kcur.org Missouri's General Assembly Faces Governor Nixon's Vetoes Payday Loans Elude Stiffer Regulation In MO http://kcur.org/post/payday-loans-elude-stiffer-regulation-mo <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Payday lenders are notorious for their sky high interest rates, and the people who use these storefront creditors are oftentimes the ones least able to pay.</span></p><p>In the first part of Wednesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, Steve Kraske talks with ProPublica reporter <a href="http://www.propublica.org/site/author/paul_kiel" target="_blank"><strong>Paul Kiel </strong></a>about the situation in Missouri, where attempts to regulate these businesses—such as capping interest rates—keep getting defeated. &nbsp;</p> Tue, 06 Aug 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 41506 at http://kcur.org Payday Loans Elude Stiffer Regulation In MO Legislative Wrap-up: Missouri General Assembly http://kcur.org/post/legislative-wrap-missouri-general-assembly <p>The <strong>Missouri General Assembly</strong> wraps up today. Will your income taxes <strong>be cut</strong>? Will <strong>sales taxes jump</strong> to pay for highways?</p><p> Fri, 17 May 2013 14:25:31 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 36929 at http://kcur.org Legislative Wrap-up: Missouri General Assembly Missouri Legislative Session At The Half http://kcur.org/post/missouri-legislative-session-half <p>At approximately the half-way mark for its 2013 session, the Missouri General Assembly has in some ways performed as expected, but has also delivered some genuine surprises. Fri, 15 Mar 2013 14:37:13 +0000 Steve Bell & Marshall Griffin 33544 at http://kcur.org Missouri Legislative Session At The Half Governor Nixon Begins Second Term http://kcur.org/post/governor-nixon-begins-second-term <p>Jay Nixon has been sworn in for his second and final four-year term as Missouri Governor.&nbsp; Mon, 14 Jan 2013 21:31:15 +0000 Marshall Griffin 30389 at http://kcur.org Governor Nixon Begins Second Term Missouri House Elects New Speaker http://kcur.org/post/missouri-house-elects-new-speaker <p>The <a href="http://www.house.mo.gov/" target="_blank">Missouri House of Representatives</a> has a new speaker: <a href="http://www.house.mo.gov/member.aspx?district=089&amp;year=2012" target="_blank"><strong>Tim Jones</strong></a>. &nbsp;Jones is a Republican from Eureka, Mo.</p><p> Wed, 28 Nov 2012 17:33:03 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 28227 at http://kcur.org Missouri House Elects New Speaker