Jason Kander http://kcur.org en Nixon, Zweifel Report Raising Little Campaign Money — Unlike Kander, Jones http://kcur.org/post/nixon-zweifel-report-raising-little-campaign-money-unlike-kander-jones In the midst of his second term, Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon has continued to travel the state to promote his agenda for the state. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 14:38:18 +0000 Jo Mannies 54500 at http://kcur.org Nixon, Zweifel Report Raising Little Campaign Money — Unlike Kander, Jones Missouri Campaign Finance Proposal Offers Sweeping Changes http://kcur.org/post/missouri-campaign-finance-proposal-offers-sweeping-changes <p>Missouri Secretary of State, Jason Kander, released a proposal Tuesday to change Missouri's&nbsp;campaign finance regulations. But, it is a long-shot in the Republican-led legislature.</p><p>In the first part of Wednesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, Steve Kraske talks with Kander&nbsp;about his goals with the proposal and what the biggest problems are.</p><p></p><p><strong>Guest:</strong></p><ul><li><strong>Jason Kander</strong>, Missouri Secretary of State</li></ul> Wed, 15 Jan 2014 17:21:46 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 49797 at http://kcur.org Missouri Campaign Finance Proposal Offers Sweeping Changes Kander Introduces Sweeping Ethics Reform For Missouri http://kcur.org/post/kander-introduces-sweeping-ethics-reform-missouri <p>Missouri Secretary of State Jason Kander has unveiled a wide-ranging ethics proposal he wants lawmakers to take up and pass this year. It includes restoring campaign contribution limits, banning gifts from lobbyists to all state elected officials, and requiring a 3-year waiting period before ex-lawmakers can work as lobbyists.</p><p>Kander says if adopted, Missouri can go from having the worst ethics system in the country to the best.</p> Wed, 15 Jan 2014 11:27:13 +0000 Marshall Griffin 49798 at http://kcur.org Missouri Secretary Of State Advocates For Ethics Changes http://kcur.org/post/missouri-secretary-state-advocates-ethics-changes <p>The campaign money's flowing in Missouri. Or could you say "gushing?"</p><p>On Thursday June 27, Attorney General Chris Koster, an early favorite to become the next governor of Missouri, picked up $25,000 from a Kansas City law firm and $12,500 more from an eastern Missouri labor union.</p><p>The day before, state Auditor Tom Schweich picked up $10,000 from a St. Louis area business owner.</p> Fri, 28 Jun 2013 15:53:31 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 39293 at http://kcur.org Missouri Secretary Of State Advocates For Ethics Changes Lawsuit Filed Over Language Used In Teacher Tenure Ballot Initiative http://kcur.org/post/lawsuit-filed-over-language-used-teacher-tenure-ballot-initiative <p></p><p>A group of educators is suing the state of Missouri over<a href="http://www.sos.mo.gov/elections/2014petitions/14init_pet.asp#2014024">&nbsp;a proposed constitutional amendment&nbsp;</a>requiring tenure for public school teachers be based on performance, not seniority.</p> Mon, 06 May 2013 14:22:29 +0000 Marshall Griffin 36247 at http://kcur.org New Session, Old Issues In Missouri http://kcur.org/post/new-session-old-issues-missouri <p>With the new year comes a<strong> new session for Missouri lawmakers</strong> in Jefferson City.<br><br> Tue, 29 Jan 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 31050 at http://kcur.org New Session, Old Issues In Missouri Kander Looks To Missouri's Future http://kcur.org/post/kander-looks-missouris-future <p>He defied <a href="http://www.kansascity.com/2012/11/02/3898979/steve-kraske-predictions-mccaskill.html#storylink=misearch" target="_blank">Steve Kraske's predictions </a>and <strong>won the race for Missouri Secretary of State</strong>. Now <strong>Jason Kander</strong> is thinking about the work ahead.</p><p> Tue, 13 Nov 2012 23:24:31 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 27522 at http://kcur.org Kander Looks To Missouri's Future Democrats Win Most Statewide Races In Missouri http://kcur.org/post/democrats-win-most-statewide-races-missouri <p>Despite Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney getting a decisive win in Missouri, Democratic candidates fared well in statewide races.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 16:09:13 +0000 Maria Carter 27234 at http://kcur.org Democrats Win Most Statewide Races In Missouri