Thanksgiving http://kcur.org en Kansas City Black Friday Shoppers Feel Mixed About Deals http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-black-friday-shoppers-feel-mixed-about-deals <p>Black Friday was &nbsp;….well… Thanksgiving Thursday as many stores opened their doors for the holiday shop-a-ganza anywhere between 3 and 9 p.m.</p><p>I went out to Best Buy and Wal Mart at 10:30 p.m. expecting to find the fabled Black Friday frenzy. Instead, I found what looked to be a pretty typical Saturday or Sunday’s parking lot and customer traffic.</p><p>The craziness, I was told, happened earlier in the day.</p> Fri, 29 Nov 2013 18:17:24 +0000 Laura Ziegler 47572 at http://kcur.org Kansas City Black Friday Shoppers Feel Mixed About Deals The Benefits Of Giving Thanks http://kcur.org/post/benefits-giving-thanks <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>It began when Abraham Lincoln declared that in gratitude for the Union Army’s victory at Gettysburg, the fourth Thursday in November would henceforth be a national day of Thanksgiving. We would come to add the familiar stories and imagery of pilgrims and native Americans, the tradition of a harvest feast, but the celebration’s purpose from the start was in its name.</p> Thu, 28 Nov 2013 13:32:12 +0000 Brian Ellison & Danie Alexander 47520 at http://kcur.org The Benefits Of Giving Thanks Tuning Up The Turkey: Thanksgiving Food And Wine http://kcur.org/post/tuning-turkey-thanksgiving-food-and-wine <p>Thanksgiving means turkey, mashed potatoes, pumpkin pie… and all the carbs you could want. Although we’ve all got our tried and true favorites, you won’t ruffle too many feathers if you try a couple of new dishes this year.</p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 15:51:32 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Beth Lipoff 47436 at http://kcur.org Tuning Up The Turkey: Thanksgiving Food And Wine Illinois Farmers Put The Pumpkin In Your Thanksgiving Pie http://kcur.org/post/illinois-farmers-put-pumpkin-your-thanksgiving-pie <p style="margin-bottom: 12px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; outline: 0px; vertical-align: baseline; font-family: 'PT Sans', sans-serif; line-height: 15px;">This Thanksgiving, hungry families all over the country will finish off their holiday meal with a little slice of the Midwest. That’s because the vast majority of all pumpkin that comes from a can and winds up in a pie got its start on a vine in Illinois.</p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 12:09:00 +0000 Peter Gray 47467 at http://kcur.org Illinois Farmers Put The Pumpkin In Your Thanksgiving Pie Your Guide To Interviewing Loved Ones On The 'National Day Of Listening' http://kcur.org/post/your-guide-interviewing-loved-ones-national-day-listening <p>Since November 2008, the public radio community has been celebrating the day after Thanksgiving as a <em>National Day of Listening</em>.</p><p>The holiday is the brain child of <a href="http://storycorps.org/">StoryCorps</a> founder, Dave Isay, and urges people to take advantage of time with friends and family and record interviews with loved ones.</p><p>You don't need to be a radio professional or have a studio to participate, but these tips should help you get started:</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 15:20:57 +0000 Briana O'Higgins 47381 at http://kcur.org Your Guide To Interviewing Loved Ones On The 'National Day Of Listening' Meet The Saddest Man In Kansas On Thanksgiving http://kcur.org/post/meet-saddest-man-kansas-thanksgiving <p></p><p></p><p>For Kansas farmer Frank Reese, Thanksgiving is a sad holiday. He raises heritage turkeys, a breed very different than those you can buy at in a modern-day supermarket. Few farmers in this country are still raising that kind, and many breeds of the bird are endangered.</p><p>To finance his preservation efforts, Reese has to work two jobs, and sell hundreds of birds a year to slaughter.</p><p><strong>On the farm</strong></p> Thu, 21 Nov 2013 16:21:40 +0000 Esther Honig 47188 at http://kcur.org Meet The Saddest Man In Kansas On Thanksgiving Food Critics: The Post-Thanksgiving Detox http://kcur.org/post/food-critics-post-thanksgiving-detox <p>The great thing about the Thanksgiving feast is that the table is groaning with wonderful comfort foods and lots and lots of leftovers.</p><p>The less appealing thing about Thanksgiving is that 48 hours after the holiday, you’re sick of cold turkey sandwiches and re-heated mashed potatoes and you’re ready for something else to eat.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Fri, 15 Nov 2013 16:00:02 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton & Ross Stinemetz 46894 at http://kcur.org Food Critics: The Post-Thanksgiving Detox Lawmaker Wants To Bar Stores From Opening On Thanksgiving http://kcur.org/post/lawmaker-wants-bar-stores-opening-thanksgiving <p>A proposal in the Missouri House would make it illegal for retail stores to open for business on Thanksgiving Day.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 04 Dec 2012 16:20:45 +0000 Marshall Griffin 28494 at http://kcur.org Lawmaker Wants To Bar Stores From Opening On Thanksgiving Some Air Travelers To Be Spared Indignity Of Pat Downs And Shoe Doffing http://kcur.org/post/some-air-travelers-be-spared-indignity-pat-downs-and-shoe-doffing <p>Crowd lovers have met their match at KCI, and for that matter any airport in the country today, the day before Thanksgiving. Wed, 21 Nov 2012 22:58:05 +0000 Dan Verbeck 27969 at http://kcur.org Some Air Travelers To Be Spared Indignity Of Pat Downs And Shoe Doffing The Art Of Carving A Turkey With Ted Habiger Of Room 39 http://kcur.org/post/art-carving-turkey-ted-habiger-room-39 <p>Not quite sure how to carve a turkey?<br><a href="http://rm39.com/ted.htm">Chef Ted Habiger</a> of<a href="http://www.rm39.com/"> Room 39</a>, demonstrates the secret to carving the holiday bird in his home kitchen.</p><p> Wed, 21 Nov 2012 17:02:34 +0000 Julie Denesha 27934 at http://kcur.org The Art Of Carving A Turkey With Ted Habiger Of Room 39 Troubleshooting The Turkey http://kcur.org/post/troubleshooting-turkey <p>Every cook has had<strong> the nightmare</strong>-- a <strong>solidly-frozen turkey</strong> on Thursday morning, no onions for the green bean casserole and a <strong>pumpkin pie gone wrong</strong>.</p><p> Wed, 21 Nov 2012 03:13:05 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 27887 at http://kcur.org Troubleshooting The Turkey Thanksgiving Recipes Remixed http://kcur.org/post/thanksgiving-recipes-remixed <p>Local food writers Beth Bader and Emily Farris share some incredibly easy, creative twists on traditional dishes.</p> Mon, 21 Nov 2011 06:00:00 +0000 Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 8563 at http://kcur.org Thanksgiving Recipes Remixed