Central Standard Friday http://kcur.org en Food Critics: Kansas City's Best Lunch Spots http://kcur.org/post/food-critics-kansas-citys-best-lunch-spots <p></p><p>It's not uncommon for Americans to work through lunch, thoughtlessly scarfing down sustenance at a desk or —worse — in a car.</p><p>But at its best, lunch can be a time to unwind and savor the moment, getting out in the city while nourishing body and soul.</p><p>Some Kansas Citians are keeping the mid-day meal alive in all its glory. Hosted by Charles Ferruzza,&nbsp;KCUR's food critics led a search for exquisite lunch experiences in Kansas City on Friday.&nbsp;</p><p>Here are some of their recommendations:</p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 16:51:50 +0000 Gina Kaufmann, Matthew Long-Middleton, Christie Garton & Kate Baxendale 54395 at http://kcur.org Food Critics: Kansas City's Best Lunch Spots Historic Building Preservation In Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/historic-building-preservation-kansas-city <p>Change is inevitable.&nbsp; But what if that change affects a community-loved building, or historic landmark?</p><p></p><p> Sat, 19 Jan 2013 22:18:20 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey & Matthew Long-Middleton & Monroe Dodd 30623 at http://kcur.org Historic Building Preservation In Kansas City Best & Worst Movies Of 2012 http://kcur.org/post/best-worst-movies-2012 <p>Was <em>Les Miserables</em> miserable?&nbsp; Was <em>Jack Reacher</em> a reach?&nbsp; Should anyone have taken <em>The Guilt Trip</em>?<em>&nbsp; </em>These answers and more, on this week's edition of <strong>Central Standard Friday</strong>.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 04 Jan 2013 22:41:36 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey & Russ Simmons 29966 at http://kcur.org Best & Worst Movies Of 2012 Dining Rooms Of Days Gone By http://kcur.org/post/dining-rooms-days-gone <p>Do you remember the Wishbone, Earl's Hamburgers, Po' Folks, Piccadilly Cafeteria, and the Athena on Broadway?&nbsp; Well, we do.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 31 Dec 2012 18:03:43 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey & Charles Ferruzza 29670 at http://kcur.org Dining Rooms Of Days Gone By The History Of Holiday Shopping http://kcur.org/post/history-holiday-shopping <p>Heads up y'all,<strong> </strong>there's only one weekend left to get that last-minute Christmas shopping done. Wed, 26 Dec 2012 22:18:56 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey & Monroe Dodd 29560 at http://kcur.org The History Of Holiday Shopping Noisy Restaurants http://kcur.org/post/noisy-restaurants <p>Ambience or irritation?&nbsp; That is the question.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 00:00:00 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton & Charles Ferruzza & Jeffrey Harvey 28986 at http://kcur.org Noisy Restaurants Food Critics: Fabulous Fish http://kcur.org/post/food-critics-fabulous-fish <p>We're up to the gills in grouper, trout, and tuna on this week's <strong>Central Standard Friday</strong>.</p><p> Thu, 29 Nov 2012 23:32:30 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 28300 at http://kcur.org Food Critics: Fabulous Fish KC History: Wornall/Majors House Museums http://kcur.org/post/kc-history-wornallmajors-house-museums <p>You've driven past those historic houses in Kansas City, and no doubt they've piqued your curiosity.&nbsp; What's inside?&nbsp; Who once lived there?&nbsp; And how do these places figure into our area's history? Thu, 25 Oct 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Laurie Arbore & Monroe Dodd 26584 at http://kcur.org KC History: Wornall/Majors House Museums