cooking http://kcur.org en On The Farm, Chefs Learn The Basics Of Food Production http://kcur.org/post/farm-chefs-learn-basics-food-production <p>With <a href="http://harvestpublicmedia.org/article/integrated-local-food-system-can-grow-market" target="_blank">farm to table restaurants springing up left and right</a>, cooks are having to go beyond the grocery store. That’s why about a dozen chefs from Chicago and central Illinois recently gathered for a two-day crash course on where their food comes from – the farm.</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 11:02:00 +0000 Sean Powers 58477 at http://kcur.org On The Farm, Chefs Learn The Basics Of Food Production Herbs And Spices: In The Garden And On Your Plate http://kcur.org/post/herbs-and-spices-garden-and-your-plate <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Most of us have a spice rack with lots of different choices in it, but if you’re not a gourmet chef, you might not know which herbs and spices pair the best with different meats and veggies. Then there's the ones with fancy packaging sold fresh at the store-- are they really that much better than your cupboard’s dry goods?&nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 15:57:27 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 57653 at http://kcur.org Herbs And Spices: In The Garden And On Your Plate After 7 Nominations, Local Chef Wins Award http://kcur.org/post/after-7-nominations-local-chef-wins-award <p>After seven nominations, <a href="http://www.bluestemkc.com/" target="_blank">Bluestem</a>'s Chef <strong>Colby Garrelts</strong> took home the prize this week as<strong> Best Chef of the Midwest</strong> at the <strong>James Beard awards</strong> in New York City.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 09 May 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 36464 at http://kcur.org After 7 Nominations, Local Chef Wins Award Cooking With Fire, Water, Wind & Earth http://kcur.org/post/cooking-fire-water-wind-earth <p>Want to <strong>learn the secrets of a barbecue master</strong> or how the <strong>“fermentos” do their thing</strong> with cheese, beer and pickles?&nbsp;</p><p> Sun, 28 Apr 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 35754 at http://kcur.org Cooking With Fire, Water, Wind & Earth Spicing Up Your Passover http://kcur.org/post/spicing-your-passover <p>When you <strong>take bread off the table</strong>, what goes on yours? Award-winning cookbook author <strong>Joan Nathan</strong> has a few ideas. Thu, 21 Mar 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Stephen Steigman 33832 at http://kcur.org Spicing Up Your Passover 'Last Bite' Cookbook Features Kansas City Chefs http://kcur.org/post/last-bite-cookbook-features-kansas-city-chefs <p></p><p>In Kansas City, not only do we love to devour tasty dishes, we pay homage to the <strong>culinary</strong> folk who prepare them.</p><p> Wed, 31 Oct 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Laurie Arbore & Jabulani Leffall 26874 at http://kcur.org 'Last Bite' Cookbook Features Kansas City Chefs A Butcher Shop With A Garden http://kcur.org/post/butcher-shop-garden <p>On this Thursday&#39;s <em><a href="http://kcur.org/programs/centralstandard">Central Standard</a>, </em>a look at a new kind of butcher shop in the East Bottoms, offering whole-pig butchering classes, homemade chutneys, and locally sourced meats.</p><p> Thu, 02 Aug 2012 14:38:16 +0000 Andrea Silenzi, Tomeka Weatherspoon & Jabulani Leffall 22032 at http://kcur.org A Butcher Shop With A Garden Recipes For A Heatwave http://kcur.org/post/recipes-heatwave <p>On this Tuesday&#39;s <em><a href="http://kcur.org/programs/centralstandard">Central Standard</a>, </em>a heat wave recipe exchange. Perfect ideas for those nights when stove is a four letter word.</p> Tue, 17 Jul 2012 14:54:24 +0000 Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 21160 at http://kcur.org Recipes For A Heatwave