DHS http://kcur.org en Sen. Roberts: NBAF Construction Set To Begin http://kcur.org/post/sen-roberts-nbaf-construction-set-begin <p>Groundbreaking for the National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility will take place next Tuesday in Manhattan, Kansas according to a release from Senator Robert's office.</p><p>Cost sharing for this phase of the animal disease lab will be about equal - 50/50- for the independent power plant required on the 48 acre site at Kansas State University. Both Kansas and the federal government are putting in roughly $40 million.</p> Thu, 23 May 2013 16:33:24 +0000 Laura Ziegler 37247 at http://kcur.org Sen. Roberts: NBAF Construction Set To Begin President's Budget Includes Funds For NBAF In Manhattan http://kcur.org/post/presidents-budget-includes-funds-nbaf-manhattan <p>President Obama’s 2014 budget proposal to Congress asks for funds to “develop countermeasures for diseases originating from large animals that can be transmitted to humans, "&nbsp; including $714 million for the National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility in Manhattan, Kansas.</p><p>The news has already been &nbsp;interpreted by supporters as a green light for the $1.15-billion federal animal disease lab known as NBAF, the National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility, in Manhattan, Kansas.</p><p>Senator Pat Roberts said the proposal represents the administration’s support for NBAF.</p> Wed, 10 Apr 2013 16:08:00 +0000 Laura Ziegler 34851 at http://kcur.org President's Budget Includes Funds For NBAF In Manhattan Federal Government Releases Money For Animal Disease Lab http://kcur.org/post/federal-government-releases-money-animal-disease-lab <p>It’s not often that a press release comes out under the name of an entire Congressional delegation, even one as ideologically joined at the hip as this group from Kansas.</p><p>But that’s exactly what happened last month.</p> Tue, 05 Mar 2013 20:28:48 +0000 Laura Ziegler 32981 at http://kcur.org Federal Government Releases Money For Animal Disease Lab Feds Officially Gain Control Of Land For Top Security Lab http://kcur.org/post/feds-officially-gain-control-land-top-security-lab <p>The Department of Homeland Security officially took ownership of 46 acres in Manhattan, Kansas this week for the <a href="http://kcur.org/topic/tracking-nbaf">National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility</a>.</p><p> Thu, 03 Jan 2013 17:49:04 +0000 Laura Ziegler 29894 at http://kcur.org Feds Officially Gain Control Of Land For Top Security Lab NBAF Officially Gets Land: A Green Light For Troubled Project? http://kcur.org/post/nbaf-officially-gets-land-green-light-troubled-project <p>We return now to a story we’ve been covering on an ongoing basis: The debate over the billion-dollar&nbsp; animal disease lab under construction – maybe – in Manhattan, Kansas.</p><p> Mon, 31 Dec 2012 17:38:20 +0000 Laura Ziegler 29742 at http://kcur.org NBAF Officially Gets Land: A Green Light For Troubled Project? Less May Mean More For Federal Animal Disease Lab http://kcur.org/post/less-may-mean-more-federal-animal-disease-lab <p>The National Academies of Sciences issued a set of 10 conclusions today on the future of the National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility in Manhattan, Kansas</p><p>The report says while there is a critical need for a so-called BSL4 lab to research the most dangerous emerging diseases that affect particularly livestock, it said the current NBAF proposal would be better... smaller.</p> Fri, 13 Jul 2012 22:49:12 +0000 Laura Ziegler 21003 at http://kcur.org