heat http://kcur.org en Labor Day Promises Heat Relief In Kansas City Metro http://kcur.org/post/labor-day-promises-heat-relief-kansas-city-metro <p></p><p>Metro Kansas City is baking in what may turn out to be the hottest day of the calendar year, August 30.</p><p>That could be a hundred degrees or higher.</p><p>Spotty rain is expected before the holiday weekend is half way through.</p><p>Downtown is 6.25 inches below the norm for the year, Olathe by more than 3.5.</p><p>Data shows even more dehydration if one considers the period June through August with Olathe scoring a mere&nbsp; 7.4 inches. That amounts to a summertime deficit of 6.02 inches.</p><p>Relief is anticipated within a matter of days.</p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 20:27:40 +0000 Dan Verbeck 42874 at http://kcur.org Heat Advisory Issued for Kansas City Area http://kcur.org/post/heat-advisory-issued-kansas-city-area <p></p><p style="margin-left:.5in;">Temperatures could hit as high as 98 degrees Tuesday with the heat index reaching 108 degrees, but those temperatures aren’t expected to last long. The National Weather Service has issued a <a href="http://forecast.weather.gov/wwamap/wwatxtget.php?cwa=eax&amp;wwa=heat%20advisory">heat advisory for the Kansas City area</a>.&nbsp; It begins at noon and lasts until 7 p.m. Tuesday evening.</p> Tue, 09 Jul 2013 14:13:43 +0000 Payne Roberts & Maria Carter 39832 at http://kcur.org Heat Advisory Issued for Kansas City Area Wind Ahead Of Rain? Fuel For Forest Fires http://kcur.org/post/wind-ahead-rain-fuel-forest-fires <p>You&#39;ll be hard-pressed to find someone who wouldn&#39;t welcome a rain shower after weeks of heat and drought in the region. Wed, 25 Jul 2012 15:17:39 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 21607 at http://kcur.org Wind Ahead Of Rain? Fuel For Forest Fires Fire Departments Warn About Fire Hazard http://kcur.org/post/fire-departments-warn-about-fire-hazard <p>Local fire departments warn drought conditions are producing grass and brush fire hazards in the metropolitan area. Wed, 25 Jul 2012 13:10:45 +0000 Maria Carter 21603 at http://kcur.org Fire Departments Warn About Fire Hazard Watering During Drought: Be Conservative, Urges Water One http://kcur.org/post/watering-during-drought-be-conservative-urges-water-one <p>As the scorching hot weather continues this week, cities in the metro are urging&nbsp; water consumers to space out their watering and not to&nbsp;soak the ground.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 24 Jul 2012 03:09:28 +0000 Laura Ziegler 21518 at http://kcur.org Watering During Drought: Be Conservative, Urges Water One Relentless Heat, Hard Choices: Family Struggles As Utility Bills Rise http://kcur.org/post/relentless-heat-hard-choices-family-struggles-utility-bills-rise <p>The living room of Cheryl Landes&#39; small apartment has the cozy feel of your grandmother&rsquo;s living room.</p><p>No surprise.&nbsp; She&rsquo;s often watching four grandkids, as well as her own 13-year-old son.</p><p>This afternoon, two of them are playing with their hand-held electronic games. They can play alone, or together. They laugh as their small computers make music.</p><p>Cheryl&rsquo;s 90-year-old mother, Billie,&nbsp; lives here too.&nbsp;She quietly sinks into a club&nbsp;chair. She has chronic lung disease, and dementia.</p><p>Both Cheryl and her grandson have asthma.</p> Fri, 06 Jul 2012 06:49:12 +0000 Laura Ziegler 20565 at http://kcur.org Relentless Heat, Hard Choices: Family Struggles As Utility Bills Rise All-Star Ill-Weather Hovers Over Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/all-star-ill-weather-hovers-over-kansas-city <p>Mayor Sly James went to the Kansas City Emergency Operations Center for a briefing on readiness for the All-Star Game and most immediate interest shifted to the heat wave. Thu, 05 Jul 2012 22:45:34 +0000 Dan Verbeck 20564 at http://kcur.org All-Star Ill-Weather Hovers Over Kansas City Cooling Centers Across The Metro http://kcur.org/post/cooling-centers-across-metro <p>With excessive heat warnings in place, it&#39;s important to stay cool.&nbsp; For those without air conditioning, a variety of locations are opening their doors and letting people cool off.</p><p> Thu, 05 Jul 2012 12:23:13 +0000 Maria Carter 20527 at http://kcur.org Cooling Centers Across The Metro Avoiding Heat Exhaustion And Heat Stroke http://kcur.org/post/avoiding-heat-exhaustion-and-heat-stroke <p>The Kansas City area is under a heat advisory.&nbsp; That means it can be dangerous to stay outdoors for long.&nbsp; People who do spend time in the sweltering heat are at risk for heat exhaustion or heat stroke.</p><p> Thu, 05 Jul 2012 12:14:49 +0000 Maria Carter 20526 at http://kcur.org Avoiding Heat Exhaustion And Heat Stroke Dog Days Of Summer Start Early http://kcur.org/post/dog-days-summer-start-early <p>Daily highs have hovered at or near the 100 degree mark for more than a week.&nbsp;&nbsp; The sweaty days are expected will continue through the weekend.&nbsp; The heat can be dangerous, but many people are finding ways to avoid the high temperatures.</p><p> Thu, 05 Jul 2012 11:27:24 +0000 Maria Carter 20524 at http://kcur.org Dog Days Of Summer Start Early Fire Threat Heightened By Heat Trend, Holiday http://kcur.org/post/fire-threat-heightened-heat-trend-holiday <p>With high heat and low humidity, Kansas City metro area communities in two states are more fire conscious than ever in summertime. The imminent splurge of fireworks adds to the threats. Fri, 29 Jun 2012 22:07:00 +0000 Dan Verbeck 20288 at http://kcur.org Fire Threat Heightened By Heat Trend, Holiday Don't Let The Heat Get You Down http://kcur.org/post/dont-let-heat-get-you-down <p>The forecast this weekend calls for at least 100-degree heat Friday, Saturday and Sunday, and the high temperatures are supposed to stick around for several weeks after that. Fri, 29 Jun 2012 14:00:00 +0000 Emilie Mutert 20270 at http://kcur.org Don't Let The Heat Get You Down