business http://kcur.org en How To Successfully Negotiate A Salary http://kcur.org/post/how-successfully-negotiate-salary <p>As a job hunter, we all want that great salary that pays us what we’re worth. But sometimes that means doing things most of us are uncomfortable with, like negotiating with your boss.</p><p>A <a href="http://www.nber.org/papers/w18511">study</a> from the National Bureau of Economic Research indicates that women make up only 2.5&nbsp;percent of the nation’s highest salaries, in part because they often avoid negotiating for better pay.</p><p>Additionally, company budgets can limit what employers actually offer, and negotiating too aggressively can actually backfire.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 20:23:37 +0000 Susan B. Wilson, Matthew Long-Middleton & Ross Stinemetz 50512 at http://kcur.org How Women Make Their Mark In Male-Dominated Worlds http://kcur.org/post/how-women-make-their-mark-male-dominated-worlds <p>The business world is infamous for its “glass ceiling.” And it’s true that being a woman in a man’s world can make it more difficult to succeed.</p><p>In the second part of Tuesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we talk with the president the Kansas City Sports Commission and the publisher of <em>The Kansas City Star</em> — both women — about how they reached the top and what advice they have for other women.</p><p><strong>Guests:</strong></p> Tue, 21 Jan 2014 17:06:57 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 50053 at http://kcur.org How Women Make Their Mark In Male-Dominated Worlds Will 2014 Be The Year To End The Kansas-Missouri Border War? http://kcur.org/post/will-2014-be-year-end-kansas-missouri-border-war <p></p><p>Kansas abolitionists and pro-slavery forces in Missouri fought a bloody border war in the 1850s, splitting the Kansas City region. Some 160 years later the states are still locked in economic combat that pushes businesses, and jobs, back and forth across the state line, with the companies themselves often the only clear winners.</p> Thu, 19 Dec 2013 13:30:13 +0000 Dan Verbeck 48539 at http://kcur.org Will 2014 Be The Year To End The Kansas-Missouri Border War? Kansas City Business Development: A Year In Review http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-business-development-year-review <p>We all know that Kansas City likes to be, well, up to date, and several new businesses are helping make that happen.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Tue, 17 Dec 2013 16:30:17 +0000 Steve Kraske, Stephen Steigman & Beth Lipoff 48418 at http://kcur.org Kansas City Business Development: A Year In Review Tell KCUR: What Are The Dos And Don’ts At Holiday Office Parties? http://kcur.org/post/tell-kcur-what-are-dos-and-don-ts-holiday-office-parties <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Office holiday parties are in full swing in Kansas City.</span></p><p>And we want to know, how can you festively fraternize with your coworkers without jeopardizing your employment?</p><p>Tell KCUR: What are the dos and don’ts at holiday&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">office&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">parties?</span></p><p>Tweet us @KCUR, using the <a href="https://twitter.com/search?q=%23tellkcur">#TellKCUR</a> hashtag.</p> Tue, 17 Dec 2013 13:40:36 +0000 Alyson Raletz 48437 at http://kcur.org Tell KCUR: What Are The Dos And Don’ts At Holiday Office Parties? Former Costco CEO On His Company's Success http://kcur.org/post/former-costco-ceo-his-companys-success <p>Not many retail companies can or want to boast that their employees are paid $21 an hour and given health insurance, but Costco is proud to do so.&nbsp;</p><p>On Monday's&nbsp;<em>Up to Date</em>, Steve Kraske&nbsp;talks with founder and former Costco CEO <strong>Jim Sinegal</strong> about the wild success and the almost unparalleled employee compensation that his company is known for. We'll find out why Sinegal&nbsp;decided to pay his workers over twice the national minimum wage, and what effects it has on their work ethic and shareholders' blood pressure.</p> Mon, 28 Oct 2013 14:30:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Cody Newill 45875 at http://kcur.org Former Costco CEO On His Company's Success Local Probiotics Company Is Missouri’s Exporter Of The Year http://kcur.org/post/local-probiotics-company-missouri-s-exporter-year <p>The Governor’s Conference on Economic Development in Missouri has named a Kansas City company its Exporter of the Year. <a href="http://www.scdprobiotics.com/">SCD Probiotics</a> makes products used for human health, agriculture, veterinary medicine and industry.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Mon, 09 Sep 2013 13:24:27 +0000 Frank Morris 43318 at http://kcur.org Social Entrepreneurship: Making Changes By Making Money http://kcur.org/post/social-entrepreneurship-making-changes-making-money <p>Imagine starting a business for any other reason but to make a profit. There is a subset of business owners who do just that ... social entrepreneurs.</p><p></p><p>These executives look to organize, create and manage a venture to make social change. On Friday's Up to Date we examine social enterprise: from what drives someone to start a business aimed at bettering the lives of others, to the process of taking an idea all the way to market, to how the funds find their way to worthwhile causes.</p><p><strong>Guests:</strong></p> Thu, 05 Sep 2013 22:05:01 +0000 Steve Kraske & Danie Alexander 43176 at http://kcur.org Social Entrepreneurship: Making Changes By Making Money Kan. Increasing Awareness Of State Roofing Law http://kcur.org/post/kan-increasing-awareness-state-roofing-law <p>The state wants to crack down on fly-by-night roofers or scam artists, especially those that might visit an area after a storm.</p><p>There's a Kansas law on the books that took effect in July, requiring roofers to get a state license. But it looks like many companies may not be aware of the requirement,&nbsp;and state office is trying to get the word out.</p><p>The AG's office says they have not levied any fines against roofers for failure to comply with the new law, which the Kansas Attorney General’s Office administers.</p> Wed, 28 Aug 2013 13:26:32 +0000 Stephen Koranda 42708 at http://kcur.org Senior Citizens Targeted for 'Medical Alert' Fraud http://kcur.org/post/senior-citizens-targeted-medical-alert-fraud <p>An on-going scam to bill senior citizens for medical alert device service is gaining steam in Kansas and other Midwestern states.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>The Better Business Bureau says there’s been a significant increase in calls about the scheme.&nbsp; The pre-recorded message claims that someone has purchased a medical alert device for the person as a gift.&nbsp; Then the recipient is asked to verify his or her identity with a bank account or credit card number.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 05 Jul 2013 12:10:07 +0000 Bryan Thompson 39625 at http://kcur.org Managing An Online Business Reputation http://kcur.org/post/managing-online-business-reputation <p>Do all those reviews on sites like Yelp or TripAdvisor <strong>really matter for small businesses</strong>?&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 30 Apr 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 35936 at http://kcur.org Managing An Online Business Reputation Hydroponic Greenhouse To Grace KC Riverfront http://kcur.org/post/hydroponic-greenhouse-grace-kc-riverfront <p>This year the landscape will change dramatically along the banks of the Missouri River just Northeast of Kansas City’s downtown. A hundred thousand square feet of greenhouses are planned for growing produce for a local supermarket chain. Mon, 25 Mar 2013 21:28:03 +0000 Dan Verbeck 34039 at http://kcur.org Hydroponic Greenhouse To Grace KC Riverfront Local Butchers in KC http://kcur.org/post/local-butchers-kc <p>The butcher, the baker, the candlestick maker. Professions once so famous that they made it into nursery rhymes, but how does modern commerce accommodate&nbsp;traditional business? Butchers and meat shops are still present in town, but how has the independent butcher shop changed with meat preparation moved into grocery stores and other superstores?</p><p> Thu, 21 Feb 2013 16:01:21 +0000 Peggy Lowe, Matthew Long-Middleton & Claire McInerny 32332 at http://kcur.org Local Butchers in KC Shaping The Corporate Landscape With Conscious Capitalism http://kcur.org/post/shaping-corporate-landscape-conscious-capitalism <p>It's the new buzzword phrase, but just what is <strong>conscious capitalism</strong>? Thu, 31 Jan 2013 15:43:39 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 31177 at http://kcur.org Shaping The Corporate Landscape With Conscious Capitalism Job Market Predictions For 2013 http://kcur.org/post/job-market-predictions-2013 <p>What will the job market hold for 2013? Nobody has a crystal ball, but certain trends are giving us a hint.</p><p> Fri, 04 Jan 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 29895 at http://kcur.org Job Market Predictions For 2013 Area Development: 2012 Review & 2013 Preview http://kcur.org/post/area-development-2012-review-2013-preview <p>While the announcement that Swedish furniture retailer Ikea was <u>the</u> big story in area development for 2012 for its many fans in the metro, there was a lot more&nbsp;<strong>news about business growth the past year</strong>.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 02 Jan 2013 05:31:21 +0000 Steve Kraske & Danie Alexander 29808 at http://kcur.org Area Development: 2012 Review & 2013 Preview Petty Theft Not So Petty To Area Businesses http://kcur.org/post/petty-theft-not-so-petty-area-businesses <p>The Holiday Season is a time which brings joy to many. For business owners, that joy comes from peaks in profits. People are buying things, but they are also taking them.</p><p> Sun, 30 Dec 2012 23:25:00 +0000 Zack Lewandowski 29665 at http://kcur.org Petty Theft Not So Petty To Area Businesses Growing From Local to International Business http://kcur.org/post/growing-local-international-business <p>Are you a<strong> metro-area small business looking to expand into the global market?</strong>&nbsp; Well you're in luck.</p><p> Tue, 13 Nov 2012 06:08:32 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Jeffrey Harvey & Danie Alexander 27483 at http://kcur.org Growing From Local to International Business The Biggest Deal http://kcur.org/post/biggest-deal <p>What does $20.1 billion get you?&nbsp; Well, if you're Japan's <strong>SoftBank Corp</strong>., it gets you 70% of the third-largest wireless carrier in the United States. Thu, 18 Oct 2012 19:04:06 +0000 Jabulani Leffall & Danie Alexander 26171 at http://kcur.org The Biggest Deal Women Facing Challenges In Business http://kcur.org/post/women-facing-challenges-business <p>Women business owners have less access to outside capital than their male counterparts. When they want to expand or improve their companies, they're more likely to use personal assets rather than seek larger outside funding.</p> Wed, 10 Oct 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Danie Alexander & Brian Ellison 25794 at http://kcur.org Women Facing Challenges In Business UMKC Innovation Center To Create Digital Sandbox http://kcur.org/post/umkc-innovation-center-create-digital-sandbox <p>The announcement was made last week: a UMKC-led consortium claimed a winning spot in the third round of the federal i6 Challenge. Wed, 26 Sep 2012 15:42:52 +0000 Steve Kraske & Danie Alexander 25100 at http://kcur.org UMKC Innovation Center To Create Digital Sandbox Milk & Honey (& Haunts!) http://kcur.org/post/milk-honey-haunts <p>What can be done when you hear blood curdling screams and shrieking coming from your oven? Offer the ghosts a salted caramel macaroon, of course.</p><p> Tue, 14 Aug 2012 15:13:28 +0000 Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 22786 at http://kcur.org Milk & Honey (& Haunts!) A Professional Futurist Tells All http://kcur.org/post/professional-futurist-tells-all <p>Borders Books. Blockbuster Home Movies. These companies share the same mistake; they missed a moment when they were challenged to adapt to a new business landscape. In their places stepped the Amazon Kindle, and Netflix respectively.</p><p> Thu, 14 Jun 2012 15:27:44 +0000 Andrea Silenzi, Jabulani Leffall & Charlie Upchurch 19366 at http://kcur.org A Professional Futurist Tells All Presidential Policies and Black Entrepreneurship http://kcur.org/post/presidential-policies-and-black-entrepreneurship <p>An American president once said that black power is the power that people should have over their own destinies, the power that comes from participation in the political and economic process of society. That president? Richard Nixon.</p><p> Mon, 30 Apr 2012 19:06:57 +0000 Charlie Upchurch, Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 16838 at http://kcur.org Presidential Policies and Black Entrepreneurship Two KC Businesses Build Largest Solar Canopy In Area http://kcur.org/post/two-kc-businesses-build-largest-solar-canopy-area <p>Necessity may be the mother of invention, but collaboration might be the father of innovation. Wed, 18 Apr 2012 22:04:08 +0000 Charlie Upchurch, Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 16190 at http://kcur.org Two KC Businesses Build Largest Solar Canopy In Area Local Businesses Brace for Health Care Changes http://kcur.org/post/local-businesses-brace-health-care-changes <p class="legacy-audio-url"> <div class="audio-container"> <div id="jp-interface-534e7b4998752-" class="jp-interface"> <div id="post-audio-534e7b4998752-" class="jp-player" jp-instance="534e7b4998752-"></div> <div class="jp-controls column"> <div class="jp-progress"> <div class="jp-seek-bar"> <div class="jp-play-bar"></div> </div> </div><!-- end jp-progress --> </div><!-- end jp-controls --> <div class="playpause column"> <a href="http://stream.publicbroadcasting.net/production/mp3/kcur/local-kcur-924099.mp3" class="jp-play">Listen</a> <a class="jp-pause"></a> </div><!-- playpause --> <div class="jp-time-holder column"> <div class="jp-custom-current-time"></div> <div class="jp-custom-duration"></div> </div><!-- jp-time-holder --> <div id="slider"></div> </div><!-- .jp-interface --> </div><!-- container --> </p> <p>Kansas City, MO – An onset of new federal regulations and incentives has area businesses preparing for possible changes to their health plans. Small business owners convened at the Liberty Memorial yesterday, to learn more about how provisions in the new health law will affect their businesses and their workers.</p> Thu, 16 Sep 2010 16:25:51 +0000 Elana Gordon 7062 at http://kcur.org Local Businesses Brace for Health Care Changes