Missouri Foundation for Health http://kcur.org en Hospital Prices Vary Widely In Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/hospital-prices-vary-widely-kansas-city <p>For the first time, the federal government has released the prices that hospitals for the 100 most common inpatient procedures.&nbsp; The prices for a given procedure can vary by tens of thousands of dollars. Thu, 09 May 2013 14:56:37 +0000 Véronique LaCapra 36450 at http://kcur.org Feds To Take Lead On Health Exchanges In Kansas, Missouri http://kcur.org/post/feds-take-lead-health-exchanges-kansas-missouri <p>Immediately after the presidential election, Missouri Governor Jay Nixon announced the state would not be setting up its own health insurance exchange.</p><p> Mon, 19 Nov 2012 17:21:22 +0000 Elana Gordon 27825 at http://kcur.org Feds To Take Lead On Health Exchanges In Kansas, Missouri Six Things To Know About Medicaid In Kansas And Missouri http://kcur.org/post/six-things-know-about-medicaid-kansas-and-missouri <p>Now that the U.S. Supreme Court has ruled on the federal health law, we’ll be hearing a lot more about one of its key aspects: Medicaid. In light of this, and in the first of an occasional series “breaking down” the region’s complex health system, below are six essential things to know about Medicaid in Kansas and Missouri.</p> Sun, 12 Aug 2012 22:40:21 +0000 Elana Gordon 22697 at http://kcur.org Six Things To Know About Medicaid In Kansas And Missouri Uncertainty Surrounds Health Law Implementation In Kansas And Missouri http://kcur.org/post/uncertainty-surrounds-health-law-implementation-kansas-and-missouri <p>Thursday&rsquo;s U.S. Supreme Court ruling upholding the federal health law has provided more clarity to the region and country.&nbsp;</p><p> Sun, 01 Jul 2012 16:36:11 +0000 Elana Gordon 20347 at http://kcur.org Much At Stake With Upcoming Supreme Court Ruling http://kcur.org/post/much-stake-upcoming-supreme-court-ruling <p>As the nation awaits a U.S. Supreme Court ruling on the federal health law, regional health leaders say much is at stake for the area&rsquo;s health system and residents.</p><p> Thu, 28 Jun 2012 04:03:14 +0000 Elana Gordon 20131 at http://kcur.org Much At Stake With Upcoming Supreme Court Ruling Charity Care Up At Missouri Hospitals http://kcur.org/post/charity-care-missouri-hospitals <p>Charity care at Missouri hospitals has been on the rise in recent years, and urban and rural hospitals are handling this increase differently.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 04 Jun 2012 04:50:39 +0000 Elana Gordon 18747 at http://kcur.org Charity Care Up At Missouri Hospitals