DMV http://kcur.org en Nixon Signs Bill Blocking Scanning Of Documents For Driver's Licenses http://kcur.org/post/nixon-signs-bill-blocking-scanning-documents-drivers-licenses <p>Perhaps in an effort to put an end to an ongoing political battle over the practice, Missouri&nbsp;Gov. Jay Nixon has&nbsp;<a href="http://www.senate.mo.gov/13info/pdf-bill/tat/SB252.pdf">signed legislation</a> blocking the state Department of Revenue from scanning and storing documents required to get a driver's license.</p> Tue, 02 Jul 2013 14:14:26 +0000 Rachel Lippmann 39464 at http://kcur.org Nixon Criticizes Tax Cut Bill, DMV Funding http://kcur.org/post/nixon-criticizes-tax-cut-bill-dmv-funding <p>Missoui <a href="http://gov.mo.gov/">Governor Jay Nixon</a>, a Democrat, delivered a mixed report card Friday on the state budget and other bills&nbsp;passed by the Republican-controlled<a href="http://moga.mo.gov/"> Missouri General Assembly </a>this week.</p><p>While he complimented lawmakers for increasing funding for K-12 schools and higher education, he also&nbsp;criticized them for passing legislation that would cut state income tax rates for individuals and corporations.&nbsp; He told reporters that the bill would gut state revenues by more than $800 million.</p> Mon, 13 May 2013 14:41:26 +0000 Marshall Griffin 36634 at http://kcur.org Nixon Criticizes Tax Cut Bill, DMV Funding Negotiators Approve Final Version Of Missouri Budget http://kcur.org/post/negotiators-approve-final-version-missouri-budget <p>Missouri House and Senate budget negotiators have crafted a final version of next year's state budget.</p><p>The nearly $25 billion spending plan includes a $66 million increase for K-12 schools, and a $25 million hike for state universities and community colleges.&nbsp; It still does not include the Medicaid expansion proposed by Democratic Governor Jay Nixon, which disappointed committee member and&nbsp;State Senator Kiki Curls, also a Democrat, from Kansas City.</p> Wed, 08 May 2013 16:28:33 +0000 Marshall Griffin 36385 at http://kcur.org Negotiators Approve Final Version Of Missouri Budget State Withholds $2 Million Payment For New DMV System http://kcur.org/post/state-withholds-2-million-payment-new-dmv-system <p>The state of Kansas is withholding its final $2 million payment to 3M Co. for the new Department of Motor Vehicles computer system that caused massive delays, <a href="http://www.kansascity.com/2012/11/12/3912856/kansas-withholding-overdue-last.html" target="_blank">reports</a> the <em>Kansas City Star</em> via the Associated Press.</p><p> Mon, 12 Nov 2012 23:15:50 +0000 Emilie Mutert 27467 at http://kcur.org State Withholds $2 Million Payment For New DMV System New Group To Look For Ways To Improve DMV Service http://kcur.org/post/new-group-look-ways-improve-dmv-service <p>Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback is creating a task force to look for ways to improve the DMV system in Kansas.</p><p> Fri, 05 Oct 2012 20:44:16 +0000 Stephen Koranda 25599 at http://kcur.org New Group To Look For Ways To Improve DMV Service Waiting At The DMV Now A Full-Time Job http://kcur.org/post/waiting-dmv-now-full-time-job <p>Everyone loves waiting at the DMV, but it is possible to have too much of a good thing. <a href="http://treasurer.jocogov.org/" target="_blank">Right now the wait times</a> at the Johnson County, Kan. offices in Mission and Olathe are 5 hours 4 minutes and 5 hours 15 minutes, respectively.</p><p> Wed, 23 May 2012 16:59:32 +0000 Emilie Mutert 18169 at http://kcur.org