violent crime http://kcur.org en How Bystanders Made A Murder Case Famous http://kcur.org/post/how-bystanders-made-murder-case-famous <p></p><p>If you heard or saw a crime happening, what would you do? The people who heard Kitty Genovese scream as she was murdered didn’t do anything, in a famous case that became known for the bystander effect.&nbsp;</p><p>On Tuesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we talk about the case that helped drive the development of the 911 emergency call system and what new details about the killing have emerged over the years.</p><p><strong>Guest:</strong></p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 15:39:23 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 52455 at http://kcur.org How Bystanders Made A Murder Case Famous On Death Row: Missouri Inmate Michael Taylor Scheduled To Be Executed http://kcur.org/post/death-row-missouri-inmate-michael-taylor-scheduled-be-executed <p>Missouri inmate Michael Taylor is scheduled to be executed just after midnight on Wednesday. Pentobarbital from an unnamed compounding pharmacy will be used.</p><p>Taylor's attorneys are concerned that the drug may cause his client unnecessary suffering because the anonymous pharmacy cannot be checked for legitimacy and any previous violations. By law, compounding pharmacies that supply lethal injection formulas in Missouri are allowed to remain anonymous.</p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 22:00:00 +0000 Jeremy Bernfeld, Matthew Long-Middleton & Kate Baxendale 51806 at http://kcur.org Using Science To Stop Violence http://kcur.org/post/using-science-stop-violence <p>An expert on the epidemic of gun violence that has gripped Kansas City and cities across the country for decades, says the issue has been "completely misunderstood."</p><p>In the second part of Wednesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we talk with him about his method of viewing violence as an epidemic, a condition that can be reversed using "science-based methods."</p><p><strong>Guest:</strong></p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 19:44:21 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 51507 at http://kcur.org Using Science To Stop Violence Crimes Mar KCATA System http://kcur.org/post/crimes-mar-kcata-system <p>Public transit is often touted as a better alternative to personal vehicles, but safety concerns have recently plagued the Kansas City Area Transportation Authority buses, after a stabbing and a shooting left a bus driver and passengers seriously injured.</p><p></p><p>In the second part of Wednesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we talked with <strong>Cynthia Baker</strong>, KCATA's director of marketing, about the recent incidents and what the transit authority plans to do to keep buses safe.</p> Wed, 31 Jul 2013 15:50:52 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 41158 at http://kcur.org Crimes Mar KCATA System KCMO Police Chief Discusses Violent Crime http://kcur.org/post/kcmo-police-chief-discusses-violent-crime <p>With <strong>61 people indicted last week </strong>on weapons and drug charges, Kansas City is <strong>making a statement</strong>.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 13 May 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 36662 at http://kcur.org KCMO Police Chief Discusses Violent Crime A Look At What Triggers Murder-Suicides http://kcur.org/post/look-what-triggers-murder-suicides <p>Murder suicide is rare, but on the rise across the country. Missouri is in the top ten for women killed by intimate partners, and murder-suicide has increased in Kansas. Mon, 10 Dec 2012 22:44:52 +0000 Susan B. Wilson 28809 at http://kcur.org A Look At What Triggers Murder-Suicides Dealing With Domestic Violence http://kcur.org/post/dealing-domestic-violence <p>This weekend's news about the <strong>murder-suicide involving&nbsp;Jovan<span class="Apple-converted-space">&nbsp;</span>Belcher </strong>of the Kansas City Chiefs is bringing the <strong>ongoing discussion about domestic violence</strong> to the forefront.</p> Wed, 05 Dec 2012 01:54:06 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Brian Ellison 28537 at http://kcur.org Dealing With Domestic Violence New Strategies For Combating Crime In Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/new-strategies-combating-crime-kansas-city <p>Kansas City has tried many programs to reduce violent crime.&nbsp; But despite them all,<strong> the first 5 months of 2012 have seen more violent crime than in many recent years.</strong></p><p> Mon, 21 May 2012 17:57:22 +0000 Susan B. Wilson 18041 at http://kcur.org New Strategies For Combating Crime In Kansas City Top Of The Morning News: Wednesday, May 16, 2012 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-wednesday-may-16-2012 <p>Kansas City shifts strategies on how to deal with violent crime.&nbsp; Missouri lawmakers take on everything from workers&rsquo; compensation to keeping the Jayhawk off of Missouri license plates.&nbsp; That and more from KCUR.</p><p> Wed, 16 May 2012 13:42:25 +0000 Maria Carter 17755 at http://kcur.org Top Of The Morning News: Wednesday, May 16, 2012