Kansas government http://kcur.org en Analyzing The Kansas School Funding Ruling http://kcur.org/post/analyzing-kansas-school-funding-ruling <p></p><p>This morning, the Kansas Supreme Court ruled that a lower court will deal with what it called unconstitutional inadequate funding for the state's K-12 schools.</p><p>On Friday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we take a look at what the 110-page ruling will mean for school funding, how the lower court might handle the the details and how all this affects this fall's race for the governor's office.</p><p><strong>Guests:</strong></p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 20:07:12 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 52283 at http://kcur.org Analyzing The Kansas School Funding Ruling Divided Opinions Dominate Immigration Talks http://kcur.org/post/divided-opinions-dominate-immigration-talks <div><div><p></p><p></p><p>A new Kansas statute requires proof of citizenship before voting in an election for the first time. The controversial legislation has many people divided.&nbsp;</p></div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>This hour, <strong>Kris Kobach</strong>, known for his influence on&nbsp;immigration law, and author <strong>Alvaro Vargas Llosa</strong> join Steve Kraske to discuss policy and reform.&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div></div><p></p> Wed, 19 Jun 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 38807 at http://kcur.org Divided Opinions Dominate Immigration Talks The Ethics Professors: College Sports, Parental Responsibility & Citizen Well-being http://kcur.org/post/ethics-professors-college-sports-parental-responsibility-citizen-well-being <p>How much power is <strong>too much</strong> when it comes to the hallowed fields of <strong>college sports</strong>? Thu, 25 Apr 2013 16:47:36 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 35686 at http://kcur.org The Ethics Professors: College Sports, Parental Responsibility & Citizen Well-being The Kansas Sales Tax: To Extend Or Not To Extend http://kcur.org/post/kansas-sales-tax-extend-or-not-extend <p><br>Three years ago the Kansas legislature passed a<strong> one-cent sales tax</strong> with the intention of removing it at a later date. Tue, 23 Apr 2013 20:21:52 +0000 Steve Kraske & Danie Alexander 35569 at http://kcur.org The Kansas Sales Tax: To Extend Or Not To Extend Kansas Officials Find Creative Interpretations Of Laws http://kcur.org/post/kansas-officials-find-creative-interpretations-laws <p>Lawmakers and officials in Kansas seem to be unclear on what some of the laws on that state's books actually mean. Wed, 23 Jan 2013 17:54:47 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 30812 at http://kcur.org Kansas Officials Find Creative Interpretations Of Laws Kansas Redistricting Shakes Up Races http://kcur.org/post/kansas-redistricting-shakes-races <p>A panel of three federal judges last week issued <strong>new political maps for Kansas</strong>. New boundary lines were issued for members of Congress, the state Senate, the state House and the Kansas Board of Education.</p><p> Tue, 12 Jun 2012 15:31:24 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 19240 at http://kcur.org Kansas Redistricting Shakes Up Races Big Kansas Tax Cut Bill Passes, Could Produce $2.7 Billion Shortfall http://kcur.org/post/big-kansas-tax-cut-bill-passes-could-produce-27-billion-shortfall <p>The Kansas House has surprised the Senate by bypassing a compromise tax-cut plan while the Senate was preparing to vote on it.</p><p> Wed, 09 May 2012 22:08:34 +0000 Steve Bell 17399 at http://kcur.org