regional health http://kcur.org en Community Health Center To Expand In Independence http://kcur.org/post/community-health-center-expand-independence <p>One of Kansas City&rsquo;s main community health centers got a major funding boost today. Swope Health Services has received $2,515,313 in federal grants for facility and infrastructure upgrades.&nbsp; Tue, 01 May 2012 19:55:25 +0000 Elana Gordon 16923 at http://kcur.org Community Health Center To Expand In Independence Brownback Offers To Postpone Kancare For DD Waiver Services http://kcur.org/post/brownback-offers-postpone-kancare-dd-waiver-services <p>Shortly after hundreds of Kansans converged on the Statehouse to oppose one aspect of Gov. Sam Brownback&rsquo;s Medicaid reform plan, the governor has acceded to their demands&mdash;at least partially.</p><p> Thu, 26 Apr 2012 13:23:33 +0000 Bryan Thompson 16625 at http://kcur.org Hundreds Rally Over Kansas Gov.'s Medicaid Overhaul http://kcur.org/post/hundreds-rally-over-kansas-govs-medicaid-overhaul <p>Hundreds of developmentally disabled Kansas residents and advocates for them have rallied at the Statehouse against part of Gov. Sam Brownback&#39;s <a href="http://kcur.org/post/deadline-passes-lawmakers-reject-medicaid-reorganization-plan">plan to overhaul the state&#39;s Medicaid program</a>.</p><p> Wed, 25 Apr 2012 18:23:32 +0000 Stephen Koranda & Associated Press 16572 at http://kcur.org Medical Software Giant Expands In KCK http://kcur.org/post/medical-software-giant-expands-kck <p>Construction is now underway at Cerner&rsquo;s new campus near the Kansas Speedway in Kansas City, Kan. Once completed, the $190 million development will contain two nine-story buildings on a 660,000 square-foot campus and employ thousands of people. Wed, 25 Apr 2012 18:11:46 +0000 Elana Gordon 16569 at http://kcur.org Medical Software Giant Expands In KCK City's Health Care Tax Under Review http://kcur.org/post/citys-health-care-tax-under-review <p>Residents of Kansas City have long financed public health, ambulance and indigent health services through a property tax which last year, brought in nearly $50 million.</p><p> Sun, 15 Apr 2012 20:47:35 +0000 Elana Gordon 16007 at http://kcur.org City's Health Care Tax Under Review Deadline Passes For Lawmakers To Reject Medicaid Reorganization Plan http://kcur.org/post/deadline-passes-lawmakers-reject-medicaid-reorganization-plan <p>Kansas Governor Sam Brownback says his plan to overhaul Medicaid is underway, since a deadline for lawmakers to reject the order has passed.</p><p> Thu, 12 Apr 2012 21:19:24 +0000 Stephen Koranda 15884 at http://kcur.org Registered Dental Practitioners: A New Way To Fill The Need For Dental Care? http://kcur.org/post/registered-dental-practitioners-new-way-fill-need-dental-care <p>Analysts have known for years that Kansas has a severe shortage of dentists -- and that shortage is getting worse. The problem is greatest in rural Kansas, especially in the western part of the state. One idea under consideration is the creation of a mid-level dental provider. This would be a person whose training and skills fall somewhere between those of a hygienist and a full-fledged dentist. But the proposal to create such a position remains bogged down in the Kansas Legislature.</p> Wed, 11 Apr 2012 16:23:39 +0000 Bryan Thompson 15813 at http://kcur.org Registered Dental Practitioners: A New Way To Fill The Need For Dental Care? Fast Food Chains In Cafeterias Put Hospitals In A Bind http://kcur.org/post/fast-food-chains-cafeterias-put-hospitals-bind On one side of a wall inside the Truman Medical Center cafeteria in Kansas City, Missouri, the menu features low-calorie, low-fat and low-sodium meals. Mon, 09 Apr 2012 17:42:00 +0000 Elana Gordon 15693 at http://kcur.org Fast Food Chains In Cafeterias Put Hospitals In A Bind Residents Raise Money For Contraceptives After County Votes Down Funding http://kcur.org/post/residents-raise-money-contraceptives-after-county-votes-down-funding <p>In response to leaders of Miami County voting against drawing down federal funds for a program that has long provided birth control to low income families, a group of area residents has raised the money.</p><p> Mon, 09 Apr 2012 01:27:18 +0000 Elana Gordon 15653 at http://kcur.org New Report Sheds Light On Missouri Women's Health http://kcur.org/post/new-report-sheds-light-missouri-womens-health <p>Back in 2004, the health and economic status of Missouri women was rated a C- by <strong>Women&#39;s Policy Research</strong>. Have we made progress since then?</p><p> Mon, 02 Apr 2012 17:46:35 +0000 Susan B. Wilson 15273 at http://kcur.org New Report Sheds Light On Missouri Women's Health Discarded Abortion Records Prompt Investigation, Chargeable Violations Unclear http://kcur.org/post/discarded-abortion-records-prompt-investigation-chargeable-violations-unclear <p>The discovery of hundreds of private abortion records near a school in Overland Park, Kan. has prompted a police investigation. Wed, 28 Mar 2012 00:18:36 +0000 Elana Gordon 14977 at http://kcur.org Hundreds Rally At Missouri Capitol, Contraception Bill Moves Forward In Senate http://kcur.org/post/hundreds-rally-missouri-capitol-contraception-bill-moves-forward-senate <p>Two rallies in Jefferson City today each called for the repeal of the 2010 Affordable Care Act and for employers to have the right to not provide coverage for birth control.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 27 Mar 2012 23:36:25 +0000 Marshall Griffin 14975 at http://kcur.org Feds Deem Health Insurance Rate Hike Unreasonable http://kcur.org/post/feds-deem-health-insurance-rate-hike-unreasonable <p>Six months after the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services began reviewing proposed rate increases by health insurance plans, it&rsquo;s deemed its first rate hike in Missouri to be unreasonable. Thu, 22 Mar 2012 20:46:53 +0000 Elana Gordon 14672 at http://kcur.org Nixon Calls For Restored Funding Of Services For Visually Impaired http://kcur.org/post/nixon-calls-restored-funding-services-visually-impaired <p>Gov. Jay Nixon is calling on the Missouri House to restore health care funding for blind people after a committee voted last week to cut the program from next year&rsquo;s budget.</p><p> Tue, 13 Mar 2012 20:23:36 +0000 Jacob Fenston 14141 at http://kcur.org Nixon Calls For Restored Funding Of Services For Visually Impaired