wine http://kcur.org en Tuning Up The Turkey: Thanksgiving Food And Wine http://kcur.org/post/tuning-turkey-thanksgiving-food-and-wine <p>Thanksgiving means turkey, mashed potatoes, pumpkin pie… and all the carbs you could want. Although we’ve all got our tried and true favorites, you won’t ruffle too many feathers if you try a couple of new dishes this year.</p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 15:51:32 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Beth Lipoff 47436 at http://kcur.org Tuning Up The Turkey: Thanksgiving Food And Wine Herbicide Drift Threatens Midwest Vineyards http://kcur.org/post/herbicide-drift-threatens-midwest-vineyards <p>As Midwest vineyards move in next door to longstanding fields of corn or soybeans, they don’t always make good neighbors. Occasionally, herbicides like 2,4-D drift beyond their target, and for nearby vineyards the results can be devastating.</p><p>2,4-D is a common herbicide used by farmers because it kills weeds but doesn’t kill their corn. Landscapers and golf courses use it on lawns and fairways. Highway crews often spray 2,4-D on road ditches.</p> Mon, 02 Sep 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Grant Gerlock 42873 at http://kcur.org Herbicide Drift Threatens Midwest Vineyards Talking Tannins: Summer Wine http://kcur.org/post/talking-tannins-summer-wine <p>Summertime in Kansas City can be sweltering, but a good glass of chilled wine can be just the thing to cool off.<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 19 Jul 2013 14:43:18 +0000 Beth Lipoff, Steve Kraske & Sangeeta Shastry 40487 at http://kcur.org Talking Tannins: Summer Wine Great Regional Wines For The Holiday Season & Beyond http://kcur.org/post/great-regional-wines-holiday-season-beyond <p>If you're looking for a good <strong>wine</strong> this holiday season, you needn't look far. &nbsp;You'll find a bunch of great <strong>wineries bottling their goods in the Kansas City Region</strong>.</p><p> Mon, 24 Dec 2012 14:54:38 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 29463 at http://kcur.org Great Regional Wines For The Holiday Season & Beyond Pouring Over Election Day Results With Cocktails http://kcur.org/post/pouring-over-election-day-results-cocktails <p>If you've never heard of a <strong>Maiden’s Blush</strong> or a <strong>Parkeroo</strong>, you're not alone, but a new book catalogues these and other <strong>forgotten cocktails from past generations</strong>. Tue, 06 Nov 2012 04:27:05 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Brian Ellison 27100 at http://kcur.org Pouring Over Election Day Results With Cocktails Don't Call It A Malbec: Europe Sours On British Winery's Plan http://kcur.org/post/dont-call-it-malbec-europe-sours-british-winerys-plan A British winemaker has finally been given official approval to release a limited-edition wine made in collaboration with Malbec grape growers in Argentina, on one condition: It can't sell the wine, or label it a Malbec. Mon, 23 Apr 2012 14:53:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 16413 at http://kcur.org Don't Call It A Malbec: Europe Sours On British Winery's Plan