lottery http://kcur.org en Cash Money Crew: Managing And Investing A Financial Windfall http://kcur.org/post/cash-money-crew-managing-and-investing-financial-windfall <p>Many of us fantasize about receiving a large sum of money unexpectedly. This is the very fantasy that sends people to the grocery store for lottery tickets.</p><p>But it's not <em>just</em> a fantasy. Situations do arise when people who are not necessarily experienced in dealing with money find themselves on the receiving end of a financial windfall.</p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 17:05:12 +0000 Gina Kaufmann, Matthew Long-Middleton & Kate Baxendale 54504 at http://kcur.org Cash Money Crew: Managing And Investing A Financial Windfall Federal Authorities Ask For Help In Protecting Consumers From Fraud http://kcur.org/post/federal-authorities-ask-help-protecting-consumers-fraud <p></p><p>In recognition of <a href="https://www.ncpw.gov/">National Consumer Protection Week</a>, postal inspectors and U.S. Attorneys from Western Missouri and Kansas are asking the public for help fighting sweepstakes scams. According to prosecutors Tammy Dickinson and Barry Grissom, most are operating from outside the United States.</p><p></p><p>Many of the lottery winning schemes mail impressive looking certificates. Tom Noyes of the postal inspection service in Kansas City says most gullible victims are elderly and will often send up front money to con artists.</p> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 23:11:35 +0000 Dan Verbeck 52255 at http://kcur.org Federal Authorities Ask For Help In Protecting Consumers From Fraud Rural Family Bids Farewell To Money Woes With Record Lotto Win http://kcur.org/post/rural-family-bids-farewell-money-woes-record-lotto-win <p>Friends of the Dearborn, Missouri couple who are half-winners of a record $587.5 million Powerball Lottery jackpot think Cindy and Mark Hill will do some good with their winnings.</p><p> Mon, 03 Dec 2012 04:10:13 +0000 Dan Verbeck 28417 at http://kcur.org Rural Family Bids Farewell To Money Woes With Record Lotto Win Missouri Powerball Winner ID'd Today http://kcur.org/post/missouri-powerball-winner-idd-today "I think I am having a heart attack. I think we just won the lottery!"<p>That's what 51-year-old Cindy Hill of Dearborn, Mo., says she told her husband, Mark, Thursday morning after figuring out that she had, indeed, bought one of the two winning Powerball tickets. Her family can now collect more than $192 million (before taxes) by choosing the game's "cash option."<p><a href="http://www.molottery.com/media/news_release.jsp?articleId=5193" target="_blank">The Missouri Lottery confirmed at mid-day</a> the reports that the Hill family had one of the big tickets. Fri, 30 Nov 2012 15:57:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 28340 at http://kcur.org Missouri Powerball Winner ID'd Today Top Of The Morning News: Wednesday, April 18, 2012 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-wednesday-april-18-2012 <p>Advocates are calling for Kansas Governor Sam Brownback to restore funding for early childhood programs now that the state has received its tobacco money.&nbsp; That and more news from KCUR.</p><p> Wed, 18 Apr 2012 13:15:28 +0000 Maria Carter 16157 at http://kcur.org Lottery Win Means More State Tax Collections http://kcur.org/post/lottery-win-means-more-state-tax-collections <p>A Kansas lottery ticket winner is helping the state&#39;s bottom line. The still-anonymous resident won a nearly $160 million jackpot in a lottery drawing last month. Tue, 17 Apr 2012 20:17:21 +0000 Stephen Koranda 16121 at http://kcur.org Lottery Win Means More State Tax Collections Last Mega Millions Jackpot Ticket Turned In http://kcur.org/post/last-mega-millions-jackpot-ticket-turned Lottery officials in Illinois say the third of the three winning tickets in last month's record $656 million Mega Millions jackpot has been turned in.<p>We'll learn who the winner is on Wednesday, The Associated Press says.<p>Illinois is the only one of the three states where winning tickets were sold that doesn't allow lucky players to stay anonymous. Mon, 16 Apr 2012 22:05:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 16065 at http://kcur.org