Culture http://kcur.org en A Closer Look At The Cultural Divides In The Ozarks http://kcur.org/post/closer-look-cultural-divides-ozarks <p>In many ways, the Ozarks are trying to catch up to modern American culture while still retaining old values. The "code of the hills" still keeps the region mostly white, and it has long been a haven for supremacists.</p> Thu, 15 May 2014 15:25:54 +0000 Steve Kraske & Cody Newill 55767 at http://kcur.org A Closer Look At The Cultural Divides In The Ozarks Mother's Day: A Radical History, Plus Kansas Citians' Stories http://kcur.org/post/mothers-day-radical-history-plus-kansas-citians-stories <p>You could be forgiven if you happen to believe that Mother's Day is a holiday invented by florists, candy stores and greeting card companies. In point of fact, however, this holiday has a hard-won, grassroots history that puts today's celebrations in context.</p><p>On <em>Central Standard</em>, a historian introduced us to three women who lobbied for a mother's day of sorts: the first out of a desire for peace, the second to decrease infant mortality through education, and the third in service of her own professional yearnings.</p> Thu, 08 May 2014 18:12:50 +0000 Gina Kaufmann, Matthew Long-Middleton, Sylvia Maria Gross & Kate Baxendale 55415 at http://kcur.org Mother's Day: A Radical History, Plus Kansas Citians' Stories Five Stories Behind KC Neighborhoods And Parks http://kcur.org/post/five-stories-behind-kc-neighborhoods-and-parks <p></p><p>Ever wonder how neighborhoods and parks around the city got their names? Host&nbsp;<strong>Monroe Dodd</strong> was back during Friday's show with a panel of guests to tell the stories behind the names of public spaces and communities in Kansas City.</p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 14:20:54 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton, Ross Stinemetz & Sangeeta Shastry 41243 at http://kcur.org Five Stories Behind KC Neighborhoods And Parks Why Wicca Is A Misunderstood Religion http://kcur.org/post/why-wicca-misunderstood-religion <p>Friday, June 21 will be the summer solstice, the longest day of the year. And for one religious group it's a time to celebrate the Oak King falling to the Holly King.</p> Wed, 19 Jun 2013 23:31:12 +0000 Brian Ellison, Matthew Long-Middleton & Ross Stinemetz 38830 at http://kcur.org Why Wicca Is A Misunderstood Religion The Challenge of Diversity Training http://kcur.org/post/challenge-diversity-training <p></p><p>E pluribus unum—out of many is one—that’s was a founding principle for America.</p><p>Indeed, American language and culture shows the imprint of many different cultural influences.&nbsp; But as the United States becomes more diverse, sometimes unity and understanding between different groups can become strained.</p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 14 May 2013 18:17:37 +0000 Susan B. Wilson, Matthew Long-Middleton & Claire McInerny 36730 at http://kcur.org The Challenge of Diversity Training Why Jazz Happened http://kcur.org/post/why-jazz-happened <p>The<strong> sweet notes of smooth jazz </strong>are well-known to anyone who’s delved into <strong>Kansas City’s history</strong>, but jazz is <strong>still evolving today</strong>.<br> Thu, 17 Jan 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 30499 at http://kcur.org Why Jazz Happened Halloween's Occult Origins http://kcur.org/post/halloweens-occult-origins <p>We all know the <strong>candy-stuffed commercial themes of Halloween</strong>, but what do you know about its <strong>occult origins</strong>? Fri, 26 Oct 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 26614 at http://kcur.org Halloween's Occult Origins The Cultural History Of Flab http://kcur.org/post/cultural-history-flab <p>We crave its taste but not its look.&nbsp; What&rsquo;s up with our love-hate relationship with fat? Fri, 10 Aug 2012 04:04:51 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 22531 at http://kcur.org The Cultural History Of Flab Multicultural Education http://kcur.org/post/multicultural-education <p>There&rsquo;s a lot asked of our teachers today - and here&rsquo;s another thing to add to that list - the ability to recognize and teach to a student&rsquo;s cultural background.</p><p> Tue, 17 Apr 2012 18:31:34 +0000 Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 16070 at http://kcur.org Multicultural Education The Weekend To-Do List http://kcur.org/post/weekend-do-list-17 <p>Looking for something to do this weekend? <em>Up to Date&#39;s</em> <strong>Brian McTavish</strong> offers up a few options in his <strong>Weekend To-Do List</strong> for April 13-15, 2012.</p><p><strong><a href="http://kansascity.royals.mlb.com" target="_blank">Kansas City Royals vs. Cleveland Indians</a>: </strong>Royals&rsquo; home-opening weekend. 3:10 p.m. Friday, 6:10 p.m. Saturday and 1:10 p.m. Sunday at Kauffman Stadium. Tickets: $10 to $245.</p> Thu, 12 Apr 2012 16:47:09 +0000 Stephen Steigman, Brian McTavish & Steve Kraske 15883 at http://kcur.org The Weekend To-Do List