alcohol http://kcur.org en Kansas City Bartenders Create Cocktails Inspired By Local Bands http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-bartenders-create-cocktails-inspired-local-bands <p></p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 20:55:57 +0000 Gina Kaufmann, Matthew Long-Middleton & Christina Lieffring 58711 at http://kcur.org Kansas City Bartenders Create Cocktails Inspired By Local Bands Delirium Tremens Changed Views On 19th Century Alcoholism http://kcur.org/post/delirium-tremens-changed-views-19th-century-alcoholism <p></p><p></p><p>Imagine watching a group of men mutilate the body of your mother.&nbsp; This is what poet Edgar Allan Poe experienced as a hallucination brought on by alcohol-induced delirium tremens, DT’s.&nbsp; On this edition of <a href="http://www.kcur.org/programs/date" target="_blank"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, Steve Kraske talks with historian Matthew Osborn to discover how this condition, first described in 1813, was the catalyst for changing how the medical profession diagnosed and treated the problems of alcohol abuse.</p><p><strong>Guest:</strong></p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 23:00:25 +0000 Steve Kraske & Danie Alexander 58641 at http://kcur.org Delirium Tremens Changed Views On 19th Century Alcoholism Food Critics: The Best Cocktails In Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/food-critics-best-cocktails-kansas-city <p>Many people enjoy a glass of wine or a beer to loosen up, but sometimes those just don't quite do the trick. From Moscow Mules to Brandy Alexanders, a good cocktail can be a great companion to a nice meal or a casual social event.</p><p>On Friday's&nbsp;<a href="http://kcur.org/programs/central-standard"><em>Central Standard</em></a>, guest host Charles Ferruzza is joined by the Food Critics to find out where the best cocktails in Kansas City are.</p><p>Here are their picks for cocktails at restaurants and bars:</p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 17:02:43 +0000 Cody Newill 57283 at http://kcur.org Food Critics: The Best Cocktails In Kansas City Drinking And Driving: Culture, Infrastructure And The Law http://kcur.org/post/drinking-and-driving-culture-infrastructure-and-law <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.15;">In recent years, we've heard a lot more about texting and driving than we have about drinking and driving. But drunk driving is still prevalent. According to the </span><a href="http://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/impaired_driving/impaired-drv_factsheet.html" style="line-height: 1.15;">Centers for Disease Control and Prevention</a><span style="line-height: 1.15;">, alcohol-impaired car crashes account for nearly one-third of all traffic-related deaths in the United States.&nbsp;</span></p> Thu, 24 Apr 2014 19:33:51 +0000 Gina Kaufmann, Matthew Long-Middleton & Christie Garton 54712 at http://kcur.org Drinking And Driving: Culture, Infrastructure And The Law The Exciting World Of Molecular Mixology http://kcur.org/post/exciting-world-molecular-mixology <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Molecular </span>mixology<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> is a scientific approach to preparing cocktails that uses alcohol in unique ways.</span></p> Wed, 03 Jul 2013 16:38:25 +0000 Brian Ellison, Matthew Long-Middleton & Claire McInerny 39542 at http://kcur.org The Exciting World Of Molecular Mixology Where Botany And Alcohol Mix http://kcur.org/post/where-botany-and-alcohol-mix <p>Your backyard garden can be <strong>a great place to grow vegetables</strong>, but the <strong>Drunken Botanist</strong> has <strong>something else in mind </strong>for the space. Tue, 19 Mar 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Suzanne Hogan 33725 at http://kcur.org Where Botany And Alcohol Mix Happy Hour Is Back In Kansas http://kcur.org/post/happy-hour-back-kansas <p>It&rsquo;s a toast to the happy hour, so raise your glasses Kansans!&nbsp; As of this Sunday, Kansans will legally be able to partake in the after-work and late-night tradition of happy hour drink specials.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 29 Jun 2012 16:00:18 +0000 Suzanne Hogan 20180 at http://kcur.org Happy Hour Is Back In Kansas From Drinking Binge To Blackout http://kcur.org/post/drinking-binge-blackout <p>&nbsp;</p><p>You may remember the story of <b>Jason Wren</b>, a 19-year-old University of Kansas student who went on a drinking binge and died in a KU frat house in 2009. Thu, 12 Apr 2012 04:51:04 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 15850 at http://kcur.org From Drinking Binge To Blackout