prison http://kcur.org en In Angola Prison, KU Researcher Found Music, Stories And Pain http://kcur.org/post/angola-prison-ku-researcher-found-music-stories-and-pain <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Ethnomusicologist Daniel Atkinson describes Louisiana State Penitentiary (commonly called "Angola") as a “living, breathing plantation.” The land where the prison stands today was converted from plantation to penitentiary after slavery was abolished.&nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 17:32:29 +0000 Gina Kaufmann, Matthew Long-Middleton & Christina Lieffring 59459 at http://kcur.org In Angola Prison, KU Researcher Found Music, Stories And Pain Diving Into Prison History At Leavenworth http://kcur.org/post/diving-prison-history-leavenworth <p>Have you ever wanted to take a peek at the case files of mobsters, bootleggers or even murderers?</p><p>On Monday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we look into the historical underbelly of Leavenworth Penitentiary as we delve into its records with a local archivist.</p><p><strong>Guest:</strong></p> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 17:45:14 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 51045 at http://kcur.org Diving Into Prison History At Leavenworth Early Teen Years Inspired Innocence Project Chief http://kcur.org/post/early-teen-years-inspired-innocence-project-chief <p>There is a new chief executive at the Kansas City-based Midwest Innocence Project. The not-for-profit corporation works to free men and women behind bars for crimes they did not commit. Wed, 28 Nov 2012 23:05:34 +0000 Dan Verbeck 28258 at http://kcur.org Early Teen Years Inspired Innocence Project Chief A 'TurnAround' For Those Leaving Prison http://kcur.org/post/turnaround-those-leaving-prison <p>For many who are leaving prison, the chances that they very well may return are high.</p><p> Sun, 15 Jul 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Greta Wendelin 20986 at http://kcur.org A 'TurnAround' For Those Leaving Prison Firm Leaves Miss. After Its Prison Is Called 'Cesspool' http://kcur.org/post/firm-leaves-miss-after-its-prison-called-cesspool One month after a federal court ordered sweeping changes at a troubled juvenile prison in rural Mississippi, the private company managing the prison is out. Tue, 24 Apr 2012 20:15:00 +0000 John Burnett 16511 at http://kcur.org Firm Leaves Miss. After Its Prison Is Called 'Cesspool' KC Civil Rights Summit http://kcur.org/post/kc-civil-rights-summit <p>On this Monday&#39;s<strong><a href="http://kcur.org/programs/central-standard"><em> Central Standard</em></a></strong> we speak with <strong>Ayanna Hightower-Mannon</strong> and <strong>Paul Pierce</strong>, who work in<a href="http://www.kcmo.org/CKCMO/Depts/CityManagersOffice/HumanRelationsDivision/CivilRightsEnforcementSection/index.htm"><strong> Kansas City&#39;s Civil Rights Division</strong></a>.</p><p> Mon, 23 Apr 2012 15:01:58 +0000 Andrea Silenzi, Jabulani Leffall & Charlie Upchurch 16415 at http://kcur.org KC Civil Rights Summit Milk Not Jails Makes Partners Out Of Farmers And Ex-Cons http://kcur.org/post/milk-not-jails-makes-partners-out-farmers-and-ex-cons What's plentiful in upstate New York? Cows and prison inmates, to name a few things.<p>Reformists in the two communities don't make natural allies, but organizer Lauren Melodia is trying to do just that.<p>"I was living in this prison town, and at the same time, the dairy industry was in a lot of turmoil," Melodia tells The Salt. "We thought this [dairy] might be the perfect ally in trying to build a different economy in upstate New York, and shift some of the economic dependency away from the prison system."<p>So Melodia formed the non-profit Milk Not Jails. Wed, 04 Apr 2012 22:21:00 +0000 Jessica Naudziunas 15443 at http://kcur.org Milk Not Jails Makes Partners Out Of Farmers And Ex-Cons