Joe Reardon http://kcur.org en 5 Things Former Mayor Reardon Is Proud Of Accomplishing http://kcur.org/post/5-things-former-mayor-reardon-proud-accomplishing <p></p><p></p><p>Wednesday was Joe Reardon’s last day in office.</p><p>The popular, 2-term head of the Unified Government of Wyandotte County and Kansas City, Kansas says there were many things he was proud of accomplishing, and a few things he regretted not getting done.</p><p>Here are the things he was most proud of:</p> Thu, 25 Apr 2013 15:23:37 +0000 Laura Ziegler 35680 at http://kcur.org 5 Things Former Mayor Reardon Is Proud Of Accomplishing A Mayoral Summit http://kcur.org/post/mayoral-summit <p></p><p>It’s the <strong>end of an era </strong>for one city leader, while <strong>events march on</strong> for another.</p><p> Mon, 22 Apr 2013 15:46:42 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 35483 at http://kcur.org A Mayoral Summit Top Of The Morning News : March 13, 2013 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-march-13-2013-0 <p><strong>Missouri Senate Passes Tax Overhaul</strong></p><p>Over objections from Gov. Jay Nixon, the Missouri Senate has passed a tax overhaul that would cut income taxes by hundreds of millions of dollars annually for residents and businesses. It would also boost sales taxes.</p><p>The legislation is promoted by supporters as the most dramatic change to Missouri’s tax policies in decades. It’s prompted by a desire to compete with sweeping income tax cuts in Kansas.</p> Wed, 13 Mar 2013 14:47:01 +0000 Dan Verbeck 33402 at http://kcur.org Top Of The Morning News : March 13, 2013 Kansas City Kansas Mayor Has Texting 'Fun' In Annual Address http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-kansas-mayor-has-texting-fun-annual-address <p>Kansas City Kansas Mayor and Unified Government CEO&nbsp; Joe Reardon took the Google Fiber theme to an unexpected place as his annual State of Unified Government became&nbsp; audience-interactive. Tue, 12 Mar 2013 20:56:20 +0000 Dan Verbeck 33369 at http://kcur.org Kansas City Kansas Mayor Has Texting 'Fun' In Annual Address Wyandotte Mayor Candidates Debate Blight, Bureaucracy And Windfall Funds http://kcur.org/post/wyandotte-mayor-candidates-debate-blight-bureaucracy-and-windfall-funds <p>On Tuesday, voters in Wyandotte County will narrow the field of candidates for the Mayor/CEO of Unified Government.&nbsp; The number running will be reduced from five to two, going into the April general election.&nbsp; KCUR’s Dan Verbeck reports on candidates’ backgrounds and issue-positions that have appeared since the campaign began in earnest only a month ago. Sun, 24 Feb 2013 04:53:25 +0000 Dan Verbeck 32470 at http://kcur.org Wyandotte Mayor Candidates Debate Blight, Bureaucracy And Windfall Funds County Cashes In On Casino Money, Directs It To Public Health http://kcur.org/post/county-cashes-casino-money-directs-it-public-health <p>Wyandotte County has cashed in on its first payment from a new casino at the Kansas Speedway.</p><p> Fri, 08 Feb 2013 03:04:52 +0000 Elana Gordon 31646 at http://kcur.org County Cashes In On Casino Money, Directs It To Public Health KCK Mayor Will Not Seek Reelection http://kcur.org/post/kck-mayor-will-not-seek-reelection <p>The Mayor and CEO of the Unified Government of Wyandotte County and Kansas City, Kansas, Joe Reardon, announced today he would not seek reelection for a third term this spring. In a letter from his office, Reardon said he made the decision based on personal reasons.</p><p>“I have a family at home that I love very much. It is important to me that I spend more time with them. My two sons are growing up much too quickly,” he said in his letter, which is <a href="https://www.facebook.com/KCKReardon" target="_blank">posted in full on his Facebook page</a>.</p> Wed, 09 Jan 2013 19:17:01 +0000 Laura Ziegler 30170 at http://kcur.org KCK Mayor Will Not Seek Reelection Wyandotte County Continues To Battle Low Health Status http://kcur.org/post/wyandotte-county-continues-battle-low-health-status <p>That Wyandotte County is grappling with some major health issues is no secret.&nbsp; It&rsquo;s ranked <a href="http://www.countyhealthrankings.org/app/kansas/2012/wyandotte/county/1/overall">one of the least healthy regions</a> in Kansas, and findings from a recent health assessment reaffirm the challenges: Mon, 04 Jun 2012 23:41:37 +0000 Elana Gordon 18812 at http://kcur.org Wyandotte County Continues To Battle Low Health Status Medical Software Giant Expands In KCK http://kcur.org/post/medical-software-giant-expands-kck <p>Construction is now underway at Cerner&rsquo;s new campus near the Kansas Speedway in Kansas City, Kan. Once completed, the $190 million development will contain two nine-story buildings on a 660,000 square-foot campus and employ thousands of people. Wed, 25 Apr 2012 18:11:46 +0000 Elana Gordon 16569 at http://kcur.org Medical Software Giant Expands In KCK President In Kansas Calls For Unified Economic Fix http://kcur.org/post/president-kansas-calls-unified-economic-fix <p>For the second time in slightly more than a hundred years,&nbsp; a current or&nbsp; former&nbsp; president&nbsp; visited the&nbsp; Kansas&nbsp; town of Osawatomie. There were similarities, then and now. Inside Osawatomie&nbsp; High School&nbsp;&nbsp; gymnasium President Barack Obama encouraged his listeners,&nbsp; cajoled&nbsp; Congress&nbsp; and&nbsp; invoked&nbsp; the&nbsp;&nbsp; memory of&nbsp; Theodore Roosevelt.&nbsp; KCUR&#39;s&nbsp; Dan&nbsp; Verbeck&nbsp; was there and&nbsp; described hundreds waiting in line on&nbsp; streets and sidewalks.<br /><br /><br /> Wed, 07 Dec 2011 05:58:21 +0000 Dan Verbeck 8478 at http://kcur.org President In Kansas Calls For Unified Economic Fix