Fountains http://kcur.org en City Fountains At Risk http://kcur.org/post/city-fountains-risk <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Just as many fountains as Rome? Perhaps. &nbsp;Whether Kansas City meets or falls short of these accolades the fountains, which&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">began as a&nbsp;practical&nbsp;tool for keeping horses hydrated, have turned into a unique symbol of regional identity&nbsp;and pride. &nbsp;But, these fountains are at risk. &nbsp;With decreasing city parks budgets maintaining these iconic fountains has been difficult. &nbsp;Currently, over half are in need of&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">maintenance&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">and a fourth are in critical condition. &nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Mark McHenry, director of the&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Kansas City Parks and Recreation Department gives delivers the story of our city fountains and what's being done to help keep them running.</span></p><p> Thu, 06 Jun 2013 23:30:00 +0000 Brian Ellison & Matthew Long-Middleton 38278 at http://kcur.org City Fountains At Risk Crown Center Bans Water Play In Fountains http://kcur.org/post/crown-center-bans-water-play-fountains <p>Crown Center&#39;s massively popular fountain display is officially off limits for play in the sprays. <a href="http://www.crowncenter.com/AboutUs/Index.asp?Reference=108&amp;~=" target="_blank">A release issued today</a> says, &quot;effective immediately, people will no longer be allowed in the <a href="http://www.crowncenter.com/AboutUs-Fountains/Index.htm" target="_blank">Crown Center Square Fountain</a>.&quot;</p><p> Tue, 12 Jun 2012 16:26:38 +0000 Tomeka Weatherspoon 19242 at http://kcur.org Crown Center Bans Water Play In Fountains Art Historian Discusses One Of The Oldest Fountains In America http://kcur.org/post/art-historian-discusses-one-oldest-fountains-america <p>Curator <strong>Robert Cohen</strong> talks about the Roman fountain in the Rozzelle Court Restaurant at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. Thu, 03 May 2012 12:52:46 +0000 Tomeka Weatherspoon 17033 at http://kcur.org Art Historian Discusses One Of The Oldest Fountains In America A Closer Look At KC's Most Photographed Fountain http://kcur.org/post/closer-look-kcs-most-photographed-fountain <p><strong>Jocelyn Ball-Edson</strong> from KC&#39;s Parks and Rec gives a short history, critique of the J. C. Nichols Memorial Fountain, which is widely recognized as one of the city&#39;s most popular attractions.</p><p>Plus, hear what&#39;s next on the horizon for the attraction. Thu, 03 May 2012 04:19:17 +0000 Tomeka Weatherspoon 17011 at http://kcur.org A Closer Look At KC's Most Photographed Fountain Local Fountain Sculptor Gives Background To Popular Works http://kcur.org/post/local-fountain-sculptor-gives-background-popular-works <p>Click below to hear local sculptor <strong><a href="http://corbinbronze.com/">Tom Corbin</a></strong> sharing stories about a few of his big works around town.</p><p> Thu, 03 May 2012 03:31:19 +0000 Tomeka Weatherspoon 17010 at http://kcur.org Local Fountain Sculptor Gives Background To Popular Works Fountain City: A Search for Water http://kcur.org/post/fountain-city-search-water <p>On Thursday's Central Standard, we dive into our first of three programs exploring how we seek out water in this part of the country. First up: fountains.</p> Tue, 01 May 2012 20:12:20 +0000 Tomeka Weatherspoon, Andrea Silenzi, Charlie Upchurch & Jabulani Leffall 16926 at http://kcur.org Fountain City: A Search for Water KC Fountains Turned On After Annual Ceremony http://kcur.org/post/kc-fountains-turned-after-annual-ceremony <p>City fountains were turned on Tuesday, following the annual Fountain Day celebration.</p> Fri, 13 Apr 2012 14:38:39 +0000 Tomeka Weatherspoon 15881 at http://kcur.org KC Fountains Turned On After Annual Ceremony Kansas City: City Of Fountains...That Require Maintenance http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-city-fountainsthat-require-maintenance <p>It's a popular saying in our town that only Rome has more public fountains than Kansas City. And even if that's a difficult figure to document, it's not hard to appreciate the beauty and sense of calm that art surrounded by flowing water provides.</p> Tue, 27 Mar 2012 18:32:37 +0000 Stephen Steigman, Steve Kraske, Danie Alexander & Kathleen Pointer 14908 at http://kcur.org Kansas City: City Of Fountains...That Require Maintenance