MLB http://kcur.org en What Was Kansas City Left With After Hosting The MLB All-Star Game? http://kcur.org/post/what-was-kansas-city-left-after-hosting-mlb-all-star-game <p>When the Major League Baseball All-Star game is played Tuesday night at Citi Field in New York, it will stir up memories from last year in Kansas City, Mo.</p><p>The game returned to Kauffman Stadium in 2012 after a 39-year absence. But, besides the memories, what is Kansas City left with after hosting the mid-summer classic?</p><p>Major League Baseball commissioner Bud Selig said in 2010 a footprint would be left in Kansas City long after the All-Star game’s last out.</p> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 12:53:58 +0000 Greg Echlin 40272 at http://kcur.org What Was Kansas City Left With After Hosting The MLB All-Star Game? Kansas City As All-Star Host: How Did We Do? http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-all-star-host-how-did-we-do <p>The All-Star game is over.&nbsp; The National League has the home field advantage in the World Series and the New York Mets host the 2013 All-Star game.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 11 Jul 2012 13:54:37 +0000 Greg Echlin 20828 at http://kcur.org Kansas City As All-Star Host: How Did We Do? Waiting To Become An All-Star http://kcur.org/post/waiting-become-all-star <p>There was a sense of &ldquo;Finally!&rdquo; when <a href="http://kansascity.royals.mlb.com/team/player.jsp?player_id=456714">Billy Butler</a> of the Kansas City Royals was named for the first time to the American League All-Star team.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 10 Jul 2012 14:05:44 +0000 Greg Echlin 20766 at http://kcur.org Waiting To Become An All-Star Celebrity Softball Game Elicits Cheers And Boos http://kcur.org/post/celebrity-softball-game-elicits-cheers-and-boos <p>At Kauffman Stadium on Sunday, baseball fans got a mix of the young and the old on the diamond. In the Futures game that featured top minor league prospects, the USA team pounded the World team, 17-5.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 09 Jul 2012 15:09:13 +0000 Greg Echlin 20700 at http://kcur.org 2012 All-Star Game Stirs Memories Of Home Runs http://kcur.org/post/2012-all-star-game-stirs-memories-home-runs <p>For Monday night&#39;s <a href="http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/events/all_star/y2012/index.jsp?content=hr_derby">Home Run Derby</a> at Kauffman Stadium, there is certain to be some <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glossary_of_baseball_%28T%29#tape_measure_home_run">tape measure jobs</a>.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 09 Jul 2012 14:29:49 +0000 Greg Echlin 20697 at http://kcur.org 2012 All-Star Game Stirs Memories Of Home Runs Royals Opening Day At The K http://kcur.org/post/royals-opening-day-k <p>It&rsquo;s time for peanuts, cracker jacks and rooting for the home team ... so <strong>we&rsquo;re heading out to the ballgame</strong>!</p><p> Thu, 12 Apr 2012 23:47:22 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 15887 at http://kcur.org Royals Opening Day At The K Resolution Between Crossroads And MLB http://kcur.org/post/resolution-between-crossroads-and-mlb <p>A conflict with Major League Baseball that could have disrupted two successive &ldquo;First Friday&rdquo; events in the Crossroads Arts District has been resolved.</p><p> Fri, 16 Mar 2012 14:24:38 +0000 Steve Bell 14324 at http://kcur.org Resolution Between Crossroads And MLB