mass transit http://kcur.org en Residents Turn Out To Learn About Prospect Max Bus http://kcur.org/post/residents-turn-out-learn-about-prospect-max-bus <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A small group of residents crowded into the basement of Zion Grove Missionary Baptist Church on </span>Swope<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Parkway Tuesday night to learn about the proposed MAX bus line along Prospect.</span></p><p>The 2005 Main Street MAX and 2011 Troost MAX have been popular with riders, and residents east of Troost seem equally enthusiastic about having the upgraded express line in their neighborhoods.</p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 15:12:18 +0000 Laura Ziegler 52858 at http://kcur.org Residents Turn Out To Learn About Prospect Max Bus Streetcar Expansion Routes Narrowed, Studies Continue http://kcur.org/post/streetcar-expansion-routes-narrowed-studies-continue <p style="margin-right: 0.04in; margin-bottom: 0in; widows: 0; orphans: 0">The Kansas City, Mo., city council has approved a report that supports adding another eight to 10 miles of streetcar track to its 2.2 mile starter system over the next decade.&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-right: 0.04in; margin-bottom: 0in; widows: 0; orphans: 0"><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Favored routes are eastward branches along Independence Avenue and the </span>Linwood-31<sup>st</sup><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Street corridor and a southern extension as far as Brookside or Waldo.</span></p> Fri, 22 Nov 2013 12:25:41 +0000 Steve Bell 47230 at http://kcur.org Sanders Pushes To Put Transit Plan On August Ballot http://kcur.org/post/sanders-pushes-put-transit-plan-august-ballot <p>A lot more people in the Kansas City area could be voting on a mass transit plan as soon as this August.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 23 Jan 2013 18:33:53 +0000 Maria Carter 30822 at http://kcur.org Sanders Pushes To Put Transit Plan On August Ballot The Return Of Commuter Rail To Jackson County? http://kcur.org/post/return-commuter-rail-jackson-county <p>There's a new twist in the Kansas City transit debate, and that's not the only thing going on in Jackson County.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jan 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 30762 at http://kcur.org The Return Of Commuter Rail To Jackson County? Chastain Presents 'Ultimatum' http://kcur.org/post/chastain-presents-ultimatum <p>Clay Chastain is threatening another Kansas City petition drive: this time one for a recall election.</p><p> Thu, 03 Jan 2013 05:53:00 +0000 Steve Bell 29864 at http://kcur.org Chastain Presents 'Ultimatum' Streetcars In KC: On Track? http://kcur.org/post/streetcars-kc-track <p>Once declared &quot;touristy frou-frou&quot; by then-Kansas City Mayor Emanuel Cleaver, <strong>streetcars may be coming to Kansas City</strong>...more than 55 years after the last streetcar ran on the Country Club Line.</p><p> Tue, 15 May 2012 21:12:45 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 17717 at http://kcur.org Streetcars In KC: On Track? Gas Prices, Weather Help Fill KCATA Seats http://kcur.org/post/gas-prices-weather-help-fill-kcata-seats <p>The price of gasoline is a major factor in future popularity of riding a bus in the Kansas City area. &nbsp;&nbsp;It may take months to measure the effect. Mon, 12 Mar 2012 21:48:10 +0000 Dan Verbeck 14078 at http://kcur.org Gas Prices, Weather Help Fill KCATA Seats