kcata http://kcur.org en No Business Like Snow Business http://kcur.org/post/no-business-snow-business <p>Forget the responsibilities a snow day brings for a moment and embrace your inner child.&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On Tuesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we want your suggestions for the best sledding hill in KC. Plus, we all grumble about shoveling snow, so what’s the best way to do it? We talk with an expert to get you some tips and <a href="http://thesweethome.com/reviews/best-snow-shovels/" target="_blank">recommend the best kind of shovel</a>.</span></p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 20:35:41 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 50752 at http://kcur.org No Business Like Snow Business Crimes Mar KCATA System http://kcur.org/post/crimes-mar-kcata-system <p>Public transit is often touted as a better alternative to personal vehicles, but safety concerns have recently plagued the Kansas City Area Transportation Authority buses, after a stabbing and a shooting left a bus driver and passengers seriously injured.</p><p></p><p>In the second part of Wednesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we talked with <strong>Cynthia Baker</strong>, KCATA's director of marketing, about the recent incidents and what the transit authority plans to do to keep buses safe.</p> Wed, 31 Jul 2013 15:50:52 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 41158 at http://kcur.org Crimes Mar KCATA System Kansas City Buses Will Say Goodbye To Diesel http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-buses-will-say-goodbye-diesel <p>The Kansas City Area Transportation Authority , or ATA, is phasing itself out of the diesel bus business. Fri, 26 Apr 2013 22:05:08 +0000 Dan Verbeck 35775 at http://kcur.org Kansas City Buses Will Say Goodbye To Diesel Including Power Utilities In Command Center Boosted Snowstorm Fight-ability http://kcur.org/post/including-power-utilities-command-center-boosted-snowstorm-fight-ability <p>Some of the first aftermath data from two major and back-to-back winter snow storms is filtering out of Kansas City city&nbsp;hall.&nbsp; Adding two agencies to the Emergency Operations Center was counted as a positive to the Public Safety and Emergency Services Committee of the Council.</p><p></p><p></p><p>Those private or quasi-private operations served public transit and distribution of electrical power.</p><p>The Ops nerve center stayed open 24 hours in the storm of February 21, another 30 hours during&nbsp; last week’s heavy, wet snow.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 06 Mar 2013 23:26:32 +0000 Dan Verbeck 33077 at http://kcur.org Including Power Utilities In Command Center Boosted Snowstorm Fight-ability Power Outages Reduced From Kansas City Region Snow Storm http://kcur.org/post/power-outages-reduced-kansas-city-region-snow-storm <p>Kansas City area residents have fought their way out of a second major snowstorm in less than a week. Some areas got upwards of a foot of new snow. Wed, 27 Feb 2013 11:44:25 +0000 Dan Verbeck 32627 at http://kcur.org Power Outages Reduced From Kansas City Region Snow Storm Gas Prices, Weather Help Fill KCATA Seats http://kcur.org/post/gas-prices-weather-help-fill-kcata-seats <p>The price of gasoline is a major factor in future popularity of riding a bus in the Kansas City area. &nbsp;&nbsp;It may take months to measure the effect. Mon, 12 Mar 2012 21:48:10 +0000 Dan Verbeck 14078 at http://kcur.org Gas Prices, Weather Help Fill KCATA Seats