Facebook http://kcur.org en I Can’t Tweet Honestly Because I’m ‘Afraid I Might Get Fired’ http://kcur.org/post/i-can-t-tweet-honestly-because-i-m-afraid-i-might-get-fired <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span>The line between individual social media activity and employment status isn’t a clear one, according to feedback we received this week from listeners.</p><p>When we asked <a href="http://kcur.org/post/tell-kcur-should-your-boss-be-able-fire-you-what-you-tweet">“Should your boss be able to fire you for what you tweet?”</a> on the air and online, the responses showed the issue of social media and the workplace as a divisive one in Kansas City. &nbsp;</p><p>We received many emphatic yeses, citing personal responsibility.</p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 22:16:50 +0000 Alyson Raletz 50178 at http://kcur.org I Can’t Tweet Honestly Because I’m ‘Afraid I Might Get Fired’ How You Filled In The Blank: You Know You’re A KC Techie When … http://kcur.org/post/how-you-filled-blank-you-know-you-re-kc-techie-when <p>You know you’re a Kansas City techie when “<a href="https://twitter.com/kcur">@KCUR</a> wants to know.”</p><p>That’s how Kansas City Startup Village (Twitter: <a href="https://twitter.com/@kcsv">@KCSV</a>) filled in the blank on Twitter when we asked our listeners and followers on social media to complete this sentence: <a href="http://kcur.org/post/tell-kcur-you-know-you-re-kansas-city-techie-when">You know you’re a Kansas City techie when … </a></p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 19:25:02 +0000 Alyson Raletz 48248 at http://kcur.org A Compelling Argument for Quitting Facebook http://kcur.org/post/compelling-argument-quitting-facebook <p>On this <em><a href="http://kcur.org/programs/centralstandard">Central Standard</a>,</em> we speak with the man they call the Antichrist of Silicon Valley.</p><p> Mon, 09 Jul 2012 14:47:11 +0000 Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 20699 at http://kcur.org A Compelling Argument for Quitting Facebook Facebook Will Allow Users To Vote On Privacy Changes http://kcur.org/post/facebook-will-allow-users-vote-privacy-changes Facebook will ask its nearly 1 billion users to vote up or down on changes to its privacy policy.<p>According to a statement released by the social network, the company also put changes up for a vote in 2009. Voting begins today and goes through June 8.<p>"If more than 30 percent of all active registered users vote, the results will be binding," Facebook said. Fri, 01 Jun 2012 19:57:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 18683 at http://kcur.org Facebook Will Allow Users To Vote On Privacy Changes Accused Facebook Stock Scammer Vanishes http://kcur.org/post/accused-facebook-stock-scammer-vanishes <p>Arrest warrants are in force for an Overland Park, Kan. man who allegedly had considerable success scamming banks and intended investors in Facebook shares.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 23 May 2012 22:39:06 +0000 Dan Verbeck 18203 at http://kcur.org Accused Facebook Stock Scammer Vanishes Are Your Facebook Friends Really Your Friends? http://kcur.org/post/are-your-facebook-friends-really-your-friends The new issue of <em>The Atlantic</em> asks: <a href="http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2012/05/is-facebook-making-us-lonely/8930/" target="_blank">Is Facebook Making Us Lonely</a>? The jury's out, though signs point to maybe.<p>Facebook didn't necessarily make Tanja Hollander lonely, per se, but it did make her curious. Mon, 23 Apr 2012 19:17:00 +0000 editor 16432 at http://kcur.org Are Your Facebook Friends Really Your Friends? Computer Guys: What Privacy? http://kcur.org/post/computer-guys-what-privacy <p>In a world where we might all someday wear glasses that check the weather, give us directions, and let us take photos&hellip; where do you draw the line? Mon, 16 Apr 2012 18:28:17 +0000 Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 16036 at http://kcur.org Computer Guys: What Privacy? Facebook Is Buying Instagram http://kcur.org/post/facebook-buying-instagram "I'm excited to share the news that we've agreed to acquire <a href="http://instagram.com/" target="_blank">Instagram</a> and that their talented team will be joining Facebook," <a href="http://www.facebook.com/zuck/posts/10100318398827991" target="_blank">Mark Zuckerberg just announced</a>.<p><a href="http://finance.fortune.cnn.com/2012/04/09/breaking-facebook-buying-instagram-for-1-billion/?section=magazines_fortune" target="_blank"><em>Forbes</em> says</a> Facebook is paying "approximately $1 billion in stock and cash" in what will be its "largest acquisition to date ... Mon, 09 Apr 2012 17:30:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 15692 at http://kcur.org Facebook Is Buying Instagram The Techsperts: Google TV, iPad 3, Facebook Timeline http://kcur.org/post/techsperts-google-tv-ipad-3-facebook-timeline <p>Last week <a href="http://apple.com" target="_blank">Apple</a> unveiled its 3rd generation iPad, the aptly-named &quot;the new iPad.&quot; (a.k.a. &quot;<strong>iPad 3</strong>.&quot;) Is it worth the upgrade?</p><p>Around the same time <a href="http://www.google.com/fiber/kansascity/index.html">Google Fiber</a> applied for permission to sell TV services in the Kansas City area; is this a sign that they&#39;ll <strong>offer up TV services to its</strong> <strong>Google Fiber</strong> customers - in direct competition with providers Time Warner, SureWest,&nbsp; and AT&amp;T? And will Google know what you want to watch before you&#39;ve even turned on the TV?&nbsp;</p><p>Probably. Mon, 12 Mar 2012 04:51:07 +0000 Stephen Steigman 14014 at http://kcur.org The Techsperts: Google TV, iPad 3, Facebook Timeline